Thinkorswim Customer Reviews

Customer's Rating: brokerage firms reviews

Thinkorswim is a part of TD Ameritrade now. Thinkorswim customer reviews: complaints, positive feedback from clients, pros and cons. Is the broker good/safe?

  • Stocks & ETFs: $6.95
  • Options: $6.95 + $0.75 per contract
  • Mutual Funds: $49.99

Minimum to open: $0 for a cash account, $2,000 for an IRA.

More: Thinkorswim review »

Thinkorswim has been rated by Barron"s Magazine as the best online broker. After that it was acquired by TD Ameritrade, and its customers now enjoy all the benefits offered by this huge brokerage company. Thinkorswim, Trade Architect and website-based trading represent three trading platforms of TD Ameritrade.

Thinkorswim Offer

Trade Free for 60 days + Get up to $600. Start Now.

Open Thinkorswim Account

Add your Thinkorswim Customer review

Your Name

 200 max, no html

Your Thinkorswim Customer Rating





Broker Pros

Broker Cons

Thinkorswim Customer Review

Spam will be deleted. No HTML please.


Best Brokerage For IRA


Thinkorswim Customer Reviews

by Chuck, 10/23/2016

Pros:

Cons:

I LOVE ToS! I have been using the software for years, it is definitely the most intense platform I have used. It took me a while to learn the massive amount of features within the software, but come on, the paper account is FREE, no reason not to try it out. Once I got over the learning curve, It was much easier to navigate around and start putting trades on.

I found Sheridan Options Mentoring and started some of their education. Their community is very heavy with ToS users and they have gone WAY past me in their customizations of their platforms. I had no idea just how much customization you can perform in TOS.

I also got access the "Special Sheridan Rate" after joining their education. I am now only paying $1 per contract with no ticket charges! How awesome is that?!?!?

Go check out ToS not TD, ToS. You can download and install the desktop paper trader in 10 minutes, you will dig it!

by SpiritualTrader, 10/23/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Absolutely fantastic! I couldn’t thank Thinkorswim enough. I have some experiance and having their platform with all of its features is totally amazing and has really made my life easier. Now, I can follow trades and get updates when needed. Definitely fits my budget as I learn to trade new thing. My favorite charting and execution software platform so far.

by trs, 9/13/2016

Pros: The Pros are really cons

Cons: Way to much information

I use to have TD's Strategy Desk. Just a simple and intuitive trading platform for the medium to high level stock and option trader. When TOS was purchased several years ago TD buried SD and let it die through attrition finally closing it 8/16. Their Trade Architect is a joke even though they tried to improve it. Kind of a cartoon you would use to teach high school kids about trading

So now I am stuck with a monster platform for stocks plus futures and FX. I don't trade the latter two but if I did I would not want them all globed together on one platform in the guise of "convenience".I think the charts do not measure up but there has been an attempt to pile on a lot of bells and whistles to compensate for the inadequacy. They seem to think that more is better instead of streamlining the trading process. When I call support they admit they think it's a lot more than they personally need and many times I have to call back with the same question because the first rep really didn't have the correct answer I was looking for.

If you like an unnecessarily complicated and cumbersome platform then this would be the pro for you. As stated above they are more cons than pros IMO

by Dennis, 9/3/2016

Pros: None

Cons: Too many to list

I had aTOS account and went with Charles Schwab. There is a 100% improvement. Immediate help 24/7, low commissions, your suggestions are considered and implemented if deemed good, accurate record keeping, free trades at times as a gift.
Always willing to improve the trading experience.
Has constant training classes at their facilities w/free lunch !
Periodic large events at rented facilities with speakers... social events.
I cannot think of anything bad !

by cecilia, 5/25/2016

Pros: good option analytical tool

Cons: platform gets slow over time

The platform constantly gets very slow. I have to call in many times over the years to get it fix. The chat support staff that I deal with today call 'zeppy', is very rude. I can tell he has a bad attitude to start with. He does not want to hear what I said, he has no idea how to solve my problem, and worst of all, he cuts off my short chat session in a rude manner. I had deal with more knowledgeable support staff from thinkorswim on the phone before, and I suspect 'zeppy' is a new remote support from another country.

by Louis Schirm, 12/11/2015

Pros: pretty pictures

Cons: data is usually wrong, constant updates DESTROY your setups

their secondary info added to the charts and tables, like P/E, earnings, dividends et.c are wrong > 40% of the time. Don't trust their data team.

