Capital One Investing Customer Reviews

Customer's Rating: brokerage firms reviews

Capital One Investing (Former ShareBuilder) customer reviews 2017:
complaints, positive feedback from clients, pros and cons. Is it safe/worth to invest?

  • Stocks & ETFs: $6.95
  • Options: $6.95 + $0.75 per contract
  • Mutual Funds: $19.95

Minimum to open: $0 for a cash account.
Open an account: Open an account with CapitalOne Investing.
More: Capital One Investing review »

Capital One Investing/ShareBuilder Promotion Offer 2017

None at this time.

Add your CapitalOne Investing/ShareBuilder Customer review

Your Name

 200 max, no html

Your CapitalOne Investing/ShareBuilder Customer Rating





Broker Pros

Broker Cons

CapitalOne Investing/ShareBuilder Customer Review

Spam will be deleted. No HTML please.


Best Brokerage For IRA


CapitalOne Investing/ShareBuilder Customer Reviews

by David, 4/27/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Non responsive. Hold your money as long as possible where you can not get at it or use it

I have tried to transfer my holdings from Capital One investing to another brokerage house.
The reason I did this was due to two reason
1. Non responsive people just saying they can not do anything to help and there no other person that can help. I must mail a letter to a PO box to get help
2. Hold my money on transfers in for extensive time. Not allow me use of my money.

by Mary, 4/25/2017

Pros: none

Cons: worst customer service

This is the worst company I've dealt with.
The customer service is not there to help you or process your request.
They just want to make your life more difficult.
Request not processed, lied about reason, no notification when they failed to process your request.

Stay away from this company.

by Paul, 4/12/2017

Pros: Basic online platform, no need to call to place order.

Cons: Poor order execution on non-AON orders and some Prf's non-transferable or not possible to purchase.

Overall basic investing ability.
Hassle when purchasing a security to have to uncheck default DRIP.
Customer should opt in, not opt out!

by Hector, 3/23/2017

Pros: The buying and selling of equities is easy

Cons: The tech Department has weak individuals assisting customers and it lacks proper supervision

The tech support department likes to play games with customers who are having trouble getting on their account. They will request that a costumer fax to them a copy of the customers social security card to verify the customers ID. The contact numbers are used for follow up on problems. They give contact numbers starting with the letters BS. When you ask for a supervisor for assistance they put on an individuals who refuses to give their last name. The individual who I spoke to me was Ryan on March 23 2017. He identified himself as a supervisor.

by RP, 2/2/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Every

By far and above the very worst brokerage ever! Terrible customer service in trying to close an account, outrageous fees and the time it takes is unheard of in the 21st century, literally weeks. Avoid this company at all cost there are far better options out there. The SEC should take a look at this company.

by Maryanne, 9/22/2016

Pros: None

Cons: Worst Company ever

I work for a brokerage firm and I have a client who wants to transfer out of Capital One....OMG what a nightmare this has been.

Very difficult to get the clients account transferred, they aren't a part of normal transfer system...said it could take up to 30 days...

Horrible company, please don't invest with them!

by Thomas Riordan, 9/11/2016

Pros: Horrible

Cons: No cons

The worst company I have ever done business with I have been trying to close my account 4 5 years now they won't let me have my money I called the ACC I called everyone they all told me that capital one investment is the worst. ...save ur money ....the worst company ever....lemonade stands r run better

by linda, 5/26/2016

Pros:

Cons:

I am quite shocked that they are charging me $75 per account to close my IND and IRA accounts. AND they said it could take 30 days! Really, it seems to be a pretty simple matter to transfer the accounts in total to another brokerage. None of my other accounts charged me a transfer fee.

by john m, 5/9/2016

Pros: not many

Cons: too many

don't support many funds - very limited.
closing an account is a nightmare - 40 DAYS!!!!!!!!!
Yes, this all electronic company tells you 40 DAYS!!!!!!!!

$75 to close an account and you can't pay them. You MUST sell stocks or whatever to have cash inside the account - so if you switch a ROTH - be prepared...

