Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews


Ally Invest customer reviews, complaints, ratings, brokerage service pros and cons. Is Ally Invest safe and good investment company to open an account?

Ally Invest Review

Ally Invest Review »

Promotion Offer

Up to $3,500 cash bonus + commission free trades for new accounts.

Open Ally Invest Account

Ally Invest Customer Reviews

by betty, 4/18/2019

Pros: promos

Cons: slow website, horrible customer service

I have been an Ally Invest customer for a year. The website always is incredibly slow to load. I have called customer service just two times and this last time it took three different people who put me on hold for a total of TWO HOURS to answer ONE simple question! Very difficult to open an Ally Savings account and transferring funds between Ally Savings and Ally Invest is nearly impossible! I am switching brokers ASAP!! Tired all all the WAITING and customer service that seems to have no clue!!!!!

by Jessica, 3/4/2019

Pros: Cheap mutual funds commissions and many mutual funds to choose from

Cons:

I'm a conservative investor and I only buy index mutual funds on Ally in my IRA account. The price is 10 dollars which is much less than 50 dollars at Fidelity and other companies. All funds that I wanted to buy were available. Can't fault their service so far.

by Andrew, 2/27/2019

Pros: Great pricing, best banking rates and easy to use

Cons:

I've been with Ally Invest for 8 years - since they were called Zecco. Their tools are very intuitive and when they add another feature I learn it in no time. What I like the most are their TOP rates on savings and CDs. No bank pays higher interest and most banks have rates 10 times lower! It adds up to a nice amount over the years.

And when I see a stock I like at a price I like it's fast and easy to move money from Ally's savings to their investment account.

by Thomas, 11/8/2018

Pros: Established Company, Low Trading fee

Cons: Poor Trading Website

The online trading platform is just plain slow. Response time is in the minutes to unresponsive range. I opened another brokerage platform at the same time to compare and the other brokerage site is fine. I just can't work with Ally's trading platform.

by Sam, 10/15/2018

Pros: Cost, website, ease of use

Cons: Nothing

I have been Ally Invest customer since it was Zecco and TradeKing. They always have had low commissions and beautiful website. Investing with them is easy and hassle free - and I know since I have a bunch of other brokerage accounts. There are some complaints about Ally Invest below but every broker has those and it is only a few people out of 600,000 customers or so.

by Sandy, 9/5/2018

Pros: CHEAP TRANSACTION FEE

Cons: INACCURATE INFORMATION POSTED

I am a person who kept my account from Tradeking. I have been noticing inaccurate information multiple times but never complained till today. The dividend info was totally wrong and I processed my trade based on that accurate info with a loss. After checking Nasdaq , I called Ally and complained about the inaccuracy. Basically, the answer was that the information was fed from the 3rd party so they are not responsible about the trade, and it is in the disclaimer statement. My loss is not big but I lost the trust in that attitude. Even more cost, I think it is worthy to use the trustworthy service. The web site also somehow easily cause an overlooking and causing unintended duplicate trading which happened multiple times in the past to me when preset the trade at the certain price. When the business was changed from Tradeking to Ally, I thought they need time to adjust, but it has been quite time passed by now. I am thinking to look for a different company to move money in near future.

by Joe P, 8/21/2018

Pros: Great trading fee

Cons: Worst trading site and services

The site hangs once the page loads, there is no trade alert system, transfer is still paper based and worst mobile experience.

by Rob K, 8/6/2018

Pros: Very easy to use free dividend reinvestment

Cons: Non

Good customer service. Low fees.

by Tim S, 7/16/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Glitchy Software, Poor Customer Service

Company was great, I had an account with both Zecco and Tradeking for years and never had many issues. But since the company was taken over by Ally it's just been all downhill...

Apparently according to ally, a trailing stop at 25 cents means SELL NOW
Boy was I pissed! And when I called customer service, the agent I spoke to said she would talk to her supervisor about how to handle the situation and call me back. Did I ever get a call back? Take a wild guess...

Further, I have on several occasions tried to withdraw funds by a certain date, only to find 4-5 days later, that my funds are still exactly where they've been. Sitting in this junk broker's bank. I check the status of the transfer request "processed" it says. Oh really? I thought "processed" meant that the order actually went through, and according to their website should only take at the most "48" hours.

Thank God I haven't needed the money immediately enough that I missed any payments when I needed a little extra funding from my investment account, but the fact of the matter is, this is a 100% real possibility! Ally -SERIOUSLY- SUCKS!!!

by Anders, 6/27/2018

Pros: inexpensive, i e do-it-yourself

Cons: often a 10 min wait to speak to a person

online is fine, but there are glitches and breakdowns (often at inconvenient times!). Those might be the times when you'd like to speak to a live person - like everyone else. So be prepared to wait. Or fugeddaboudit. And DO print out your statements. With all the numbers, username and passwords! the "cloud" might be a windblown site in Finland.

by Michael, 6/6/2018

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Bad Executions, Poor Access to Data

Ally will put a 60-day hold on all ACH transfers into the account. Other online brokerage firms do not do this, and it is simply annoying. The main reason I am leaving Ally, however, is because perfectly valid orders get denied with no explanation. This flaw has the potential to be very expensive for an investor.

by Newbie, 5/13/2018

Pros: Cheap, easy to learn, good on the eyes

Cons: I'm looking

Opened account with Ally a couple weeks ago. Can figure out everything pretty quickly, though have not seen some advanced tools. The website is easy on the eyes. Called customer support - nice people. Will keep you updated.

by David, 5/11/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Broken since they took over tradeking.

