Ameriprise Financial Reviews

Customer's Rating: brokerage firms reviews

Ameriprise Financial customer reviews: complaints, positive feedback from clients, pros and cons. Is the broker good/safe?

Ameriprise Financial was founded by John Tappan in 1894. They help clients achieve their financial goals through personal planning and advice. Ameriprise Financial's advisors listen to your dreams and goals, create a personalized financial plan, and track your progress over time.

Ameriprise Financial broker belong to the largest investment companies in the U.S.

Add your Ameriprise Financial review

Your Name

 200 max, no html

Your Ameriprise Financial Rating





Broker Pros

Broker Cons

Ameriprise Financial Review

Spam will be deleted. No HTML please.


TD Ameritrade Review


Ameriprise Financial Reviews

by Bill Bagley, 7/26/2017

Pros: Dinner at Del Frisco's

Cons: Promoted REIT's that were doomed from the start.

Lost money on investments, and was blocked from rescuing declining principal (CNL Lifestyle Properties).

by Pat, 7/12/2017

Pros: None.

Cons: self interest,greed,lack of transparency

I was widow whacked by Christopher Stark of Needham MA when my husband died suddenly.
He came to the wake and then came the annuity,REITs,active funds - all conflict of interest,high commission ,high fee,advisor friendly products. A few months later,he bought a new home .
I complained . The compliance office sent me a letter stating he followed the legal (but unethical)
suitability standard and another stating that Ameriprise does NOT require its advisors to inquire
about client living expenses ! Due to space considerations I cannot share my experience
with their estate settlement dept . when my uncle died . Equally deplorable,dishonest ....
Stay away from this company ...and this advisor .

by john smith, 6/27/2017

Pros: N/A

Cons: Untrustworthy

My wife did not fully comprehend the fact that her entire IRA was invested in annuities.

I have no respect for this company.

by Dan, 6/19/2017

Pros:

Cons: Every single conversation I had with any sales representative was a lie. They deserve less than 1 star.

When my brother I learned my father had an investment in Central America (Bonds), we were stunned. Not only would he have not made that investment, he wasn't capable of making that decision, as to the fact he suffered from Dementia and Parkinson, for the last 10 years of his life. His account was slammed by salesmen, charge excessively, and never made a penny. It was 8 months after his death at 85 years of age that we finally gained access to his account, and that was due to the fact I filed a complaint with the SEC. At that point these con-men called me the next morning. Everyone I talked too lied. They wanted to do everything through the mail, always taking a minimum of 3 weeks. Multiple lare documents of at least 30 pages seemed to get lost. I have my own brokerage account through real brokers, and I've never had to do anything through the mail that took months and months. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY>

by Carol, 5/22/2017

Pros: Good 1st impression

Cons: Watch out if you try to move your money out

Had money invested with Ameriprise broker for 10 plus years. Broker was nasty when I decided to pull money out and invest with another company. He was very unprofessional, wouldn't answer my questions. He told me to call the main office, he didn't have time to answer questions.

by Nathan Korkus, 4/28/2017

Pros:

Cons:

William l Bynum sold my mother IDS insurance that failed. He destroyed the lawsuit papers denying her. He sold her a VUL mis represented it, lied for 15 years. Told us to put as little money into it and we had to surrender with 400000 plus loss. Corporate agrees with his behavior. Somewhere along the way corporate terminated the 1st VUL and sold her another one through the mail without any consultation. This is illegal. When we found out the VUL failed we had no one to talk to. Ameriprise denied us the opportunity. A new Ameriprise advisor told us to surrender the VUL to stop the bleeding. He said it's the Advisor not the company. We want her money back that Ameriprise fraudently took from her through deception and illegal activity.

by James, 4/25/2017

Pros: Smiles

Cons: Unethical, lies, false pretense

I had inherited the Ameriprise account after my father passed away. My father's Ameriprise advisor told me if I sell the stocks&bonds in the account, there will be 15% capital gains tax, so not a good idea. However, I later discovered that there is in fact NO capital gains tax on inheritance (for the amount that was invested.) I confronted then about this and they admitted that there is in fact no tax. I then liquidated the account, but lost a lot of money (because the market had since declined), which I would not have, if they had told me the truth to begin with.