Terrible customer support - supportive eMails, no substance.

Would never do business with them again...

by blahhh, 4/11/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Penny stock fees are Outrageous! Just opened the account 4 days ago, bought a security although I didn't want to once I saw the $12 (low priced security fee) + 6.95 (trade charge) but needed to get in quickly .. Also set a future sell order that would have gains of 6k for me and nearly $400 in fees from Cap One. Just ridiculous .. once I sell my position, I will be Closing this account. I'll stick with Fidelity $7.95/Any Trade, no extra hidden fees because this was definitely not mentioned in any docs when I signed up. Even the post above says $6.95/trade online, $19.95 trade by phone and I always trade online.

by Pissed off while pissed on, 4/1/2016

Pros: When I first open (sharebuilder)

Cons: Staying with then as capital one investing now

First time I place a buy order for penny stock at .04 a share mind you this was done 8:30 that morning. Everything was a go from capital one. Stock went up to .13 a share. Now when I looked for my money SURPRISE order was not put in. When I called I was told that there wasn't enough shares to be sold. This month with last month. A stock which was offered by Capital one investing BRKO is the symbol. I got this stock from them in a two day period. Stock rose making an $1393.00 win fall. WHILE this stock was put on hold by SEC I was told on or about 3/17/2016. When I try to sell this stock Capital one investing is the one with it on hold. So I still could not sell until I called them as this stock continue to fell. So now I'm out $ 3000.00 and some dollars. HELP WHAT CAN I DO !!!

by Debbie, 3/29/2016

Pros:

Cons:

The good thing about Sharebuilder is you can buy partial stocks, whereas some other brokers require you to buy the whole stock. I was thinking about buying some penny stocks through Sharebuilder, but don't want to pay high fees when selling as that defeats the goal of making a profit.

I think this broker is geared more toward buy-and-hold, or long-term stocks. This is fine but not for those looking to make a buck quickly unless you watch the charts all the time and sell with stop-loss when a stock hits a favorable range.

by Larry B., 12/17/2015

Pros: OK as long as you NEVER have to interact with an actual person--server function is ok

Cons: They will throw every imaginable roadblock if you try to leave.

We have been trying to transfer our account to Scottrade for over 2 months. (Still not done) You will NEVER communicate with the same person, even if they give you a dedicated number. Each time you call or write you start from square one, hold the line while they transfer the conversation up the line to zero resolution. Weeks and maybe months later they will still be requesting just one more document. They started with the $75.00 transfer fee out of the blue--"sir you do not have funds to pay for your transfer"--my reply--Miss, I have over $300.00 in my sweep account. From there it just got worse and there is not enough room here to explain. This lets me know that in event of a death, your family would be screwed. It would probably take a lawyer and some court action for them to get your money. NEVER AGAIN! I recommend this group to NOBODY! Do not stop---walk on by! I really wish there was a zero stars.

by alex, 9/17/2015

Pros:

Cons:

bad execution? how fast you want it, 1 sec? I opened up one in cap and the other in td to compare. I found no such better or worse. in result, capitaloneinvesting is showing simple and easy while td higher fees showing too much complicated numbers on the main screen that I can't adjust in setting

by trajan, 12/21/2014

Pros:

Cons: Bad Customer Service

They Suck.

by Customer, 9/11/2014

Pros:

Cons:

Very bad service. My stocks have been sold on Friday . And on the next day I requested to transfer then to my bank account. On Monday I got the message to call back. When I call back I got many security questions related to my relatives ( their names, address ??!! and other ones - not from my list of security questions). The representative asked very fast and I didn't catch one question and respond was wrong by their list of answers ( Later I have found out from the big level manager - these questions have been sold to this very complicated company). Because of this wrong answer I was requested to send my secure documents - SSN and driver license to some fax.. I tried to call many times to many levels of managers but not successfully to explain - it is not secure ... No choice .. Sent documents at 2.20 P.M. Call on the next day .. Hear - don't know .. got many documents, busy .. Ask managers .. Many calls .. Finally manager spend some time to find my documents after many words from me and PROMISSED - 'will be DONE TODAY' .. Next day - check the status of my request - NOTHING DONE !!! Call again - hear - yes, it seems we got your documents. We will process .. They DIDN"T TRUST ME, HOW I CAN TRUST TO THEM , People ?????? Verdict - they try to keep YOUR MONEY, but THEY FORGOT we are on 21ST century.. Everybody thru FACEBOOK will find out about ...