Their frequent updates are always automatically loaded, you have no chance to review the changes, or refuse it. Once loaded you cannot go back to the previous version. Their latest update OBLITERATED months of work developing various setups of charts, screens and other data, based on the stock type being investigated. [You don't compare directly banks to industrials to farmers to startup tech to commodities. ] No recourse to go back to what worked. And their customer service is clueless about support.

It is clear they have a completely incompetent software development manager. they didn't test the most basic function - to be able to read a SETUP file.

I'm DONE with TDAmeritrade. Who do I sue for the damages caused by a free product?

by elliots, 7/7/2015

Pros: great chat rooms, educational offerings, charting tools, scanner

Cons: commissions are on high end

This is the place to go learn stuff. It is not the place to get low commissions. But overall I am a satisfied customer who believes that I paid for the education in higher commissions and got my money's worth.

by Westerntrader, 4/11/2015

Pros: Best Charting

Cons:

They have the best charting and option tools, but pricing is not the best.

by Bgdmanml, 4/8/2015

Pros:

Cons:

Was first introduced to ThinkorSwim through Investools a few years ago. At the time I think ThinkorSwim was a paid service. After a horrible experience with Investools I stepped away from the market and didn't think it was for me. After I found a much better education program I'm back at it and doing well. ThinkorSwim is LOADED with features! Once you get the hang of it you'll love it's ease of navigation and many useful features. Even if using other brokers for cheaper commissions I'd highly recommend ThinkorSwim for charting.

Also, ThinkorSwim is part of TDAmeritrade who has AMAZING customer service!!! I'd rate customer service ten checks if possible. Seriously the best customer service of any company I've ever dealt with, stock market related or not. I actually enjoy phone calls with TD Ameritrade. Whenever I've had an issue they were very prompt at resolving it.

Execution I gave 3 stars because I have had issues with executions but that may be user error. As I open with more brokers the larger I grow my funds I will most likely still use ThinkorSwim for my charting. I see it being hard to beat, especially once you're use to it.

by MedCoordinator, 9/22/2014

Pros:

Cons:

A good platform for long term investors with IRA accounts and option traders. If they cut the prices on commissions just a bit, it might be perfect. Their charts are great to use and customizable for technical traders. The option tools are pretty nice too. They even offer nice squawk feeds in their chat rooms for free. This is not a direct access platform for day traders. This is more like a boutique shop with all of the bells and whistles.

by Dannymandel, 8/12/2014

Pros:

Cons:

Probably the best free trading software around. Very well thought out, intuitive design. The only problem I've ever encountered with it is that sometimes my settings don't save.

by Tom, 2/17/2014

Pros: Auto Trader Accepts US clients

Cons: Long forms to open an account Low leverage

I like that ThinkOrSwim has an autotrader. That’s really their best feature in my opinion. They take a long time to get an account open but once it’s funded trading’s not hard.

Leading U.S. Brokerage Review Websites About Thinkorswim

"thinkorswim is a fun service to use, with great mobile options. The fee schedule can get a bit confusing. But once you figure it out, you can choose the option that is best for you. We like the variety of mobile apps and that there is live chat support for accounts, trading and technical support. We like thinkorswim’s casual approach to trading. This broker offers serious tools and good information in a non-stuffy manner."

TopTenReviews.com

Brokerage reviews from customers/users/consumers. Broker ratings, promotional codes, scam reports/complaints, pros and cons, stocks, options, ETFs, mutual funds trading/invseting commissions/fees for 2017. Consumer opinions and feedback on brokerage services.
Thinkorswim Customer reviewed by TopRatedFirms.com users. 12 customer reviews. Rating: 3.