There was also an annuity & a note that I was supposed to receive as cash (that was part of my father's account.) I was not aware of this initially. Instead of transferring the cash to my account as they was supposed to, they reinvested the money back into the market without telling me. Some percentage of values was lost when the account was liquidated, for the same reasons above.

Also, I found out online that Ameriprise advisors are not fiduciary. i.e that they do not put clients interest first. Legally, for both brokerage & IRA's, they do not have to put clients interest first, if they are not fiduciary. It is totally unethical, but the law of the land is broke, and they get away with making money out of clients account, leaving you very little return.

Because the way the financial law is written, if they are not fiduciary, they are in fact a SALES person. The title financial advisor is a false pretense. Because they are there to make money for the firm, over you. There is conflict of interest. The advisor was not in fact giving me financial advise, but an argument why I should invest with them, 'masquerading' as financial advise.

Once I found this out, I tried to confirm this over the phone with the advisor, and he told me "Yes, I AM a Fiducially!". I asked again, then he repeated he is a Fiduciary. I knew the answer was otherwise so I asked again. And after all the insistence eventually he admitted that he was not fiduciary. So many lies. From beginning to end.

by ST, Quincy, MA, 4/20/2017

Pros: none

Cons: Nothing but sales for Long Term disability

Charged over $1000 annually and all the adviser did was try to sell me long-term disability insurance. Made unauthorized transfers from my checking account and ended up over-drawing my account.

by Robert Coe, 4/5/2017

Pros: Outstanding Service..!

Cons: None to report

I recently had the opportunity to work with Michael Maracello of Ameriprise. He was polite, professional and on top of his game. He made me aware of options available I had not considered while laying out a solid foundation for continued growth. I can't say enough about him, his can-do attitude and reliable service. Thanks Ameriprise.

by Addie, 4/3/2017

Pros: Some of the highest fees out there, Limited investment options, horrible website that hides important information

Cons:

I was an Ameriprise customer for 4 years and kept requesting that they make their website more transparent as so many thing I wanted to look at were hidden to the point that even their web IT folks could not find it - things like fees, how much money I had invested etc. were so hard to find it was crazy. As I have done my research I realize that I was talked into a horrible vehicle for investing for someone my age and I am locked in for 10 years (or they will keep half the money). Not only was it the wrong vehicle for a younger person like myself but the fees charged on FAR in excess of all the other firms out there and the funds they invest in are limited to partner funds it looks like (why else would they choose such high cost funds). I am beyond disgusted with this company.

by Bob Johnson, 3/27/2017

Pros:

Cons:

Bad people, bad company. They lost so much money. Never invest with them.

by Michael, 3/26/2017

Pros: Very nice

Cons: Does not get back to you in a timely fashion

My financial advisor Mike Marracello is a very sensitive advisor. He had over six figures of my money invested over time. After election day 2017, when the market was on a tare, my account was going up very minimal in Ameriprise compared to my Fidelity account that had far less money in it. I called Mike to set up a meeting to become slightly more aggressive in that account. Shortly after the meeting I called him early in the morning he returned my call at the end of business that day. I missed that call and called him right back but he did not answer. I left a voicemail explaining that we needed a faster line of communication. I felt I was missing the gains as the market was going up daily. On a voicemail I let him know that Fidelity is a 24 hour customer service institution and Ameriprise is not. I wanted to make changes to my account quickly. The next day he called me and told me not only that I should move my account to Fidelity where I am happier but also that I call him more then people who have more than 500k in their account. That was unprofessional and insulting. Ameriprise charged me $125 to move each of my two accounts (one was a IRA and the other was a joint account) to Fidelity which Fidelity reimbursed me for. Ameriprise charges $75 maintenance fee for a IRA while Fidelity charges nothing. After meeting with a Fidelity representative, who will manage my account for 1.06% per year he told me my account will gain 2-3% more just by not having no pay the fees Ameriprise charges. When I called customer service at Ameriprise they had a very bad attitude when I explained to them I should not have to pay to move my account because Mike Marracello advised me to move it. But they charged me anyway. (DO YOUR HOMEWORK BEFORE INVESTING WITH AMERIPRISE!)

by Horribleness, 3/14/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Not available without a long wait.