by lirpa, 3/25/2014

Pros:

Cons: server always down

it is a bad service.

by Shbldruser1year, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: wasting client's time

I agree with the time spent aspect

by SbldrUser1Year, 11/29/2013

Pros: simple website

Cons: poor and slow customer service

I spent several days looking at various brokerage account sites a year ago. I chose Shbuldr as a simple to use site.
However there's some caveats.
They're not always W3 compliant. Look here to know what that means. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W3c

Today that bit me. I couldn't easily shut off my $12 charge for an optional program.
Remember I chose the site for ease of use. When I shut off the service I was still charged.
I got help on the phone. I was directed to a remote area of the site where people go to set up
their name, age, and email address. Things you don't change very often.
This is perfect. So they've buried a value income stream into stuff you wouldn't normally change.
I find that reprehensible.
So I get help and change it.
They refunded my $12. And I've spent 40 minutes. Time wasted.

by Wayne, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: incompetent poor customer service, unreliable to work with

Customer service is staffed by incompetent people. I placed a sell order above what ShareBuilder showed as the high of the day then after the high was 8 points above my unexecuted order, I tried to complain. First I was told that my 1 minute barchart (from barchart.com) was showing the ask price (when it is showing sales which only occur when ask=bid) then that it had not stayed at my price long enough and since I had a limit order it would not be executed at a better price, then that it had not stayed above my price long enough for them to fill my order (don't they place the orders with an exchange?). After further research, it seems that they are giving me delayed quotes and I am trading like they are real time. Before I opened the account I ask if they provided real time quotes and I was told yes, otherwise I would not have opened the account. I did choose ShareBuilder in preference to some others because they did not have a "we will rip you off whenever we want" agreement to put the whole account at risk. This is not the first time I had problems with them. Some alternative is needed.

by Wayne, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: incompetent poor customer service, unreliable to work with

Customer service is staffed by incompetent people. I placed a sell order above what ShareBuilder showed as the high of the day then after the high was 8 points above my unexecuted order, I tried to complain. First I was told that my 1 minute barchart (from barchart.com) was showing the ask price (when it is showing sales which only occur when ask=bid) then that it had not stayed at my price long enough and since I had a limit order it would not be executed at a better price, then that it had not stayed above my price long enough for them to fill my order (don't they place the orders with an exchange?). After further research, it seems that they are giving me delayed quotes and I am trading like they are real time. Before I opened the account I ask if they provided real time quotes and I was told yes, otherwise I would not have opened the account. I did choose ShareBuilder in preference to some others because they did not have a "we will rip you off whenever we want" agreement to put the whole account at risk. This is not the first time I had problems with them. Some alternative is needed.

by Guest-0845, 11/29/2013

Pros: automatic investments

Cons: high commissions, poor customer service,

I can attest to the reviewer's mention of "Customer service complaints." If you call the Customer Service line, simply be prepared to have the existence of your issue denied (and other less plausible causes of the problem offered). Then several days later you'll get an email confirming your original suspicions, a reimbursement if applicable, and a cheery "Have a great day!"

I checked a lot of ShareBuilder's pages for information about fees so I wasn't surprised about the final charge (after all was said and done and I was reimbursed). However, I WAS initially surprised by the glitch that resulted in me being charged the Basic Plan commissions for my automatic investments even after I purchased the Advantage Pricing Program for immediate use. Of course the fees were returned to my account, but before that Customer Service followed the dismal script I mentioned above (i.e., "There's NO way you purchased that plan - we would know if you did....[3 days later] LOL, oops you were right! Our bust - here's your money back. Sign up again, let's be BFFs!"

