Ameriprise Financial Review

Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews


Ameriprise Financial customer reviews and ratings. Brokerage account pros and cons, advisor complaints, investment planning services rating. Is Ameriprise good and safe firm?

Brokers List

Brokerage Firms List »

Broker Promotions

Top Broker Promotions »


Ameriprise Financial Reviews

by Niles, 5/14/2019

Pros:

Cons: Clunky website - not great returns

I have 1% of my total retirement income invested with Ameriprise - and apparently that is 1% too much. I have *never* had as many problems with my other retirement accounts simply navigating the websites or transferring funds into my accounts. I am constantly locked out and then have to go through the automated phone option hell to try and get things resolved. Returns on my accounts have been nominal. I would rather skip all of this hassle and go with another firm.

by John B, 3/23/2019

Pros: Some local brokers are OK.

Cons: Mine never contacted me except to meet their minimum regulatory requirements.

I tried to close my account; Three times I submitted exactly what they asked for. I got "rejected" twice; the third time, they just ignored me. I have had to hire legal counsel to sue them to get my money out. Stay away.

by jckiowa, 3/15/2019

Pros: None

Cons: They failed to file properly with IRS, so we got a 39,000 tax bill!

In 2015 we consolidated all of our retirement accounts with one firm. No problems, until we tried to rollover our Ameriprise IRA. Took months of form filling, phone calls, their irrational demands for certain signatures, etc. Our new firm kept at them, and we finally received our funds. Thought we were finished with them until last December, 2018,, when we received a tax notice from the IRS for $39,000! Turns out Ameriprise had incorrectly filed the information with the IRS, and they thought we had cashed in the IRA rather than rolling it over. Luckily our new management firm had all the paperwork, which we submitted to the IRS. It took until last week to get an "all clear" from the IRS. Imagine getting a bill like that two days before Christmas!
Do not invest a dime with these inept people. Reading these complaints should be fair warning. If the company you work for employs them to manage your retirement funds, demand a change or an alternate firm.

by Nadia, 3/7/2019

Pros: Friendly and available

Cons: Bad or no advice, sold me inappropriate products

High fees for a one time financial plan that was not appropriate - was new to investment at the time and that’s why I had hired them
Bad advice for mutual funds that ended up losing me money
High annual fees and $250 dollar closing fee!!
I’ll never come back this was horrible

by DM2060, 2/19/2019

Pros: My Financial advisor always returned my calls within hours. 24 call return was rare. I never had a problem. I always dealt with the same person.

Cons:

Ameriprise Financial did not always have the biggest returns. The last 10 years were a rough time to move ahead with investments. I found slow positive movement even during the market crash in the 2008-2009 period. Whether I could have done better could have depended on educating myself with different investment vehicles, costs etc. JD Power rates Ameriprise # 12, not too impressive and I will seriously consider other options, But I haven't had the negative experiences other customers have had.

by Tim O, 2/18/2019

Pros: None, I'd have them given zero stars if it were an option

Cons: Recomend high cost investments, Significantly below market gains in great years, Significantly above market loses in bad years, Invest with their fees in mind, not investment return or the client, Excessive closure fees, but hey I'm done with them

Stay away from Ameriprise unless you need to either lose money or make way less investment return than the rest of the world. Out of 3 brokers spanning 15 years, only one was a decent advisor, the other two were in it to win it for their wallets. Yes I was with them way too long and no excuse but laziness on my part. Don't make my mistake!!!

by Gail Rosen, 2/12/2019

Pros: NONE

Cons: Broker Gavin Bobo sold my elderly mother annuities inside of her IRA, whicih is not advisable. Did not explain to her what they were and used high pressure sales tactics. He has since been fired from PNC.

Broker Gavin Bobo sold my elderly mother annuity products inside of her IRA. She did not understand what he was selling her. He did not explain to her what they were and used high pressure sales tactics. He has since been fired from PNC.

by Cindy C, 1/13/2019

Pros: Good Communication, investments conservative but competitive, always friendly

Cons: Need to explain their fees better and their statements are a nightmare, need an overhaul.

**

by Todd, 12/29/2018

Pros: Good spring water

Cons: Consultants are clueless

Immediately lost $40K in the stock market against my objections. When I tried to withdraw my money they told me it will take up to ten days to close my account and corporate will not wire my money to my checking account. I’m sorry I ever stepped foot in that place.

by Michael, 9/26/2018

Pros: Can't think of any

Cons: Overcharge clients

In my opinion, they overcharge for financial plans beyond excessively. My current firm charges a ONE-TIME financial planning fee of $500, has WAY better presentations, and I get unlimited service and review meetings for life. My Ameriprise plan was $1200 per year, it took my adviser approximately 10 minutes to generate, and I paid that EVERY YEAR at my ONE annual meeting. It's all about making money for their shareholders. When I called Ameriprise I could barely reach an assistant and my adviser rarely called me back without several reminders. It's mostly proprietary products and the account trading and closing fees are excessive!

by Carol G, 9/19/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Not trustworthy and not transparent

I had an account with them years ago - my "adviser" was ALWAYS late for our meetings. I finally got fed up and closed my accounts - or so I thought. They kept an account open and charged me maintenance fees - with no disclosures about those fees.

