Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews

Ally Invest customer reviews, complaints, ratings, service pros and cons. Is Ally brokerage safe and good investment company to open an account?

Ally Expert Review

Ally Invest Review »

Promotion Offer

Up to $3,500 cash bonus + $0 trades + transfer fee rebate.

Open Ally Invest Account

Ally Invest Customer Reviews

by MarMar, 6/22/2020

Pros: Great service

Cons: just a little glitch

I love ally they make everything just so much easier when I had a problem with a deposit a customer service guy named Robert helped me out a lot, my only issue was I didn’t see the conversation until 2 hours later I don’t blame it on Robert or ally necessarily, more of the fact that the app was a little weird and I didn’t give Robert the full 5 stars he deserves because I didn’t see the conversation until after I submitted my review. All their customer services people are awesome and make everything so understandable. 5 stars on everything and thanks Robert

by Matt, 6/12/2020

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Website is useless

I had a stock got split and could not trade for a day because of "PRESPLIT". Even next day, I could not trade and message was saying I had to call them to trade. I had an exactly the same stock at other bank and they let me trade the stock right away and no issues whatsoever. And also, their website is really slow and goes down often. Completely useless.

by Rod, 6/8/2020

Pros: No commissions

Cons: Slow at times

Have been with Ally since they were TradeKing. They have been good for my portfolio.

by BudgetMaster, 6/5/2020

Pros: Love them to bank and invest!

Cons:

I’ve been saving online with Ally for a couple years now - using them for a savings account was a no brainer. But I DID use the ole brain to decide who to go with for my first foray into the stock market. I read up on best apps for beginners, pros and cons of several different platforms, etc, and decided to go with Ally - ultimately the fact that I already banked with them gave an extra ‘pro’ to them on the list, in addition to charging NO commission and NO trading fees, which seemed basically unheard of on most other apps I looked into. I’ve had my investment account open for most of this month and it’s been a really easy, unscary process (as Unscary as the stock market can be, anyway.) I used them to buy a handful of specific stocks I decided on after tracking those stocks for a year and researching them, and I plan to use this account to grow my money towards retirement, investing a modest amount each year (not to actively trade, and not to quickly grow funds that I then want to immediately use). So my experience based on that goal has been really great!

by mgwatt, 5/23/2020

Pros: Best Bank thus far

Cons:

I’ve been with Ally for several years now. I have a checking and savings account with them. Even when I couldn’t find a bank to finance my car loan, Ally was the only one to trust me with a car loan. I paid off that car with no issues from Ally. I would recommend Ally to everyone that I know.

I realized recently how great they are. I had not used my account for over a year, probably a year and a half. So, when I called them the other day, to my surprise, my account was still open and ready to use! Amazing!!! And their live customer support is the best!

I’m seeing negative comments here, but why would you use a bank for stock investments? Maybe if you are having issues with Ally’s investment program, try using companies that focus just on that, and come back to Ally once they have mastered that option. It seems that their stock investment program may need some updating, but don’t write them off just because you’ve had issues. Ally is still a great bank option.

by Danial Jackson, 4/18/2020

Pros: Outstanding Investment and Banking Platform

Cons:

I moved my money over to Ally because I liked the ability to easily create additional checking and savings custodian accounts for my kids all manageable from one place. Each with their own debit cards and free checks! + Found a really neat savings feature called buckets to help save for specific goals.

Noticed they offered an integrated investment platform and so I opened one just to test the waters. This ended up being one of my favorite features. My money is transferable from any Ally checking or savings accounts IMMEDIATELY (as in only seconds to process) great if a last minute opportunity develops.

The platform has been 100% responsive and reliable executing trades of both stocks and options. They allow you to sell short or buy long, and offer a good research platform. There are API integration features to enable other custom platforms and rich detailed market data.

Best of all great 24/7 customer support that is both responsive and provided by real humans. Have an issue and they have your back, it exceeded my expectations by far when compared to other banks and trading platforms.

Oh yeah as another big plus 9 times out of 10 they have the highest interest rates available out there on the savings accounts! While none of us are planing to get rich on interest it’s nice to have my cash value savings keep up with inflation, and get that nice compound interest as it sits safely.

A+ 5 star from me

by Morgan, 1/27/2020

Pros: Cheap, easy to use when working

Cons: A lot of serious bugs

Says I had 10x the gain that I actually did one day. Said the money in my account was worth zero the next day, despite the individual stocks listed having value.

by Sheena243, 1/15/2020

Pros: Need to see trade history

Cons:

The Ally Invest portion of the app needs some improvements. I would like to be able to see a history of trades that have been made and the gain or loss on those through the app.

The app also is unable to shrink or fit font in a good way if you have text enlarged across the phone. So it looks bad with parts of the figures disappearing or overlapping. Needs a more professional and smoother look.