Horrible customer service. Really really poor. I've been trying to several days to take care of the most simple of tasks... a RMD. Run around after run around has convinced me to move my IRA to somewhere... anywhere else.

by Richard, 3/13/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Many but fees are a big con

Ameriprise promotes financial planning which is really just a way to gather as much information about you as possible and figure out what expensive products they can sell you. Most of the products having mediocre performance. When you have had enough and decide to transfer the accounts out to a different broker they charge $125 per account and make it as difficult as they can.

by Jana James, 3/12/2017

Pros: seemed nice

Cons: huge fees, could not take our money out when we wanted to transfer it

High fees, invested us in $50k of un-listed REITs which could not be sold or even transferred - terrible!

by Jo Manson, 3/6/2017

Pros:

Cons: deceptive practices they do not disclose fees

If you talk with 4 different employees/advisors, you get 4 different answers.

by Steve, 3/3/2017

Pros: Tell you what you want to hear

Cons: Broker's main focus is there own money, putting you in a variable annuity without telling you

This person in Lincoln met me at the gym and met his yearly bonus putting me in a horrible product of high risk so he could make highest commissions on 100% variable annuity. Stay away from all of them as they don't care about clients.

by Judy, 1/27/2017

Pros:

Cons: Liar. She was deceptive about answering my questions. Advised me to sell some stocks but didn't think I'd have to pay a capital gains tax. Another lie. Not trustworthy.

One of the most fee heavy in the industry. Can't get away fast enough. Customer Service is practically nonexistant.

by Former Ameriprise broker, 12/10/2016

Pros: Lie well

Cons: Lie and deceptive practices

I was a broker with a firm for 12 yrs when I was asked to join Ameriprise. They said I would get a bonus for relocating my practice. They gave me a check and then forced the signing a loan document stating " firm practice that is how to avoid taxes"

After seeing how dishonest they were in dealing with people, I raised objections and refused to be dishonest. They made my work life unbearable and forced me away leaving my clients in a mess. To top it off after stealing my practice they want me to pay them back the funds paid to me for moving my practice. Stay clear and don't move your practice here.

by Stephanie Garland, 11/11/2016

Pros:

Cons:

STAY AWAY FROM AMERIPRISE TRUST DEPARTMENT! I have had the worse experience dealing with them for the past year. I started transfer procedures with them and it has taken months to even get a response from my so called Trust Representative. They have ignored calls and emails from my new Trust Company and have not kept me posted as to what and how my money is being used. Don't know how they get away with these business practices.

by gerard parady, 10/16/2016

Pros: smiles

Cons: lies lies lies

stay away from them stay away

by Bill LaCrescent, 9/19/2016

Pros: Knowledge

Cons: online

I read the reviews above and can't help that think that you have picked the wrong person not the wrong company! My 10 year experience has been profitable and I have learned many things that my old advisor never told me. Online experience is average at best

by Jerry, 8/23/2016

Pros: Great for advisor, Bad for client

Cons: conflict of interest

These advisors preach team that they are part of a team, and after the first couple of meetings there is really is no team. The worst decision I made was to follow my advisor to Ameriprise as it is obvious he was driven by his own personal interests and not mine. He said how much better it would be if he switched all my accounts over there and that couldn't be further from the truth. Online system is unreliable and useless. Feels like a bait and switch. I can't get a straight answer on how he is paid. They push their own proprietary (annuities, auto insurance, etc.) because they get paid more to do so. **Stay away from this company and their advisors**. I'm going back to the company he used to work for as they never did me wrong and seem to put client interests first instead of the advisors interest.