I recently called them because my "adviser" sent me an email and told me I now had a new adviser. I called to tell them to quit bugging me and found out I had $635.00 in a "dead" account. I then found out that it was initially over $1000.00 in that "dead" account, but they had been charging me quarterly "maintenance fees"... for a dead account.

I complained and wanted all of those "fee" charges back, but of course, they denied that. I know I have no chance in getting back the money they stole from my account; however, I do have the satisfaction of knowing I have already gotten 4 of my friends to leave them, and have prevented many co-workers from getting involved with that scammimg company....

by D. Shumate, 9/4/2018

Pros: Zero

Cons: Excessive & Surprise Fees / Resistant to Transfers

Trying to break ties with AMEX. Had to call and demand transfer of my funds to another firm because they wouldn’t act on the request. Agent was hostile, demeaning and rude but I got the bulk of my funds out.

I am still trying to rollover a Roth IRA, which they have found one reason after another to deny. The last request was denied because the said they did not like the format of the account number. This has been going on for months. However, I will get my money from them. It is MY money.

Investors beware of preditory practices.

by Happy, 8/26/2018

Pros:

Cons:

Truly about who your broker is and not about the company, though Ameriprise is quite large, and has a number of solutions, must have the right rep to give the best recommendations.

by ben dover, 8/8/2018

Pros: none

Cons: website and customer service

Just bend over and grab your ankles because they will give you the shaft

by Carl, 6/15/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Horrible customer service, no accountability

Avoid Ameriprise. I dealt with the Providence, RI office and Ray Arruda (CFP, Financial Advisor) and Jacqueline Fortin made dealing with transferring money out and closing the account so much more stressful and difficult than it needed to be. When the financial advisor and his assistant both failed to help me, I forwarded all the details to the Ameriprise Corporate Officers for help...they did not even bother to reply. Here's the short list...they don't return phone calls or emails, they don't address your concerns or answer questions. Their only concern seems to be making money for themselves... their clients do not seem to matter to them. As an attorney, I recommend to all my clients to avoid risk whenever possible. Avoid Ray Arruda, Jacqueline Fortin, and Ameriprise to avoid unnecessary stress and expense. Just do a few minutes of research online and also take a look at the SEC charges and penalties levied against Ameriprise for more detail on their behavior.

by Philip, 5/29/2018

Pros: none

Cons: Poor communication

Poor advice. Poor follow through. Better to give my three year old my money and have her throw it out the window while riding in the car. Jake , smooth talk, no action.

by Liz, 5/18/2018

Pros: Friendly advisors

Cons: yearly fees, requirements to consult financial advisor before trading, lack of knowledge of tax laws

I inherited an IRA from my grandma that was at Ameriprise. It was in bonds, and I wanted to move it to an index fund, so I called and asked how to move it. The representative couldn't give me a list of S&P 500 index funds they offer unless I set up an appointment with a financial advisor. Next I asked for him to calculate my Required Minimum Distribution (RMD) from the IRA. He said the home office doesn't calculate RMDs. I talked to another Ameriprise rep who told me I had no RMD until 2025 because of my age. I have another inherited IRA at Fidelity, so I knew they were wrong. I called again and got a third rep who told me I had no RMD. On the fourth try I got someone to correctly calculate my 2018 RMD, but I was not looking forward to more time on the phone with financial advisors for tasks that I can do myself online at Vanguard. Plus, Ameriprise charges $75 yearly fees just to keep the account open, so I decided to move the money to Vanguard. I read that Ameriprise used to require a medallion signature to move your account, but luckily they cooperated with Vanguard with a regular signature. My grandma didn't have a computer, so maybe Ameriprise serves a purpose for older folks who are willing to pay fees in order to work with financial advisors over the phone.

by Jimmy, 4/10/2018

Pros: Home office rated -99

Cons:

Worst customer service. Had problem with calleer id. Amerprise innformed me it was my phone carrier. Contacted my phone carrier and was told there was nothing wrong with my account and that is was Ameriprise carrier. My phone carrier has to tell Ameriprise how to fix the problem. Spent about 2 to 3 hours of my time to fix their problem.

by Kristi U, 3/26/2018

Pros: None

Cons: High Fees, bad advice, and difficult to make changes

I have used Ameriprise for 3 years and they have constantly steered me towards the investments that make the most money for the advisory. There are hidden fees, the advisers don't respond to questions and they make it almost impossible to get your money out and then charge you high fees to do so.

by Jerry Floren, 3/12/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Fees too high. Main office cannot make simple fund transfers in a timely manner. Frustrating phone tree.

