Raymond James Customer Reviews

Customer's Rating: brokerage firms reviews

Raymond James Financial Services customer reviews: rating, ranking, pros and cons, advantages and disadvantages, problems/complaints, positive feedback from clients.

About Raymond James Financial Services

Founded in 1962 and a public company since 1983, Raymond James is a diversified financial services holding company with subsidiaries engaged primarily in investment and financial planning, in addition to investment banking and asset management.

Raymond James Account Types Offered

Raymond James & Associates IRAs, Cash management accounts, Brokerage account funds, Raymond James Trust accounts, Fee-based managed and advisory accounts, 529 plan accounts, Guardianship accounts, Credit and lending, Conservatorship accounts, Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, SEP IRAs, SIMPLE IRAs, 401(k) Profit Sharing Solutions, Qualified Retirement Plans, Key Person Insurance, The Owners-only 401(k).

Add your Raymond James Customer review

Your Name

 200 max, no html

Your Raymond James Customer Rating





Broker Pros

Broker Cons

Raymond James Customer Review

Spam will be deleted. No HTML please.


Ally Invest Brokerage Review


Raymond James Customer Reviews

by Rundontwalk, 5/20/2017

Pros: Easy to purchase funds

Cons: Fees, errors, misleading advice

High ongoing program fees. I have a fund directly with american funds bank and another set from retirement account with james that was set up a few years earlier. The direct account was funded at half the amt of the rjames funds for same products...differences direct a shares, james c shares. There is only 500 difference between the two accounts after 10 years.. .mostly due to fees! I have a whole nightmare of incorrectly applied amounts via james too. Ugh.

by dont use rj, 5/18/2017

Pros: make money for themselves

Cons: client loses money

raymond james are not interested in the client, only making money for themselves DO NOT USE THIS BROKER

by loser, 5/14/2017

Pros: selfish,greedy,crooked and thats there good qualities

Cons: buy this and me the broker will will make a lot of money

DONT USE THESE VERMON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by ken, 5/14/2017

Pros: non

Cons: a lot

if u like to lose money and make the broker a lot of money go with raymond james

by pm, 5/13/2017

Pros: good analysis team

Cons: bad advice

they make it difficult to get things done.
g mathis hands you off to someone who knows little and pushes product

by CINDY, 4/27/2017

Pros: ZERO

Cons: WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY AND THE INVESTMENTS THEY MAKE ARE TAX FRAUD SCHEMES THAT PAY ONLY THEM

THESE PEOPLE ARE CROOKS AND WON'T DISCLOSE WITH ME WHO MY OWN TRUST ADVISER OR TRUSTEE IS AND REFUSE TO MAKE DISTRIBUTIONS OUT MY ACCOUNTS THAT ARE FOR MY BENEFIT THAT HAVE MORE THAN I CAN SPEND IN A LIFE TIME. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE, THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF, AND THEN TRY TO ERASE AND TRACK OF THEIR CRIMES,

by Nancy, 4/17/2017

Pros: Two of them goes over our budget every month for free

Cons: Doesn't want us to touch our investments because we might outlive our money. Makes us live on social security

The second time we were there after giving them our retirement money, we were told our adviser was not there because he had been arrested by the FBI for violating his contract.

by Audrey, 4/6/2017

Pros:

Cons:

They made me a lot on my IRA this past year I have been great.
The so called New Law Forcing me out of Putnam Growth I am bit confused on the forced move to a new Freedom Foundation because I was showing such great gain? I wish I could have stayed on the Putnam. I am totally Lost on this new quarterly report. I have to call and make appointment. I do not quite understand this new IRA roll over and reading reviews I am shocked because I made so much profit 2016-2017! My advisor has always been available and always calls back. I am really trusting him on this choice of roll over. I just want to watch it over next few quarters if any loss I will be very upset this is for my children! Because all stocks I was just in were all Green and making great profits... Really if you lose money they lose money so I do not see why anyone would suspect such terrible reviews???

by jim, 3/25/2017

Pros: Both seem to be good with numbers and advise .