by BERNADETTE HILL, 8/6/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Unable to obtain MY money as Ameriprise put it in a REIT which they call an "alternative investment". I don't understand what this means and they don't seem to either or maybe they just won't be truthful.

by Damon, 8/4/2016

Pros: Friendly

Cons: unknowledgeable, conflict of interests, Makes leaving extremely difficult

When I was much younger I had a 401k that needed rolling over to an IRA. I met with an adviser, and he seemed to understand my aggressive needs. He did get me into small medium cap funds, but with a 6% front load, 1.5 ER and 12b1 that was outrageous. Of course he gets the high commission, but I was not aware of all of this at the time.
15 years later I take a look into a roth IRA and spoke with them to set it up. Started looking at what they had done with my old money (not anywhere near benchmarks and well under-performing my 401 funds with high expensiveness), and put the breaks on the new account without opening. But informed that I was not happy with the funds they had me in and found a specialty fund I was interested. Asked them if they could cash me out of current funds and invest me with the other. "No problem" we can get you in that fund. So it took 4 business days for the funds to settle (this should be 2 business days at most). Then they come back with "Oh that fund is closed and we can not buy for you, what should we do with your cash." Simple, it is moving to Vanguard (after the hoops they will put me through as well as the 100$ closing fee).
They do not look at full instructions to see if what you want can be done before they start, they at no time advised comparable funds that were not closed, and just gave excuses as to why they should not know these things......So exactly what did I pay 50$ a year for? Paperwork I guess as they are no advisers.

If you are looking for a place to go I would look at T Rowe Price or Vanguard if you are savvy enough and do not need a lot of trading. If you need advice find someone who can actually advise and not go to Ameriprise.

by modoh, 7/28/2016

Pros: Like my CURRENT advisor (retiring ) but...not a Fiduciary and

Cons: FIRST advisor was a top performer aka con artist aka top SALESREP

High expense funds, always pushing annuity's, questionable "philosophy" huge egos -- you get it. Net is.., paying fees yet, I haven't met the market in my 4 years with Amerprise and.., now I'm OUT. Something is just not right -- My guess they are pushing their salespeople hard which will NEVER benefit YOU!! Vanguard here I come.
I thought I might send my portfolio to the government so they can check fees/net return. Remember, the government (thank you Pres Obama) want's you to WIN in retirement.

by Extreamly Unhappy, 5/18/2016

Pros: Friendly

Cons: Do not keep you informed, updated, horrible customer service

Tried for months to refinance they do not keep you updated, do not call you, do not email you, tell you a line of B.S still have not gotten this done now we have to find another company but...do not have allot of trust right now and do not know who to go through I will have to do allot of research before getting into anything!

by Joe Payne, 4/30/2016

Pros: Superficially friendly and smiled a lot

Cons: Negligent financial planning services, ignorant of Social Security, unwilling to explain investment recommendations, detached, unresponsive, unwilling to recommend qualified advisors

My wife and I (at ages 65 and 68) paid an Austin Texas Ameriprise CFP and broker to prepare a financial plan. The result was of little value and reflected little effort, concern, or insight. His recommendations were obvious and some were flawed. Flawed recommendations including suggesting the our son pay off my wife's student loans and urging us to cash in a whole life insurance policy with much better returns than the investments he managed for us for two years. He provided no forecast or options for investment strategies to fund our retirement. He provided no encourement to continue working in a job I enjoy and need to keep to support us. He provided absolutely no SOCIAL security recommendations to maximize benefits and refused to suggest a Social Security expert who could make up for his ignorance of Social Security and refusal to investigate it or learn about it. His negligence in SOCIAL SECURITY strategy resulted in my wife missing $20,000 in restricted spousal benefits. Ameriprise was unconcerned about our loss and told us that financial planning assistance with Social Security is optional. Ameriprise's response to our concerns was appallingly pitiful, reflecting a complete absence of concerns about customer service. The Ameriprise financial advisor was distant, detached and very slow to respond to calls and email. I would not recommend Ameriprise to anyone for anything.