All I wanted to do was transfer my IRA funds from Ameriprise into my primary work IRA account. This should have only required a form, which I filled out correctly. However, Ameriprise did not follow the simple instructions in the cover letter accompanying the form. This led to me calling Ameriprise five times with each call averaging 30 minutes,. There also was $131.00 in transfer fees. This seems excessive for a transfer taking over a month to complete. I had another IRA transferred from a bank to my work IRA account. This transfer was accomplished with just the form, it only took a few days, and there was no fee to transfer the funds.

Since my experience, I have read a number of reviews about Ameriprise, and my experience is typical. It is difficult to transfer funds, and their earnings greatly under-perform earnings from many other institutions.

by Anonymous, 2/24/2018

Pros: The broker is the worst

Cons: The broker is the worst

I was a full time employee at the Glendale, CA location.

I have had plenty of full-time jobs and in different industries. This was by far the worst ever.

My boss/the broker was a narcissist who played favorites. My coworker was a real jerk who was always late, always disrespectful, and always obnoxious. My boss didn’t care. She was a very poor manager.

When I got sick and had to take medical leave, she fired me. If you’re looking for job security and consistency, you won’t find it at the Glendale, CA location.

You will work overtime and not get paid.

You will get fired if you get sick. And I don’t mean a simple doctors note. I mean, real, legitimate medical issues where the state certifies it as well.

The lady/the broker that has posted an assistant/operations manager position is someone with no conscience. She is the boss that I worked for. My job is now available because she can’t control her emotions. She will fire you just because you are on medical leave and because she “has a nervous breakdown,” which will be at least twice a week. Good luck dealing with her and her uncontrollable emotions.

I wouldn’t recommend even my worst enemy to work at the Glendale, CA location. It’s no wonder she is losing her clients on a daily basis. They can tell what a shipwreck she is.

And good luck dealing with the coworker you will be sharing a room with. When I say he is obnoxious, rude, and psychotic, trust me there words are nothing. My description is an understatement. He is the worst coworker ever, who will break all boundaries and to be honest is in many ways the reason her clients are leaving on a daily basis. Unfortunately for her, she doesn’t yet know who the real problem is. She thought that by firing me she would feel relaxed, but she doesn’t know the real devil is still working for her.

Good luck to anyone who thinks they can work at the Glendale, CA location. Only two employees working there.

by Steve, 2/8/2018

Pros: Willing to meet with you and talk over the phone

Cons: Totally clueless about investing, take no responsibility for extremely poor performance

I was with a Raleigh branch, three young guys, brash, bold - on reflection, quite arrogant. But, I thought they were personable but every time we met, I could see my account going down in value (this is with a highly diversified portfolio, mostly mutual funds in a record bull market). Eventually, after seven years, I wisened up at which point they realized they had better take their money and run which they did. After I queried them on their continued poor performance against standard benchmarks, they had the nerve to fire me! Horrible advice.

by Diane, 2/6/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Negligent, lies & self serving

My advisor told me I was in a moderately conservative account. I objected to being put 79% in stock but was told it was moderately invested with slow growth over time. I lost 10,000 after 6 months and asked to move money and was told I would recoup that money in 3 months.3 months later I lost another 10,000. I requested all documents I signed and saw I was invested moderately aggressive. I was lied to and I never read my contract as I was only given the last page to sign which I thought I was signing a rollover account. I was told the management fee was 1% and the contract showed I was charged 1.5 %. This company. Pushes aggressive stocks and does not listen to your needs. Fidelity is the complete opposite as they listen to your needs and discuss reccomendations to you before they invest your assets. Do not invest with this company.

by David Pietras, 1/31/2018

Pros:

Cons:

Worst company to deal with, gives the run around every time you talk to them. If you want to lose money, then they are great

by Marvel Rog, 1/18/2018

Pros: Polite

Cons: Bad advise, condescending and untrustworthy

Do your research and avoid them!

by Big tit lover, 1/17/2018

Pros: Loved that bitch at the desk with the big tits sucked my cock many times while waiting thank u Sharon and Becky and the old ceo

Cons:

Loved Becky s and Sharon's big tits at front desk lot of good blow jobs and titfucks there

by Nathan korkus, 9/16/2017

Pros: Good Musician

Cons:

They duped my retired mother with not one but 3 VUL policies. Destroyed legal documents for the 1st VUL class action law suit. Changed the 2nd VUL contract after it was signed. Sold the 3RD VUL through the mail and forged the document. Inflated the projection to 10 percent. Never earned me than 3, guaranteed 4. And the advisor got 5 commission. The managed returns to fail. She started with 12600.00 and they set her for failure at 9000 fee per year. They withheld material facts. The whole thing is a conspiracy to take advantage of the unknowing customer. Another advisor had us surrender the policy to what he said "stop the bleeding" the company locked the new advisor out of the accounts ameriprise investigated but will not share informaton and are defiantly in conspiracy. She lost between 75000 and 42400 with this product an advisor unethical behavior. Me just don't know how much, they won't tell us.

by Janet, 9/2/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Negligent

I was sold a RiverSource Life Insurance Policy by an Ameriprise Financial Advisor as an investment vehicle for my son's future who was 1 year old. I told the financial advisor they we wanted conservative investments and nothing risky. When 2008 hit, we lost 25K in those investments.