I was a happy tradeking customer for years, trading bonds.
Since ally took over it has been nothing but headaches.. difficulty logging in, valid trades being denied and recently I couldn't even sell bonds on-line at all because of some bug and I would have to waste time calling them on the phone which goes against the whole purpose of online broker services.

Ally seems to be way over their heads in the investing realm.
I'm in the process of transferring out my account since i've had enough dealing with them.

by egreen, 5/3/2018

Pros: low cost

Cons: customer service / expensive to terminate or transfer away

Could not get paper statement fee removed online or through customer service. Be ready to shed out the cash if you ever transfer your accounts to a new brokerage

by Jake, 5/3/2018

Pros: low commissions, great promo, easy to learn

Cons: none

Pretty new with Ally - so far so good. Opened account because of promo offer and good pricing. Bought some funds and a couple of stocks. No complaints.

by Tim, 4/11/2018

Pros: Low Cost and love the comparison of stocks feature.

Cons: I really have no cons and have been with them for years Tradeking/Ally

I really like the chart platform.The comparison of stocks in stock charts I find VERY useful. I greatly prefer ALLY to Ameritrade and Scottrade. I will check and follow stocks in Ally and then sometimes trade in Ameritrade. I had my IRA with Scottrade now Ameritrade. I have made some mistakes with Ameritrade. It was my fault but it is not as intuitive to me. Seems my experiences are different but to be fair I think they do well. I have only once had a problem with the them being down.

by Rich, 2/28/2018

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Website frequently goes down

If you need help you'll spend a lot of time on hold. For years now they have been unable to keep their webpage running. It crashes when web traffic is heavy. They've never tried to fix it.

by Lo Mein, 2/20/2018

Pros: $0 minimum account

Cons: terrible customer service

Ally is terrible when it come to transferring money. Ally invest will hold your money for long periods of time . Ally can also put a hold on your account locking YOUR money down for up to 60 days. I am currently in the process of switching brokers. In my opinion, seek other brokerage alternatives before dumping your money into an Ally Invest account because you may not be able to transfer your money back into your bank account as quickly as they accepted your cash deposit if you change your mind about using Ally services.

by John, 2/16/2018

Pros: - Online format

Cons: - Poor customer service and directions

Such difficulty in getting money to transfer from my Ally Bank to Ally Invest account - would recommend a different manner of funding accounts

by Bin, 2/14/2018

Pros: NA

Cons: Dishonest Practice, Extremely poor customer service

Opened this account due to a 2017 promotion, met all advertised conditions but the company refused to honor the cash bonus offer. Cannot escalate through reps. Very poor customer services. Stay away from this company. Ally Online Savings has good customer services but seemingly the trade branch (TradeKing) is totally different.

by Artur, 2/3/2018

Pros: Low commissions and fees. Easy to use.

Cons: No advanced trading platform.

Been with them since 2008 when they were called TradeKing. Always low rates, always adding new features. Now I'm also get the highest online bank accounts rates from Ally Bank.



Firstrade

Add Your Ally Invest Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.



Open Account

Up to $3,500 cash bonus + commission free trades for new accounts.

Open Ally Invest Account

Leading Brokerage Reviews Websites About Ally Invest


"Ally Invest's non-tiered rates and uncomplicated pricing make it a good value among online stock brokers. You also get useful research information and analytical tools, and you have access to educational resources and customer service if you need it. With Ally Invest's strong trading and investment tools, you can analyze your options carefully and then execute with precision."

TopTen Reviews

"Ally Invest has great pricing, great customer service, helpful online training, and adequate mobile integration. For a trader who needs low cost, and no hidden fees – Ally Invest is hard to beat."

Investor Junkie

Continue Reading


Ally Invest Account

  • Stocks & ETFs: $4.95 ($3.95 if 30+ trades in 90 days or $100K account balances)
  • Options: $4.95 + $0.65 per contract ($3.95 + $0.50 per contract for 30+ trades in 90 days or $100K account balances)
  • Mutual Funds: $9.95
Minimum to open: $0 for a cash account, $0 for an IRA.

Formed by the merger of three online brokers, TradeKing, MB Trading and Zecco, TradeKing has become one of the largest discount brokerage in the United States. When the merger was completed in December 2012, the new company had $2.6 billion in total client assets under management and over 500,000 active accounts. These numbers have been growing consistently since then. Lately TradeKing has been acquired by Ally Financial and renamed Ally Invest.

A low investing price and lack of IRA fees are the main advantages of Ally Invest. If you are new to retirement investing, Ally Invest is a good start. The broker can be perfect for those people who consider opening a second IRA or rolling over a 401(K). A number of mutual funds provided by a broker and its cost are often considered as one of the main criteria for choosing a company for opening a retirement account. Ally Invest has a lot to offer in this department. The brokerage offers over 12,000 US-based load and no-load mutual funds and one of the lowest commissions, which are only $9.95 to buy or to sell.

In addition, all Ally Invest IRA account holders can take advantage of the broker's free dividend reinvestment plans to increase their savings potentially.

Continue Reading


Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.

Ally Invest reviewed by former and current clients. Ally Invest customer reviews: 21. Rating: 3.