by Joe Payne, 4/30/2016

Pros: Superficially friendly and smiled a lot

Cons: Negligent financial planning services, ignorant of Social Security, unwilling to explain investment recommendations, detached, unresponsive, unwilling to recommend qualified advisors

My wife and I (at ages 65 and 68) paid an Austin Texas Ameriprise CFP and broker to prepare a financial plan. The result was of little value and reflected little effort, concern, or insight. His recommendations were obvious and some were flawed. Flawed recommendations including suggesting the our son pay off my wife's student loans and urging us to cash in a whole life insurance policy with much better returns than the investments he managed for us for two years. He provided no forecast or options for investment strategies to fund our retirement. He provided no encourement to continue working in a job I enjoy and need to keep to support us. He provided absolutely no SOCIAL security recommendations to maximize benefits and refused to suggest a Social Security expert who could make up for his ignorance of Social Security and refusal to investigate it or learn about it. His negligence in SOCIAL SECURITY strategy resulted in my wife missing $20,000 in restricted spousal benefits. Ameriprise was unconcerned about our loss and told us that financial planning assistance with Social Security is optional. Ameriprise's response to our concerns was appallingly pitiful, reflecting a complete absence of concerns about customer service. The Ameriprise financial advisor was distant, detached and very slow to respond to calls and email. I would not recommend Ameriprise to anyone for anything.

by Sasha, 4/23/2016

Pros:

Cons: They lie and do not behave in a fiduciary manner.

My mother listed me as the beneficiary on her accounts. She died May 2015. On April 22, 2016 they were finally transferred to me. The advisor she was using prefers to speak to me on the phone whereas I prefer email so there is a paper trail and no later misunderstanding. They know I want to move the funds out of Ameriprise so they have been stalling for almost a year. Some of their tactics:
*Anything snail-mailed thru the US Post Office magically disappears. I have had to mail everything Certified Mail as proof.
*They sent me forms with the investment strategy changed. My mom had it very conservative, they changed it to aggressive - without asking me. When I changed the forms and sent them back, there was a "problem" and the forms had to be resent. That took 2 months to accomplish on their end.
*Emails asking specific questions are not returned. The advisor did call me every so often to ask how everything was and ask about the rest of my mother's estate. He advised me to sell her house and invest the proceeds with him!!! At some point, he apparently had learned from my mother that she had been left out of her mother's (my grandmother's )will. He told me that he would help me find a lawyer to sue because "that's really your money and you should fight it."
* They refused to process my mother's Required Minimum Distribution on her IRA by Dec. 31, 2015 . Advisor said headquarters would not allow it. I called Headquarters and they said that they "prefer" to wait until entire estate is settled. I told them that my state has no such restriction and they are behaving illegally. They said it was their policy. Now I am waiting to see if the IRS penalizes me as beneficiary because of their BS.
Their compliance officer is John Jurek. Perhaps enough letters to him about shoddy practices will help. Until then, I am taking the money away from them.

by T., 4/1/2016

Pros:

Cons:

My advice is to stay away. When you first meet with Ameriprise, they make you feel like there will be a team of people working on your account. During my initial meeting, there were 4-5 people from Ameriprise. Your advisor lays out a calendar of quarterly touch points, two in person, two over the phone. Aside from our initial meeting, I never saw my advisor in person. And last year, he called me once at the end of December. But the main reason I left is because I was paying high fees to have no one watch my money. Between fees and bad advice, I would have been better off keeping my money in a no interest savings account. The kicker is when you leave, they charge high termination and transfer fees on your account. Someone was making money on my account, but it was not me. Unfortunately, after surfing around the internet, my experience with Ameriprise is not unique.

by Mariam, 2/25/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Unethical, horrible customer service and total rip off. Worst company ever, they start you with low premium and then start raising up more and more. They'll find all the excuses to collect more money from you. Prepare yourself to deal with the rudest customer service ever if you get in an accident and do all the work on top of that. Bad reputation well deserved.

by Feeling Betrayed by Ameriprise, 10/5/2015

Pros: Nice offices. Good manners.