I had the advisor move the funds into something safe at low risk until the market stabilized. Well, having a full time job and a family, I trusted the advisor to watch our policy -- like they claimed they would. Eight years passed and I heard nothing from this person until I reached out because the policy wasn't making any money.

Basically, since they had gotten 10 years out of the policy, and made a lot of money off my family in fees, the advisor told me I'd be best getting another rep.

It that isn't negligent and unscrupulous behavior I don't know what else is. Honestly, I wish there was a class action suit against this company and their dishonest business practices. They are no better than legal thieves.

by Rick, 8/23/2017

Pros: Made good investments for me.

Cons: No personal contact with me on my accounts. Charge me to go over my accounts.

The advisor would not have personal contact with me. The advisor refused to talk to me on the phone. I have found a new advisor with another company that treats us like family and this company gets better reviews than Ameriprise. Now Ameriprise is dragging their feet on transferring my accounts. Ameriprise had no problem taking my money when I invested with them but now that I am transferring to another company they don't want to transfer my accounts in a timely manner.

by Bill Bagley, 7/26/2017

Pros: Dinner at Del Frisco's

Cons: Promoted REIT's that were doomed from the start.

Lost money on investments, and was blocked from rescuing declining principal (CNL Lifestyle Properties).

by Pat, 7/12/2017

Pros: None.

Cons: self interest,greed,lack of transparency

I was widow whacked by Christopher Stark of Needham MA when my husband died suddenly.
He came to the wake and then came the annuity,REITs,active funds - all conflict of interest,high commission ,high fee,advisor friendly products. A few months later,he bought a new home .
I complained . The compliance office sent me a letter stating he followed the legal (but unethical)
suitability standard and another stating that Ameriprise does NOT require its advisors to inquire
about client living expenses ! Due to space considerations I cannot share my experience
with their estate settlement dept . when my uncle died . Equally deplorable,dishonest ....
Stay away from this company ...and this advisor .

by john smith, 6/27/2017

Pros: N/A

Cons: Untrustworthy

My wife did not fully comprehend the fact that her entire IRA was invested in annuities.

I have no respect for this company.

by Dan, 6/19/2017

Pros:

Cons: Every single conversation I had with any sales representative was a lie. They deserve less than 1 star.

When my brother I learned my father had an investment in Central America (Bonds), we were stunned. Not only would he have not made that investment, he wasn't capable of making that decision, as to the fact he suffered from Dementia and Parkinson, for the last 10 years of his life. His account was slammed by salesmen, charge excessively, and never made a penny. It was 8 months after his death at 85 years of age that we finally gained access to his account, and that was due to the fact I filed a complaint with the SEC. At that point these con-men called me the next morning. Everyone I talked too lied. They wanted to do everything through the mail, always taking a minimum of 3 weeks. Multiple lare documents of at least 30 pages seemed to get lost. I have my own brokerage account through real brokers, and I've never had to do anything through the mail that took months and months. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY>

by Carol, 5/22/2017

Pros: Good 1st impression

Cons: Watch out if you try to move your money out

Had money invested with Ameriprise broker for 10 plus years. Broker was nasty when I decided to pull money out and invest with another company. He was very unprofessional, wouldn't answer my questions. He told me to call the main office, he didn't have time to answer questions.

by Nathan Korkus, 4/28/2017

Pros:

Cons:

William l Bynum sold my mother IDS insurance that failed. He destroyed the lawsuit papers denying her. He sold her a VUL mis represented it, lied for 15 years. Told us to put as little money into it and we had to surrender with 400000 plus loss. Corporate agrees with his behavior. Somewhere along the way corporate terminated the 1st VUL and sold her another one through the mail without any consultation. This is illegal. When we found out the VUL failed we had no one to talk to. Ameriprise denied us the opportunity. A new Ameriprise advisor told us to surrender the VUL to stop the bleeding. He said it's the Advisor not the company. We want her money back that Ameriprise fraudently took from her through deception and illegal activity.

by James, 4/25/2017

Pros: Smiles

Cons: Unethical, lies, false pretense

I had inherited the Ameriprise account after my father passed away. My father's Ameriprise advisor told me if I sell the stocks&bonds in the account, there will be 15% capital gains tax, so not a good idea. However, I later discovered that there is in fact NO capital gains tax on inheritance (for the amount that was invested.) I confronted then about this and they admitted that there is in fact no tax. I then liquidated the account, but lost a lot of money (because the market had since declined), which I would not have, if they had told me the truth to begin with.

There was also an annuity & a note that I was supposed to receive as cash (that was part of my father's account.) I was not aware of this initially. Instead of transferring the cash to my account as they was supposed to, they reinvested the money back into the market without telling me. Some percentage of values was lost when the account was liquidated, for the same reasons above.