In short, the app is useful for a current snapshot of holdings. But if you get an alert that you just made a trade ... going to the app is highly frustrating as you realize you don’t have the ability to see what just happened.

by Jack Mac, 1/3/2020

Pros: cheap

Cons: trading platform is useless

The Ally trading platform is extremely convoluted, bloated and slow.
I stopped using Ally after I made a simple options trade. I could find no way to set a stop or limit on the options once I had bought them, and ended up having to get a live broker to close the trade at market.
Their platform is garbage and is in no way efficient for any trader, amateur or otherwise.
Ally has made no attempts to fix their platform.
I'm finished with them.

by Paul, 11/26/2019

Pros: Cheap although they are all cheap now

Cons: Website is Horrible

Slow website. Quotes take forever to load. Same response from customer service. No fix in months. Suggest their
IT staff upgrade their servers.

by ace, 9/23/2019

Pros: cheap

Cons: done

screwed up my holding screen. the price I bought is couple dollars off than what it shows. called them up and took like 10mins to place an order and the price I wanted had change 5 times in that difference. soon Im gonna pull out all my money out. if you cant do let ur customers do online orders, don't call yourself an online broker.

by Robert, 6/21/2019

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Website is slow. Tools are poor. Not for active trading.

Website is horribly slow, charting tools are poor in comparison to other brokerages. Ally is definitely not made for an active trader. Today their option information won't update and trades are not executing. I came from TradeKing and the dissatisfaction has been growing continually. I have been hesitating on moving to another broker because ally is cheap and the hassle of moving the funds, but that is no longer going to keep me here. I have been using tools from other more robust brokerages anyway, might as well use them for trading.

by Jessica, 3/4/2019

Pros: Cheap mutual funds commissions and many mutual funds to choose from

Cons:

I'm a conservative investor and I only buy index mutual funds on Ally in my IRA account. The price is 10 dollars which is much less than 50 dollars at Fidelity and other companies. All funds that I wanted to buy were available. Can't fault their service so far.

by Andrew, 2/27/2019

Pros: Great pricing, best banking rates and easy to use

Cons:

I've been with Ally Invest for 8 years - since they were called Zecco. Their tools are very intuitive and when they add another feature I learn it in no time. What I like the most are their TOP rates on savings and CDs. No bank pays higher interest and most banks have rates 10 times lower! It adds up to a nice amount over the years.

And when I see a stock I like at a price I like it's fast and easy to move money from Ally's savings to their investment account.

by Sam, 10/15/2018

Pros: Cost, website, ease of use

Cons: Nothing

I have been Ally Invest customer since it was Zecco and TradeKing. They always have had low commissions and beautiful website. Investing with them is easy and hassle free - and I know since I have a bunch of other brokerage accounts. There are some complaints about Ally Invest below but every broker has those and it is only a few people out of 600,000 customers or so.

by Joe P, 8/21/2018

Pros: Great trading fee

Cons: Worst trading site and services

The site hangs once the page loads, there is no trade alert system, transfer is still paper based and worst mobile experience.

by Rob K, 8/6/2018

Pros: Very easy to use free dividend reinvestment

Cons: Non

Good customer service. Low fees.

by Tim S, 7/16/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Glitchy Software, Poor Customer Service

Company was great, I had an account with both Zecco and Tradeking for years and never had many issues. But since the company was taken over by Ally it's just been all downhill...

Apparently according to ally, a trailing stop at 25 cents means SELL NOW
Boy was I pissed! And when I called customer service, the agent I spoke to said she would talk to her supervisor about how to handle the situation and call me back. Did I ever get a call back? Take a wild guess...

Further, I have on several occasions tried to withdraw funds by a certain date, only to find 4-5 days later, that my funds are still exactly where they've been. Sitting in this junk broker's bank. I check the status of the transfer request "processed" it says. Oh really? I thought "processed" meant that the order actually went through, and according to their website should only take at the most "48" hours.

Thank God I haven't needed the money immediately enough that I missed any payments when I needed a little extra funding from my investment account, but the fact of the matter is, this is a 100% real possibility! Ally -SERIOUSLY- SUCKS!!!

by Anders, 6/27/2018

Pros: inexpensive, i e do-it-yourself

Cons: often a 10 min wait to speak to a person

online is fine, but there are glitches and breakdowns (often at inconvenient times!). Those might be the times when you'd like to speak to a live person - like everyone else. So be prepared to wait. Or fugeddaboudit. And DO print out your statements. With all the numbers, username and passwords! the "cloud" might be a windblown site in Finland.

by Newbie, 5/13/2018

Pros: Cheap, easy to learn, good on the eyes

Cons: I'm looking

Opened account with Ally a couple weeks ago. Can figure out everything pretty quickly, though have not seen some advanced tools. The website is easy on the eyes. Called customer support - nice people. Will keep you updated.

by David, 5/11/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Broken since they took over tradeking.