Cons: My gut tells me to beware and time to shop ! They never reply to my e-mail questions !

very fed up at this point--I don't have very much invested as I am poor compared to most. I need to move my money but just don't know where ? Both advisers have a lot of fancy talk and impressive literature but that's about all they offer !

by anne beaty, 2/25/2017

Pros:

Cons:

many errors especially with cost basis reporting.

by Broke, AF, 1/23/2017

Pros: NONE

Cons: High fees, horrible service, scam artists, there are too many to list

Do not invest with Raymond James. You will loose money. I lost so much money. Don't invest with them, they are thieves. I would give them zero stars if the option was available.

by Wonder W., 1/19/2017

Pros: Great financial advice

Cons: Parking lot too small for my invisible jet

My RJ financial advisor provides great advice.

by Longtime client, 1/6/2017

Pros: Usually available

Cons: Closed my account without notice

Did not know they closed my account until I received a check in the mail. They did it right before the end of year so there are tax implications as well. When I asked why I was told only my financial advisor could tell me. He was not available. They sold the stock my grandfather bought when I was born. I plan on contacting an attorney to see if this is legal.

by Anonymous, 1/5/2017

Pros: None

Cons: 1) Annual charges on a very small account were = 25% of the IRS required withdrawals. 2) Stated there would be a $100 charge for transferrng out my small account then charged me $150. Greedy Theives. Avoid, Avoid, Avoid.

Avoid this company. They charge ridiculous fees and are very smug when you call them and ask questions. They are out to make more from you then for you. Don't be duped, Avoid this firm as they are greedy theives.

by Anonymous, 12/22/2016

Pros:

Cons:

I was thinking about investing my pension in Raymond James now I'm confused because of the bad reviews. I have a significant amount to invest and will be investing in January 2017. Any advice as to where to invest?

by Anonymous,, 11/20/2016

Pros: NONE

Cons: Dishonest, unethical Advisors as well as home office

We had an account with them for about 2 years. Account was churned and we were put in upfront charge mutual funds then moved to other upfront mutual funds. When we complained the advisor told us go ahead nothing will happen because I have friends in home office. We complained closed account and they charged us 150.00 to close each account. Horrible unethical company.....STAY AWAY!! They should get NO STARS!!

by victim of thieves, 9/22/2016

Pros:

Cons:

My wife and I both had investments for 20 plus years to a broker we trust. All we saw was our gains being stripped away by so called professionals. Today our account balances are the same as they were 20 years ago. Plus, they started charging broker fees that depleted any gain. This is just the tip of the iceberg. Who can you trust with your money today? Nobody but yourself. If you have money invested you better watch it like a hawk.

by Leonard Koska, 8/25/2016

Pros: ABSOLUTELY NONE

Cons: Robert (Bob) Ogren bought me in at a 52 week high. Managers are never available and do nothing. They charge large fees for everything.

Any first year financial manager would have known better than to buy in at a 52 week high. I then spent almost two years trying to get most of my money back. When I tried to close the account they charged me a yearly fee of $50 and a closing fee of $100 on top of all the fees they already charged me. The only winner here was Raymond James.

by Dana Ferre, 8/24/2016

Pros: Didn't so much as look at my account for 18 months

Cons: Sent me a childish letter telling me to find a new company within 30 days or he would liquidate everything after I told him we were moving the account

In 4 years with Raymond James they did nothing but lose money for me. I have less money today than what I gave them 4 years ago! They didn't care about what my money was doing. They charged me thousands every year in fees for doing nothing.
My broker was a condescending jerk. Highly unprofessional. He mailed me a childish letter telling me to find a new company within 30 days or he would liquidate everything after I told him we were moving the accounts to another company.
My 4 years with Raymond James actually cost me money.

by A C, 8/4/2016

Pros: NONE

Cons: SCAM ARTISTS, RUDE, ASSHOLES, IDIOTS

DO NOT INVEST YOUR MONEY WITH RAYMOND JAMES. These people are a living hell to work with. They will lose your money. They don't care. Get out before their fees eat up all your investment.