Also, I found out online that Ameriprise advisors are not fiduciary. i.e that they do not put clients interest first. Legally, for both brokerage & IRA's, they do not have to put clients interest first, if they are not fiduciary. It is totally unethical, but the law of the land is broke, and they get away with making money out of clients account, leaving you very little return.

Because the way the financial law is written, if they are not fiduciary, they are in fact a SALES person. The title financial advisor is a false pretense. Because they are there to make money for the firm, over you. There is conflict of interest. The advisor was not in fact giving me financial advise, but an argument why I should invest with them, 'masquerading' as financial advise.

Once I found this out, I tried to confirm this over the phone with the advisor, and he told me "Yes, I AM a Fiducially!". I asked again, then he repeated he is a Fiduciary. I knew the answer was otherwise so I asked again. And after all the insistence eventually he admitted that he was not fiduciary. So many lies. From beginning to end.

by ST, Quincy, MA, 4/20/2017

Pros: none

Cons: Nothing but sales for Long Term disability

Charged over $1000 annually and all the adviser did was try to sell me long-term disability insurance. Made unauthorized transfers from my checking account and ended up over-drawing my account.

by Robert Coe, 4/5/2017

Pros: Outstanding Service..!

Cons: None to report

I recently had the opportunity to work with Michael Maracello of Ameriprise. He was polite, professional and on top of his game. He made me aware of options available I had not considered while laying out a solid foundation for continued growth. I can't say enough about him, his can-do attitude and reliable service. Thanks Ameriprise.

by Addie, 4/3/2017

Pros: Some of the highest fees out there, Limited investment options, horrible website that hides important information

Cons:

I was an Ameriprise customer for 4 years and kept requesting that they make their website more transparent as so many thing I wanted to look at were hidden to the point that even their web IT folks could not find it - things like fees, how much money I had invested etc. were so hard to find it was crazy. As I have done my research I realize that I was talked into a horrible vehicle for investing for someone my age and I am locked in for 10 years (or they will keep half the money). Not only was it the wrong vehicle for a younger person like myself but the fees charged on FAR in excess of all the other firms out there and the funds they invest in are limited to partner funds it looks like (why else would they choose such high cost funds). I am beyond disgusted with this company.

by Bob Johnson, 3/27/2017

Pros:

Cons:

Bad people, bad company. They lost so much money. Never invest with them.

by Michael, 3/26/2017

Pros: Very nice

Cons: Does not get back to you in a timely fashion

My financial advisor Mike Marracello is a very sensitive advisor. He had over six figures of my money invested over time. After election day 2017, when the market was on a tare, my account was going up very minimal in Ameriprise compared to my Fidelity account that had far less money in it. I called Mike to set up a meeting to become slightly more aggressive in that account. Shortly after the meeting I called him early in the morning he returned my call at the end of business that day. I missed that call and called him right back but he did not answer. I left a voicemail explaining that we needed a faster line of communication. I felt I was missing the gains as the market was going up daily. On a voicemail I let him know that Fidelity is a 24 hour customer service institution and Ameriprise is not. I wanted to make changes to my account quickly. The next day he called me and told me not only that I should move my account to Fidelity where I am happier but also that I call him more then people who have more than 500k in their account. That was unprofessional and insulting. Ameriprise charged me $125 to move each of my two accounts (one was a IRA and the other was a joint account) to Fidelity which Fidelity reimbursed me for. Ameriprise charges $75 maintenance fee for a IRA while Fidelity charges nothing. After meeting with a Fidelity representative, who will manage my account for 1.06% per year he told me my account will gain 2-3% more just by not having no pay the fees Ameriprise charges. When I called customer service at Ameriprise they had a very bad attitude when I explained to them I should not have to pay to move my account because Mike Marracello advised me to move it. But they charged me anyway. (DO YOUR HOMEWORK BEFORE INVESTING WITH AMERIPRISE!)

by Horribleness, 3/14/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Not available without a long wait.

Horrible customer service. Really really poor. I've been trying to several days to take care of the most simple of tasks... a RMD. Run around after run around has convinced me to move my IRA to somewhere... anywhere else.

by Richard, 3/13/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Many but fees are a big con

Ameriprise promotes financial planning which is really just a way to gather as much information about you as possible and figure out what expensive products they can sell you. Most of the products having mediocre performance. When you have had enough and decide to transfer the accounts out to a different broker they charge $125 per account and make it as difficult as they can.

by Jana James, 3/12/2017

Pros: seemed nice

Cons: huge fees, could not take our money out when we wanted to transfer it

High fees, invested us in $50k of un-listed REITs which could not be sold or even transferred - terrible!

by Jo Manson, 3/6/2017

Pros:

Cons: deceptive practices they do not disclose fees

If you talk with 4 different employees/advisors, you get 4 different answers.

by Steve, 3/3/2017

Pros: Tell you what you want to hear

Cons: Broker's main focus is there own money, putting you in a variable annuity without telling you

This person in Lincoln met me at the gym and met his yearly bonus putting me in a horrible product of high risk so he could make highest commissions on 100% variable annuity. Stay away from all of them as they don't care about clients.

by Judy, 1/27/2017

Pros:

Cons: Liar. She was deceptive about answering my questions. Advised me to sell some stocks but didn't think I'd have to pay a capital gains tax. Another lie. Not trustworthy.