As others have said, if you're planning to buy-and-hold then ShareBuilder affords you some nice choices (automatic investments among them). But when it rains, it pours, and if you're looking to get down and dirty with your trading, ShareBuilder could make the whole situation a murky mess.

by Grant, 11/29/2013

Pros: automated deposit and stock purchase, low interest rate

Cons: weak software

We transferred from Scottrade a few years back. I like that the entire deposit and stock purchase can be entirely automated. They withdraw the money Monday morning, and it's ready to trade with come Tuesday with an auto-trade. I also like the fractional shares and drips. $4 auto-trades are amazing, but as noted above you can get auto-trades free fairly often, so paying $9.95 isn't that unreasonable.

Their sweep accounts are FDIC insured and currently pay a interest rate of .5%, which isn't half bad compared to other brokers.

Trading options can be a hassle, but is doable. However, I normally only sell covered calls on even lots I already own, to boost income. I could see if you were doing other options how you could get eaten up in fees, and the software is not so great for options trading. But the account works great for what we want, which is to dollar cost average multiple positions regardless of what the market is doing.

by Grant, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons:

They've since brought about an FDIC insured sweep account that pays about .5%.

by Grant, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons:

Sharebuilder rounds after the ten-thousandth (fourth over) decimal point. We have KO shares with computer share that drips to the millionth decimal point (sixth over), however they charge me 3% of the dividend for that privilege.

So Sharebuilder keeps a few pennies to do this for me, big deal. It's better than being charged a few dollars to capture those extra decimal pints.

by Marvin 69, 11/29/2013

Pros: instant money transfers

Cons: awful execution timing, bad platform, inexperienced customer service, hidden fees

If your going to pay $9.95 per trade, consider changing to ameritrade. They have the best platforms, research and execution timing is great. Sharebuilder does not come one inch close to ameritrade. The $4 per trade is only on Tuesday if you choose auto trade, which you can loose money. Sharebuilder was my first broker and as an inexperienced I noticed the execution timing was awful. Forget about trading penny stocks, they will take your money with hidden fees. I honestly think sharebuilder exist just to discourage new traders, honestly! The only good thing about sharebuilder is transferring your money from your checking account to fund account. So, they can take your money. I do not recommend sharebuilder to anybody.

by jonathan j, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: awful customer service

They were aa nightmare to deal with. complete nightmare. be warned

by Chris E, 11/29/2013

Pros: very quick execution

Cons:

Wayne, in my use, ShareBuilder is usually quick with executions (a few minutes). I think what they mean is that the Automatic Investments happen sometime on Tuesday, and not necessarily first thing in the morning.

by Wayne, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons:

What is meant in the cons by Terrible executions? If slow, how slow? I don't mind 2 minutes but another invester using a different brokerage mentions several hours which would be rediculous.
I spent a lot of time reading the agreements of various brokers and this is the only one I have found that is reasonable.

by lee, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons:

i have a question to ask u, is sharebuilder for a first time user and also doing penny stock investment...

by Chris E, 11/29/2013

Pros: instant money transfers

Cons:

One of the best parts about ShareBuilder is that if you have an ING Savings Account (which pays the highest interest I've seen at .8%) you can do instant transfers between the two.

Very helpful if you want to buy a stock right away but don't feel like waiting for money to clear.

by New Guy, 11/29/2013

Pros: great research tools

Cons: poor trade execution

For Automatic Investment is a great tool. However, if your planning to do day trading or buy and sell in a week, execution is poor. Great research tools if you pay the 12 a month membership.

by Guest, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons:

is the automatic investment truly a good idea or what?

by Guest, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: hidden fees, unreliable company

ING Direct is not user friendly and make online banking/investing a hassle. They will hold your account hostage (transfer of your personal bank funds to ING)where you are not able to use the funds in the ING account. I would not have a direct deposit setup with them due to all the rules and hidden fees connected to doing business with them. One way or another you will pay with your time or lost of your money.