I GIVE THEM NO STAR.

by Widow, 8/2/2016

Pros:

Cons: Excessive fees

I had 50000 in an investment that was going nowhere...cashed it in....then notice a 50 dollar maintainance fee..for a cash deposit!

by anonymous, 7/16/2016

Pros: none

Cons: same as others

same as others

by D Hardee, 6/27/2016

Pros: I can't think of any

Cons: Bad management of IRA, Fees, Service

After 1 year and 10 months, initial investment of $140,000, did not make anything. Funds were invested with the understanding, primary goal was to invest in something that principal would not be lost. Could retire at any time and did not need risky portfolio. Lost money every month. Losses were pretty significant. Watched market almost daily and the beginning of June, I was getting close to my initial investment and I asked my broker to please liquidate and transfer to an IRA in the bank. Check was issued to bank on June 10th, and as of today, June 27th, check has not been received. Called home office to check on where check is, they don't know and said a stop payment would be issued and another check sent. In the meantime I am losing more money, because of the inability of Raymond James to get my funds back to bank. My whole experience has been a nightmare.

by Olivia White, 6/20/2016

Pros: NONE

Cons: Rude, unethical

My broker, Susan Cohn, closed my account and took my money without consulting me. She was very rude on the phone and told me that the money was never mine and it was always hers.

by Jim, 6/9/2016

Pros: Very nice person, helpful when my father passed away.

Cons: Has adviced me a couple times to buy on bad buys.

Overall I am pleased with the service. I have had some bad advice. I bought energy gas/oil stocks and then the market of them flushed. I have had calls telling me of warnings in up coming stocks changes. A couple I followed proved correct.

by Anonymous,, 6/7/2016

Pros: NONE

Cons: UNETHICAL, NO INTEGRITY, DECEITFUL

Horrible advisor. He churned my mothers account first with her annuities then with Mutual Funds ....When we complained nothing happened and was covered up because advisor was friends with some manager in home office. They have more advisors with complaints and judgements against them by FINRA....Stay Clear

by Peter K, 5/6/2016

Pros: She has high integrity

Cons: Nothing

My advisor is not only a great financial advisor, she is also a professional basketball player and a firefighter.

by SIAJ, 5/6/2016

Pros: Service levels

Cons: not applicable

My RJ advisor is well-trained, experienced and provides great service.

by Samar K Mukherjee, 5/1/2016

Pros: It was good when I started with he company

Cons: Mismanagement, even after many Argument Raymond James does not manage my potfolio. Have loss of money

They are not very knowledgeable and demonstrate no interest in managing my account. Had tremendous argument and still loosing money. The total fund went up to 260.000 at some point noe has gone down to 193000. The market is doing very good. But they are careless and would not make any change in my portfolio. After many request and argument they refused to make changes in my Portfolio. My fund kept depleting. They do not call and review my fund allocation.
I spoke with Tom Hamilton and specifically mentioned to find better funds. There is no monitoring. No agent was assigned to me. With such a shallow knowledge on the financial sector I think my money is at risk. Overall I have a terrible experience. I CAN BET YOU THEY DON'T HAVE ANY IDEAS ABOUT ALL FUNDS UNDER OHIO NATIONAL ONCORE FUND

by Donna Lois Bice Read, 4/21/2016

Pros: NONE--if I could give a negative rating, I would do so!!

Cons: UNETHICAL, DISHONEST, INCOMPETENT

I had 4 accounts with RJ; 3 were solely in my name, & 1 account was held jointly with my now ex husband (we had created the joint account by each depositing $150,000 of separate property). I've been trying to get records pertaining to account activity and year end info on all 4 of my accounts since the fall of 2012 when RJ fired me as a client, with no explanation, even though I had been a client for many years; however, as I was fired 2 business days after I had complained of my long time broker's big mouth & lack of impartiality, I figure this was the reason. While there is much more involved, I'm providing the most obvious example of RJ deceit & incompetence.