One of the most fee heavy in the industry. Can't get away fast enough. Customer Service is practically nonexistant.

by Former Ameriprise broker, 12/10/2016

Pros: Lie well

Cons: Lie and deceptive practices

I was a broker with a firm for 12 yrs when I was asked to join Ameriprise. They said I would get a bonus for relocating my practice. They gave me a check and then forced the signing a loan document stating " firm practice that is how to avoid taxes"

After seeing how dishonest they were in dealing with people, I raised objections and refused to be dishonest. They made my work life unbearable and forced me away leaving my clients in a mess. To top it off after stealing my practice they want me to pay them back the funds paid to me for moving my practice. Stay clear and don't move your practice here.

by Stephanie Garland, 11/11/2016

Pros:

Cons:

STAY AWAY FROM AMERIPRISE TRUST DEPARTMENT! I have had the worse experience dealing with them for the past year. I started transfer procedures with them and it has taken months to even get a response from my so called Trust Representative. They have ignored calls and emails from my new Trust Company and have not kept me posted as to what and how my money is being used. Don't know how they get away with these business practices.

by gerard parady, 10/16/2016

Pros: smiles

Cons: lies lies lies

stay away from them stay away

by Bill LaCrescent, 9/19/2016

Pros: Knowledge

Cons: online

I read the reviews above and can't help that think that you have picked the wrong person not the wrong company! My 10 year experience has been profitable and I have learned many things that my old advisor never told me. Online experience is average at best

by Jerry, 8/23/2016

Pros: Great for advisor, Bad for client

Cons: conflict of interest

These advisors preach team that they are part of a team, and after the first couple of meetings there is really is no team. The worst decision I made was to follow my advisor to Ameriprise as it is obvious he was driven by his own personal interests and not mine. He said how much better it would be if he switched all my accounts over there and that couldn't be further from the truth. Online system is unreliable and useless. Feels like a bait and switch. I can't get a straight answer on how he is paid. They push their own proprietary (annuities, auto insurance, etc.) because they get paid more to do so. **Stay away from this company and their advisors**. I'm going back to the company he used to work for as they never did me wrong and seem to put client interests first instead of the advisors interest.

by BERNADETTE HILL, 8/6/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Unable to obtain MY money as Ameriprise put it in a REIT which they call an "alternative investment". I don't understand what this means and they don't seem to either or maybe they just won't be truthful.

by Damon, 8/4/2016

Pros: Friendly

Cons: unknowledgeable, conflict of interests, Makes leaving extremely difficult

When I was much younger I had a 401k that needed rolling over to an IRA. I met with an adviser, and he seemed to understand my aggressive needs. He did get me into small medium cap funds, but with a 6% front load, 1.5 ER and 12b1 that was outrageous. Of course he gets the high commission, but I was not aware of all of this at the time.
15 years later I take a look into a roth IRA and spoke with them to set it up. Started looking at what they had done with my old money (not anywhere near benchmarks and well under-performing my 401 funds with high expensiveness), and put the breaks on the new account without opening. But informed that I was not happy with the funds they had me in and found a specialty fund I was interested. Asked them if they could cash me out of current funds and invest me with the other. "No problem" we can get you in that fund. So it took 4 business days for the funds to settle (this should be 2 business days at most). Then they come back with "Oh that fund is closed and we can not buy for you, what should we do with your cash." Simple, it is moving to Vanguard (after the hoops they will put me through as well as the 100$ closing fee).
They do not look at full instructions to see if what you want can be done before they start, they at no time advised comparable funds that were not closed, and just gave excuses as to why they should not know these things......So exactly what did I pay 50$ a year for? Paperwork I guess as they are no advisers.

If you are looking for a place to go I would look at T Rowe Price or Vanguard if you are savvy enough and do not need a lot of trading. If you need advice find someone who can actually advise and not go to Ameriprise.

by modoh, 7/28/2016

Pros: Like my CURRENT advisor (retiring ) but...not a Fiduciary and

Cons: FIRST advisor was a top performer aka con artist aka top SALESREP

High expense funds, always pushing annuity's, questionable "philosophy" huge egos -- you get it. Net is.., paying fees yet, I haven't met the market in my 4 years with Amerprise and.., now I'm OUT. Something is just not right -- My guess they are pushing their salespeople hard which will NEVER benefit YOU!! Vanguard here I come.
I thought I might send my portfolio to the government so they can check fees/net return. Remember, the government (thank you Pres Obama) want's you to WIN in retirement.