Cons: Poor recommendations. Hidden charges. Conflict of interest.

We signed up with Ameriprise a few years back to manage our savings and help us plan. This year we moved to a fee only service with another firm, that is not paid to sell anything. I recommend everyone do the same.

The people at Ameriprise were pleasant and professional, but every recommendation they made was a way to line their pockets, not ours.

They pushed us hard to sell our small company shares when those firms were growing like crazy. Following their advice on that cost us a lot of money.

Then they would only recommend funds and such that they got commission on, but they never mentioned this. We had to dig to discover why the stuff they recommended performed so poorly, and then the front loaded fees came up - some as high as 5-10% for certain products. We only discovered that because we called the firms they had recommended we buy products from, and asked their fee structures.

The performance of the broker-sold stuff they recommended was pretty bad too, compared to comparable funds and products available of on the open market.

After years of underperforming the bull market with Ameriprise, while we watched the small amount we had in another account we self-managed grow by leaps and bounds, we finally decided to leave.

Working with Ameriprise cost us a great deal of money. We feel like we were fleeced.

If you want an advisor, I would say go with a fee only advisor with no fees from any third party firm. Then you will get honest advice. As far as we could tell, Ameriprise was all about lining their own pockets at our expense.

by Barbara Shields, 5/29/2015

Pros:

Cons:

Excellent service highly knowledgeable financial advice. I am old school so I do financial consults in person The advisor helped me navigate online transactions at the office

by H. S. of Eden Prairie, 2/7/2015

Pros:

Cons: Has hidden clauses

Ameriprise has hidden clauses and came up with some timeline limit as an excuse not to pay our claim. This is a shady organization. Ameriprise is not consumer friendly. They hide information from you about your own claim and do not give you the info and tools you need to take care of your home. Ameriprise is stealing $5000 from our claim alone. DO NOT RECOMMEND. Read hundreds of complaints. Horrible people.

by Susan, 11/14/2014

Pros:

Cons: Online access is completely unreliable

I have an investment account with Ameriprise that I inherited a few years ago. Due to moving to another state I have had two different financial advisors and I pay based on value of accounts. No complaints with advisors, but the online access is completely unreliable. There was another update on Oct 10, 2014, and you could not transfer funds all weekend and still not working today. There seem to be other problems with viewing and accessing information on the site also. I called over the weekend and was told I can't do a transfer when next day is a holiday. Their system knew, told me the 15th as available date, but then would not go through. Today the message said "transfers could not be done, call". Their system was down for over a week after a software upgrade earlier this year. They have no business handling people's money if they can't even roll out software updates correctly and revert back if there is a problem. No excuse for this in the modern world of computerized trading, banking, etc.

by Jpc2014, 11/13/2014

Pros:

Cons: Poor customer service

My advisor from Ameriprise financial made a mistake that cost my investments $4700 and it will not tell the truth to his supervisors so they can correct his error.He stated that mutual funds would be sold on a specific date and it did not happen too many days later.

As a result the cost of the funds were $4700 less than on the date that he should have done the transaction.He is telling his supervisors that he rated disclosure that stated funds may not be traded on that date but as of yet I still have not seen or heard the disclosure

Leading U.S. Brokerage Review Websites About Ameriprise Financial

"While Ameriprise has gained somewhat of a negative reputation, one of its competitors, Vanguard, has been gaining popularity. Much of the negativity surrounding Ameriprise’s business operation stems from the amount of money people have lost in their investments with Ameriprise. The issue lies with their investment strategy, which can be considered as a “one size fits all” type plan."

Reviewopedia.com

Brokerage reviews from customers/users/consumers. Broker ratings, promotional codes, scam reports/complaints, pros and cons, stocks, options, ETFs, mutual funds trading/invseting commissions/fees for 2017. Consumer opinions and feedback on brokerage services.
Ameriprise Financial reviewed by TopRatedFirms.com users. 37 customer reviews. Rating: 1.