As I had discovered some financial irregularities, caused by my husband, pertaining to our bank accounts, I was taking inventory of assets I owned wholly or partially. When I asked for the balance of the joint RJ account, I learned the balance was zero. Later the same day, my spouse was furious at me because I had asked for the balance; in turn, I was furious with my broker as he had told my spouse that I had inquired as to the balance. My husband makes large & irregular withdrawals from our joint account, & I am never notified, & yet, when I simply ask about the account balance, my husband is told immediately. Unbelievably, I have never been able to get any info from RJ on the joint account and my missing funds.

I have been adamant & consistent in my demands for records reflecting account activity and year end summary info for all 4 of my accounts for 2012 and earlier years. I have not been able to get any info on my 4 accounts except for 2012 year end summaries & 1099s for 2 of the accounts I solely owned, & I did not get this info until February, 2016. In February, 2016, I also received a form I had purportedly completed & signed; this document has either been falsified or an obvious mistake was made by my broker's secretary (over the years, it has been my experience that most routine activities/transactions are handled by my broker's secretary). I assume the secretary's work is reviewed; it should be--everyone's should be. As the mistake was obvious and extremely detrimental to me financially, it was deliberately ignored, if not overtly fabricated.

The RJ employees from their national office were extraordinarily rude when I dealt with them trying to resolve matters. An area VP fired me; my broker could not even extend me this courtesy. As my focus has been on my divorce proceedings which are now done, I had decided I would not legally pursue my issues with RJ...at least I had decided this until February, 2016, when I received the freaking document which is obviously and demonstrably false. RJ employees assume that with corporate assets & bulk, they'll outlast you, but they won't do so with documents falsified either by deliberate actions or by a deliberate lack of action. The critical dates in the document were stupidly overlooked whether the document was falsified by overt action or by conscious inaction, & because they were, I have a legal case that I can take the distance, & I am going to do so!!

by Elizabeth F, 4/7/2016

Pros: Charms my mother

Cons: Major loss of capital

In two years, RayJay lost 31% of my mother's IRA due largely to making reckless bets on energy stocks, several of which have questionable ties to RayJay. And while her money was in the toilet and RayJay was downgrading these stocks, her broker plunged more money into the bowl just before everything flushed. I am mad at myself for taking my eye off the ball and believing the broker would continue to do right by my mother. Still trying to figure out how much in fees he's raked in while my mom's account value plummeted.

by Anonymous, 3/23/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Please run as fast as you can. If you know anyone who uses them, help them get out. Looking into my elder mother's finances wondering where all her money is. They are crooks and I am getting her out. After 15 years, her portfolio is 25% of what it used to be. Kicking myself for not having looked into this 5 years ago. Thought she was still on top of her game and now realizing she is NOT and they have soaked her! It is criminal. Even with the downturn of the market, my own investments with another firm are stable and have been Not hers, Raymond James are thieves.

by Ray Bedikian, 3/23/2016

Pros:

Cons: never sell a stock that Raymond James downgrades. if you want to succeed, BUY,BUY,BUY!!!

if they downgrade a stock, don't sell, buy immediately and reap the reward.

by FED UP IN PANAMA CITY, 3/23/2016

Pros: None

Cons: Doesn't care about clients

RJ made a mistake with contributions to employee individual and company matching IRA funds. When presented with the documents showing the directed deposits they have refuse to make the changes. I am having to complete forms basically stating that I made the mistake and they are doing me a favor correcting it. I am fed up with their arrogance and lack of concern to details.

by Sue, 3/12/2016

Pros: None

Cons: Fee heavy

Had $600k plus in an RJ IRA over the past 4 years. Looking at our statements each month it seemed we never gained much ground with our investments. Finally sat down and reviewed our 4 years of monthly statements - RJ fees $80k, our increase in asset value $4k. Taking our account elsewhere. It will be $100 well spent.

by Thierry Dumay, 2/14/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Regarding the management of your portfolio you cannot be confident with them. Their analysts are bad, they just do what they want with your money and not what you are expected. I would not recommend them at all to a friend

by disappointed client, 2/12/2016

Pros: Very few

Cons: Illegally transfered account

This firm condones unethical and illegal behavior. Broker transferred a retirement account into the sole name of spouse I was in midst of a divorce from. Firm ethics officer was rude, condescending and arrogant to deal with.
Bottom line is broker was marginally competent to engage in ethics violations and ethics officer was a complete ass.