by Guest, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: long-lasting cash operations

When you sell your stock and want to put the cash in your ING checking account, it takes 6 days.

by Moe, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: very high fees

Garbage for small caps. It was my first brokerage account so I was not aware that they are the only ones that charge these fees. 20 trades cost me $2000 in fees. The last trade (last sell to close the account) was $1200 but the fee was $170! Absolutely ridiculous! Their loss in the end- I took my 20 trades a week to Schwab.

by dude, 11/29/2013

Pros:

Cons: very high charge fees

They charge crazy fees if you buy/sell sub penny stocks I was going to sell some and they were going to charge me over $200 for the trade.

by yeah, 11/29/2013

Pros: no fees, user friendly website, super cheap stocks

Cons: long period of money transfer to another bank

I've set up 4 savings accounts, 1 electric orange checking, and a few stock accounts with their Sharebuilder. All these accounts are all linked to each other and the web page is very user friendly. No fees for anything so far.

If you're transferring money from an outside bank account, the only disadvantage is there's like a 2 or 3 day period you have to wait before the funds are available to use. However a direct deposit into your ING acct will be available immediately.

Stocks are super cheap ($4 per trade) as long as you're willing to buy them on Tuesday mornings. If you want an instant trade, its about $9.95

by guest, 11/29/2013

Pros: good for traders

Cons:

If you are a "trader", you can find better brokers.

If you are a "buy and hold" and want to dollar cost average into several dividend paying stocks every week and reinvest the dividends when they pay out, this is your best choice.

The cost to buy with $1 trades with their Automatic Investment Plans allows the idea of individual purchases even as low as in the $100 to $200 range for long term investors to make sense.

If you think like Warren Buffet, and believe that the best time to sell a stock is never, this is probably your least expensive option for those of us with the desire to build a portfolio over time.

by guest, 11/29/2013

Pros: convenient trading conditions

Cons:

So you are saying that for every stocks that pays a dividend that I am losing an upper limit of $0.01 per quarter per equity from truncation at the penny by DRIP reinvesting and this is somehow less beneficial than either taking the dividend in cash (which also truncates at the penny) or paying a $4 transaction fee to reinvest in the equity?

I think the advantage of being able to purchase fractional shares outweighs the limits of full share only DRIP, and then all brokers truncate fractional dividends at the penny.

You can use Sharebuilder to take your dividends in cash payout (truncated to the penny naturally) and then repurchase whole shares with a commission, but even with $1 commissions you will lose against the DRIP.

by guest, 11/22/2011

Pros:

Cons:

If you are a "trader", you can find better brokers.

If you are a "buy and hold" and want to dollar cost average into several dividend paying stocks every week and reinvest the dividends when they pay out, this is your best choice.

The cost to buy with $1 trades with their Automatic Investment Plans allows the idea of individual purchases even as low as in the $100 to $200 range for long term investors to make sense.

If you think like Warren Buffet, and believe that the best time to sell a stock is never, this is probably your least expensive option for those of us with the desire to build a portfolio over time.

Leading U.S. Brokerage Review Websites About Capital One Investing/ShareBuilder

"ShareBuilder offers a good selection of online stock trading services and offers competitive pricing options. The uncluttered trading platform is easy to use, and the mobile apps offer additional convenience. The research section is well organized and provides good insights on investment options. ShareBuilder is a good choice for online stock trading, especially if you are interested in scheduling automatic trades."

TopTenReviews.com

"ShareBuilder is a great fit for investors seeking automatic investment plans, and clients of Capital One 360. It also offers casual investors an easy way to research and trade."

StockBrokers.com

Brokerage reviews from customers/users/consumers. Broker ratings, promotional codes, scam reports/complaints, pros and cons, stocks, options, ETFs, mutual funds trading/invseting commissions/fees for 2017. Consumer opinions and feedback on brokerage services.
CapitalOne Investing/ShareBuilder Customer reviewed by TopRatedFirms.com users. 41 customer reviews. Rating: 3.