by Extreamly Unhappy, 5/18/2016

Pros: Friendly

Cons: Do not keep you informed, updated, horrible customer service

Tried for months to refinance they do not keep you updated, do not call you, do not email you, tell you a line of B.S still have not gotten this done now we have to find another company but...do not have allot of trust right now and do not know who to go through I will have to do allot of research before getting into anything!

by Joe Payne, 4/30/2016

Pros: Superficially friendly and smiled a lot

Cons: Negligent financial planning services, ignorant of Social Security, unwilling to explain investment recommendations, detached, unresponsive, unwilling to recommend qualified advisors

My wife and I (at ages 65 and 68) paid an Austin Texas Ameriprise CFP and broker to prepare a financial plan. The result was of little value and reflected little effort, concern, or insight. His recommendations were obvious and some were flawed. Flawed recommendations including suggesting the our son pay off my wife's student loans and urging us to cash in a whole life insurance policy with much better returns than the investments he managed for us for two years. He provided no forecast or options for investment strategies to fund our retirement. He provided no encourement to continue working in a job I enjoy and need to keep to support us. He provided absolutely no SOCIAL security recommendations to maximize benefits and refused to suggest a Social Security expert who could make up for his ignorance of Social Security and refusal to investigate it or learn about it. His negligence in SOCIAL SECURITY strategy resulted in my wife missing $20,000 in restricted spousal benefits. Ameriprise was unconcerned about our loss and told us that financial planning assistance with Social Security is optional. Ameriprise's response to our concerns was appallingly pitiful, reflecting a complete absence of concerns about customer service. The Ameriprise financial advisor was distant, detached and very slow to respond to calls and email. I would not recommend Ameriprise to anyone for anything.

by Joe Payne, 4/30/2016

Pros: Superficially friendly and smiled a lot

Cons: Negligent financial planning services, ignorant of Social Security, unwilling to explain investment recommendations, detached, unresponsive, unwilling to recommend qualified advisors

My wife and I (at ages 65 and 68) paid an Austin Texas Ameriprise CFP and broker to prepare a financial plan. The result was of little value and reflected little effort, concern, or insight. His recommendations were obvious and some were flawed. Flawed recommendations including suggesting the our son pay off my wife's student loans and urging us to cash in a whole life insurance policy with much better returns than the investments he managed for us for two years. He provided no forecast or options for investment strategies to fund our retirement. He provided no encourement to continue working in a job I enjoy and need to keep to support us. He provided absolutely no SOCIAL security recommendations to maximize benefits and refused to suggest a Social Security expert who could make up for his ignorance of Social Security and refusal to investigate it or learn about it. His negligence in SOCIAL SECURITY strategy resulted in my wife missing $20,000 in restricted spousal benefits. Ameriprise was unconcerned about our loss and told us that financial planning assistance with Social Security is optional. Ameriprise's response to our concerns was appallingly pitiful, reflecting a complete absence of concerns about customer service. The Ameriprise financial advisor was distant, detached and very slow to respond to calls and email. I would not recommend Ameriprise to anyone for anything.

by Sasha, 4/23/2016

Pros:

Cons: They lie and do not behave in a fiduciary manner.

My mother listed me as the beneficiary on her accounts. She died May 2015. On April 22, 2016 they were finally transferred to me. The advisor she was using prefers to speak to me on the phone whereas I prefer email so there is a paper trail and no later misunderstanding. They know I want to move the funds out of Ameriprise so they have been stalling for almost a year. Some of their tactics:
*Anything snail-mailed thru the US Post Office magically disappears. I have had to mail everything Certified Mail as proof.
*They sent me forms with the investment strategy changed. My mom had it very conservative, they changed it to aggressive - without asking me. When I changed the forms and sent them back, there was a "problem" and the forms had to be resent. That took 2 months to accomplish on their end.
*Emails asking specific questions are not returned. The advisor did call me every so often to ask how everything was and ask about the rest of my mother's estate. He advised me to sell her house and invest the proceeds with him!!! At some point, he apparently had learned from my mother that she had been left out of her mother's (my grandmother's )will. He told me that he would help me find a lawyer to sue because "that's really your money and you should fight it."
* They refused to process my mother's Required Minimum Distribution on her IRA by Dec. 31, 2015 . Advisor said headquarters would not allow it. I called Headquarters and they said that they "prefer" to wait until entire estate is settled. I told them that my state has no such restriction and they are behaving illegally. They said it was their policy. Now I am waiting to see if the IRS penalizes me as beneficiary because of their BS.
Their compliance officer is John Jurek. Perhaps enough letters to him about shoddy practices will help. Until then, I am taking the money away from them.

by T., 4/1/2016

Pros:

Cons:

My advice is to stay away. When you first meet with Ameriprise, they make you feel like there will be a team of people working on your account. During my initial meeting, there were 4-5 people from Ameriprise. Your advisor lays out a calendar of quarterly touch points, two in person, two over the phone. Aside from our initial meeting, I never saw my advisor in person. And last year, he called me once at the end of December. But the main reason I left is because I was paying high fees to have no one watch my money. Between fees and bad advice, I would have been better off keeping my money in a no interest savings account. The kicker is when you leave, they charge high termination and transfer fees on your account. Someone was making money on my account, but it was not me. Unfortunately, after surfing around the internet, my experience with Ameriprise is not unique.

by Mariam, 2/25/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Unethical, horrible customer service and total rip off. Worst company ever, they start you with low premium and then start raising up more and more. They'll find all the excuses to collect more money from you. Prepare yourself to deal with the rudest customer service ever if you get in an accident and do all the work on top of that. Bad reputation well deserved.

by Feeling Betrayed by Ameriprise, 10/5/2015

Pros: Nice offices. Good manners.

Cons: Poor recommendations. Hidden charges. Conflict of interest.

We signed up with Ameriprise a few years back to manage our savings and help us plan. This year we moved to a fee only service with another firm, that is not paid to sell anything. I recommend everyone do the same.

The people at Ameriprise were pleasant and professional, but every recommendation they made was a way to line their pockets, not ours.

They pushed us hard to sell our small company shares when those firms were growing like crazy. Following their advice on that cost us a lot of money.

Then they would only recommend funds and such that they got commission on, but they never mentioned this. We had to dig to discover why the stuff they recommended performed so poorly, and then the front loaded fees came up - some as high as 5-10% for certain products. We only discovered that because we called the firms they had recommended we buy products from, and asked their fee structures.

The performance of the broker-sold stuff they recommended was pretty bad too, compared to comparable funds and products available of on the open market.

After years of underperforming the bull market with Ameriprise, while we watched the small amount we had in another account we self-managed grow by leaps and bounds, we finally decided to leave.

Working with Ameriprise cost us a great deal of money. We feel like we were fleeced.

If you want an advisor, I would say go with a fee only advisor with no fees from any third party firm. Then you will get honest advice. As far as we could tell, Ameriprise was all about lining their own pockets at our expense.

by Barbara Shields, 5/29/2015

Pros:

Cons:

Excellent service highly knowledgeable financial advice. I am old school so I do financial consults in person The advisor helped me navigate online transactions at the office

by H. S. of Eden Prairie, 2/7/2015

Pros:

Cons: Has hidden clauses

Ameriprise has hidden clauses and came up with some timeline limit as an excuse not to pay our claim. This is a shady organization. Ameriprise is not consumer friendly. They hide information from you about your own claim and do not give you the info and tools you need to take care of your home. Ameriprise is stealing $5000 from our claim alone. DO NOT RECOMMEND. Read hundreds of complaints. Horrible people.

by Susan, 11/14/2014

Pros:

Cons: Online access is completely unreliable

I have an investment account with Ameriprise that I inherited a few years ago. Due to moving to another state I have had two different financial advisors and I pay based on value of accounts. No complaints with advisors, but the online access is completely unreliable. There was another update on Oct 10, 2014, and you could not transfer funds all weekend and still not working today. There seem to be other problems with viewing and accessing information on the site also. I called over the weekend and was told I can't do a transfer when next day is a holiday. Their system knew, told me the 15th as available date, but then would not go through. Today the message said "transfers could not be done, call". Their system was down for over a week after a software upgrade earlier this year. They have no business handling people's money if they can't even roll out software updates correctly and revert back if there is a problem. No excuse for this in the modern world of computerized trading, banking, etc.

by Jpc2014, 11/13/2014

Pros:

Cons: Poor customer service

My advisor from Ameriprise financial made a mistake that cost my investments $4700 and it will not tell the truth to his supervisors so they can correct his error.He stated that mutual funds would be sold on a specific date and it did not happen too many days later.

As a result the cost of the funds were $4700 less than on the date that he should have done the transaction.He is telling his supervisors that he rated disclosure that stated funds may not be traded on that date but as of yet I still have not seen or heard the disclosure




Add Your Ameriprise Financial Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.



Ameriprise Financial Account

Ameriprise Financial was founded by John Tappan in 1894. They help clients achieve their financial goals through personal planning and advice. Ameriprise Financial's advisors listen to your dreams and goals, create a personalized financial plan, and track your progress over time.

Ameriprise Financial broker belong to the largest investment companies in the U.S.


Continue Reading


Leading U.S. Brokerage Review Websites About Ameriprise Financial


"While Ameriprise has gained somewhat of a negative reputation, one of its competitors, Vanguard, has been gaining popularity. Much of the negativity surrounding Ameriprise’s business operation stems from the amount of money people have lost in their investments with Ameriprise. The issue lies with their investment strategy, which can be considered as a “one size fits all” type plan."

Reviewopedia

Continue Reading


Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.

Ameriprise Financial reviewed by former and current clients. Ameriprise Financial reviews: 66. Rating: 2.