by Beth haddle, 1/14/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Despite dropping oil prices for several months RJ invested $60 thousand in the market. I have lost significant dollars. My portfolio wasn't balanced and was too risky. I lost well over a 100 thousand. I left a few weeks ago.

by Audy Haze, 12/31/2015

Pros:

Cons:

I was with RJ for many years! I recently "fired" them! For over-charging me and lieing about it! RJ is not to be trusted, dealt with or do any financial business with! If you complain, the deck is stacked against your complaint and always in RJ's favor regardless if your right! RJ Financial Svs smiles while emptying your account at the same time! Go to Vanguard!!!

by Mike, 12/2/2015

Pros: None

Cons: Expensive, Dishonest and not trustworthy

Before I decided to transfer all my accounts I wanted to get an upfront fee for handling my money. What was agreed upon and what what charged was a HUGE discrepancy!
I went back to dispute the charge difference and the adviser was fired.
Therefore, I went up the chain and was told there is nothing they can or will do.

by unhappy, 11/17/2015

Pros:

Cons:

The only people making money is Raymond James. Not necessarily their fault as the markets aren't doing well. But they come out ahead EVERY SINGLE MONTH

by Anonymous, 11/11/2015

Pros:

Cons:

Two days after my mother had a tracheostomy, while my mother could not talk, or even sign for that matter, intimated her so much, made her sign a living trust, appointing Raymond James Trust as Trustee over her $850,000.00. They had to put their hands on hers to make her sign. They took her home, and refused to meet with her to make changes, saying,"She can't talk."

by Melvin E. Holliday, 11/11/2015

Pros: Very helpful at helping me lose my money.

Cons: Very helpful at helping me lose my money.

My retirement $220,000 mostly lost everything on advice of financial adviser in early 70 when stock market bottomed out. After withdrawals I lost nearly $150,000 on the advice of my financial adviser at RJ when he told me to keep money in the market after repeated requests from me to take it out until market stabilized. At $50,000 I pulled the plug to save what little I had left while I'm sure that Adviser would have taken me all the way to the bottom had I not taken action. I left money in RJ savings drawing no interest to avoid penalties of withdrawal. They now treat me like dirt and I don't even have a financial Adviser taking care of my account as the other one and even his father have since quit. Invest your money at Raymond James at your own peril.

by D.G., 9/17/2015

Pros: none

Cons: Expensive, not knowledgable, lousy website

I used to think all brokers were pretty much the same, until Raymond James. My broker is unhelpful and borderline rude. The website is out of date and doesn't have the features I would expect.

I only have a Raymond James account because that's how my company disperses stock grants. Due to numerous employee complaints, upper management is looking into other options.

by Bleep in Houston, 9/10/2015

Pros: Full Service

Cons: They are expensive and will sell you anything to get your investment

I had a managed ambassador account for my IRA and my Investment account with Raymond James for five years. My account rep was not interested in building (or managing) an integrated balanced account as much as simply pitching one off investments (many of them underwritten by Raymond James. He put me is some terrible investments including an MLP in my IRA that lost 90% of its value. I finally pulled my accounts. After five years my accounts were worth almost as much as the day they were opened. Not only did I not make any return; I missed 5 years of a Bull market.
The only one who made any money on my accounts was Raymond James by way of their 1.5%/annum management fees that totaled $75,000 by the time we parted ways.

by Gail, 8/12/2015

Pros: They take buy and sell orders pretty good - Never gave me any good advice

Cons: Fee Heavy

Called to see if I could get the $30 per IRA fee waived for our $175,000 in 3 IRA investment accounts. Told her I was bringing over another $140,000. Was told she couldn't waive the $90 in fees unless I have at least $500,000 in the RJ account to waive fees.

Told her fine I would be closing the accounts. She responded OK but you'll then not only have the $90 in fees but $100 PER ACCOUNT CLOSING FEE.