I was a happy tradeking customer for years, trading bonds.
Since ally took over it has been nothing but headaches.. difficulty logging in, valid trades being denied and recently I couldn't even sell bonds on-line at all because of some bug and I would have to waste time calling them on the phone which goes against the whole purpose of online broker services.

Ally seems to be way over their heads in the investing realm.
I'm in the process of transferring out my account since i've had enough dealing with them.

by egreen, 5/3/2018

Pros: low cost

Cons: customer service / expensive to terminate or transfer away

Could not get paper statement fee removed online or through customer service. Be ready to shed out the cash if you ever transfer your accounts to a new brokerage

by Jake, 5/3/2018

Pros: low commissions, great promo, easy to learn

Cons: none

Pretty new with Ally - so far so good. Opened account because of promo offer and good pricing. Bought some funds and a couple of stocks. No complaints.

by Tim, 4/11/2018

Pros: Low Cost and love the comparison of stocks feature.

Cons: I really have no cons and have been with them for years Tradeking/Ally

I really like the chart platform.The comparison of stocks in stock charts I find VERY useful. I greatly prefer ALLY to Ameritrade and Scottrade. I will check and follow stocks in Ally and then sometimes trade in Ameritrade. I had my IRA with Scottrade now Ameritrade. I have made some mistakes with Ameritrade. It was my fault but it is not as intuitive to me. Seems my experiences are different but to be fair I think they do well. I have only once had a problem with the them being down.

by Rich, 2/28/2018

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Website frequently goes down

If you need help you'll spend a lot of time on hold. For years now they have been unable to keep their webpage running. It crashes when web traffic is heavy. They've never tried to fix it.

by Lo Mein, 2/20/2018

Pros: $0 minimum account

Cons: terrible customer service

Ally is terrible when it come to transferring money. Ally invest will hold your money for long periods of time . Ally can also put a hold on your account locking YOUR money down for up to 60 days. I am currently in the process of switching brokers. In my opinion, seek other brokerage alternatives before dumping your money into an Ally Invest account because you may not be able to transfer your money back into your bank account as quickly as they accepted your cash deposit if you change your mind about using Ally services.

by John, 2/16/2018

Pros: - Online format

Cons: - Poor customer service and directions

Such difficulty in getting money to transfer from my Ally Bank to Ally Invest account - would recommend a different manner of funding accounts

by Bin, 2/14/2018

Pros: NA

Cons: Dishonest Practice, Extremely poor customer service

Opened this account due to a 2017 promotion, met all advertised conditions but the company refused to honor the cash bonus offer. Cannot escalate through reps. Very poor customer services. Stay away from this company. Ally Online Savings has good customer services but seemingly the trade branch (TradeKing) is totally different.

by Artur, 2/3/2018

Pros: Low commissions and fees. Easy to use.

Cons: No advanced trading platform.

Been with them since 2008 when they were called TradeKing. Always low rates, always adding new features. Now I'm also get the highest online bank accounts rates from Ally Bank.



Webull

Add Your Ally Invest Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.


Open Account

Up to $3,500 cash bonus + $0 trades + transfer fee rebate.

Open Ally Invest Account

Leading Brokerage Reviews Websites About Ally Invest


"Ally Invest's non-tiered rates and uncomplicated pricing make it a good value among online stock brokers. You also get useful research information and analytical tools, and you have access to educational resources and customer service if you need it. With Ally Invest's strong trading and investment tools, you can analyze your options carefully and then execute with precision."

TopTen Reviews

"Ally Invest has great pricing, great customer service, helpful online training, and adequate mobile integration. For a trader who needs low cost, and no hidden fees – Ally Invest is hard to beat."

Investor Junkie


Ally brokerage customer reviews

Continue Reading


Ally Invest Account

  • Stocks & ETFs: $0
  • Options: $0.50 per contract
  • Mutual Funds: $9.95
Minimum to open: $0 for a cash account, $0 for an IRA.

Formed by the merger of three online brokers, TradeKing, MB Trading and Zecco, Ally Invest has become one of the largest discount brokerage in the United States. When the merger was completed in December 2012, the new company had $2.6 billion in total client assets under management and over 500,000 active accounts. These numbers have been growing consistently since then. Lately TradeKing has been acquired by Ally Financial and renamed Ally Invest.

A low investing price and lack of IRA fees are the main advantages of Ally Invest. If you are new to retirement investing, Ally Invest is a good start. The broker can be perfect for those people who consider opening a second IRA or rolling over a 401(K). A number of mutual funds provided by a broker and its cost are often considered as one of the main criteria for choosing a company for opening a retirement account. Ally Invest has a lot to offer in this department. The brokerage offers over 12,000 US-based load and no-load mutual funds and one of the lowest commissions, which are only $9.95 to buy or to sell.

In addition, all Ally Invest IRA account holders can take advantage of the broker's free dividend reinvestment plans to increase their savings potentially. The biggest Ally Invest complaint is absense of a professional trading platform.

Continue Reading

Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.