SHE SEEMED DELIGHTED TO TELL ME THAT THEY WOULD BE CHARGING ME EVEN MORE THAN I EXPECTED. TYPICAL ATTITUDE - LEAVE US - WE DON'T CARE.

by Any Private Client Group, 8/12/2015

Pros: Planning

Cons: Higher cost

Investment firms are more expensive, however if you believe lower cost will lead to better performance results you are wrong. Study after study proves this. Educate yourself then go find a good advisor who charges a reasonable fee and explains what you get for that fee. They are rare, however they exist. You have good advisors at bad firms and bad advisors at good firms. Generally speaking Raymond James is a good firm with good advisors.

by Anonymous, 6/18/2015

Pros: Not a single pro for broker or company

Cons: Yes...he is a con.

STAY AWAY FROM THESE THIEFS.

by John Foster, 6/6/2015

Pros:

Cons: Neglected to invest my investment

Meet with investment adviser and we made financial plan, I trusted this bank and investment adviser and in Jan 2014 one year later I lost money!
They forgot to invest my investment and when I confronted them they admitted he forgot and I know he was running for city council so they forgot!!!!!

Sent me a four page form that I had to sign and agree to three investments and I could not seek outside council and have it back within 14 days!

If I signed I looked up stock I would have lost allot of money!

They don't care and cover their reputation with legal letters you would not understand!

I moved it to another broker and it took three weeks to get my money out of them!

The people in Florida would not return any if my calls requesting what theses legal letters meant!

Stay away! Cost me a year and a half of good growth I will never be able to recoup!

Please stay away! They don't really care when they make a mistake!!!!!!!

And it's your future they could neglect like mine!

by wiserbutpoorerinvestor, 5/7/2015

Pros: pleasant enough

Cons: not very knowledgeable

$50 annual account fee if you're below $100,000. And commissions are VERY expensive--3-5%. And they don't provide commission fee schedule unless you request it. Investor beware

by SBS, 10/11/2014

Pros:

Cons:

I had two Raymond James accounts. Closed one and they left $0.35 in the account with their miscalculation and sent me statements in the mail monthly for over a year costing $0.79 in postage only. I finally informed them of the situation. Next, I decided to close the other account with the all the waste I witnessed personally. They could not get the amount correct and had to issue three different checks. This went on for some time. Finally they attached a penalty to the last check which I tried to contest much to my dismay. Their comment was ...it is a new fee to close the account.

by MikeM2, 8/23/2014

Pros:

Cons:

My mom had RJF for over 400k of her IRA. Honestly, the broker/dearler/advisor never had a idea that I could not have come up with on my own. He also charged at least 1.25% per annum. That on top of the ER for the funds. They did have some load waived MFs that are useful like the LW version of CAIBX. I moved her out to Trowe Price(2013) and have not been sorry. When she lost 50k in a private bank stock that his office offered (he was also on the bank's board) I never heard from him again. He sluffed her off to one of his associates. Oh by the was the FDIC is suing the board to recover 8-9million in fees, trips, salary for the board members. Not typical for a RJ advisor but I still have a bad taste in my mouth.

by Mark, 8/17/2014

Pros:

Cons: very expensive for a Roth

Raymond James is very expensive for a Roth that you may actively trade. They have a minimum of 70.00 per trade. I pay 7.99 for any amount in equities. Also their mutuals are all front and post loaded that eat up any profits. I have done very well in the ETF markets for income and growth with similar risk as my Raymond James mutual. Out of six mutual funds at Raymond James, four are highly touted, I have averaged a meager 4% with 100,000.

by Anonymous, 2/19/2014

Pros:

Cons:

These guys are the worst! High fees, low returns, glorified used car sales people!

Brokerage reviews from customers/users/consumers. Broker ratings, promotional codes, scam reports/complaints, pros and cons, stocks, options, ETFs, mutual funds trading/invseting commissions/fees for 2017. Consumer opinions and feedback on brokerage services.
Raymond James Customer reviewed by TopRatedFirms.com users. 54 customer reviews. Rating: 2.