Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews

TD Ameritrade customer reviews, complaints and ratings. Brokerage service pros and cons. Is TD Ameritrade safe and good investment company to open an account?

TD Ameritrade Expert Review

TD Ameritrade Review »

Promotion Offer

$0 stock/ETF trades and a transfer fee refund.

Open TD Ameritrade Account

TD Ameritrade Customer Reviews

by Nat, 10/18/2021

Pros: Usually nice

Cons: Like robots.... Everything they say is going to nothing to help you make money

Firstly, when trading options they show the mid point between bid and ask as your account value. Very deceptive cause when you're dealing with options that have a wide spread... that number is extremely off. Secondly, whenever you decide to sell an option, the bid number comes up automatically.... without realizing that happens and it always does, you end up losing tons of money. They have plenty of informative stuff but it's all and all a game out there cause the media is full of hype. One day, it tanks for some news they somehow blow up and the next day the news says how they shrugged it off..... The whole market is full of manipulators. Those with the big money, play with stocks by putting in money and taking it out....

by John, 8/26/2021

Pros:

Cons:

Beware the hidden fees. It's difficult to know which transactions will have which fees. Some will have a $50.00 fee and some a $6.95 fee. I often just buy the same positions I understand BUT the worst thing is the sneaky fees. Some are small but the worst one I encountered was a $15.00 FOREIGN SECURITY FEE on a position that was only worth $100 and already had a commission fee. No warning, nothing up front, I only found out months later while reviewing transactions randomly. While small, that stock had been my biggest percentage gainer but after those fees, it became a net loss. I thought TD Ameritrade had an air of security and stability but I am going to at least look into E-trade, Schwab, and Robinhood now. Transparency is everything to me.

by Michael Springfield, 3/1/2021

Pros: Ease of use and think or swim app has tons of data.

Cons: Stock ticker changed (TSNP to TSNPD) on a Friday. Ameritrade still has not changed

My friends with other online trading accounts can trade TSNPD. Fidelity changed the same day almost to the minute and allowed trading of the new ticker. I am unable to sell any of the stock I own. The customer service is 1 hour plus wait. They informed me I could buy TSNPD but could not sell any of the stock I own. i really think this is criminal. I reported to SEC- have not heard anything yet.

by Sameh Mikhail, 2/12/2021

Pros: None Recently

Cons: Customer Service

Wait time is between 50-60 minutes. In the past the wait time to reach a customer service was 5-15 minutes, usually customer service improves and not the other way around.
Recently with the huge volatility trading AMC stock. I was not able to sell in extended hours until the price dropped from $16.5 down to $11.5, then it went up and it reached $22 in the next morning.

by Sam, 2/10/2021

Pros: Easy to transfer account to

Cons: Poor customer support.

Very difficult to speak to customer support, with wait time of 50 minutes for phone support.
Poor execution and slow response.

by E. N. Nelson, 11/30/2020

Pros: None

Cons: Complicated, confusing fees.

I had TD Waterhouse many years ago and left for Scottrade. Never a problem with Scottrade for 20 years. TD Ameritrade takes over Scottrade and changes platform to their complicated with hidden fee platform. I could not leave fast enough.

by Gerald Thrash, 8/3/2020

Pros: n/a

Cons: Unreachable customer care.

I have had a brokerage account with Schwab for years. A few months ago I decided to open a TD Ameritrade account because I had read good reviews of their investment tools. I funded it at $2,500.00 and began trading from account ending in 3352. My trades included some OTC and penny stocks. Although their ads tout commission-free trading and make no mention of exceptions, my fees started appearing at $6.95 per buy or sell transaction. Customer service said "that is just the way it is". Last week I decided to close the account and transfer the $5k that was in to Schwab. TD Ameritrade hit me with a $75 closure fee going out the door and has cut all access to the account. I can't download past statements or transactions. Again customer service told me today that the closure fee was listed somewhere on there website under broker fees. I can't confirm that because I can no longer access the website. They will send me the statements but won't allow access to the closed account.
A totally unsatisfactory experience in my judgement.
BTW: Schwab charges no fees to trade the same stocks that TD hit me at $6.95 per transaction.

by givetoandy, 6/22/2020

Pros:

Cons:

When the market started to dip after the pandemic began, I began to research how to get into stock trading. I knew next to nothing. With a recommendation from my father-in-law, who had used Scotttrade previously, I downloaded the app. He said that after Scotttrade changed to TD Ameritrade, the new app and features were better and easier to use. He recommended that it was good for a beginner like me. He was absolutely right. I really enjoyed the educational videos which I viewed prior to moving any funds into my account. I signed up and registered to trade in the Scwab app, BUT TD Ameritrade’s app was much more user-friendly for someone with my lack of experience and understanding. I highly recommend TD Ameritrade’s main app, but I am not as fond of their companion app, thinkorswim. Nevertheless, TD Ameritrade’s app was my right choice in learning to buy and sell shares. After I deposited funds, I was nervous for a few days how things worked and if it were all a scam. But I purchased my first 100 shares pain-free, and I felt really comfortable with the process. In a few weeks, I sold and purchased more stock, and now I feel quite competent. This app and company gets a high recommendation from me.

by Bdotjohn, 6/22/2020

Pros: I love the app

Cons: There are known issues

Let me start off by saying I love the ui and feel of this app; adding funds, creating watchlists, catching up on market news, executing trades; all easy and accessible via the tap of an icon located at the bottom of my screen. Customer service is not hard to get a hold of if I need anything. TD Ameritrade has easily become my favorite app for trading and keeping track of market performance in general. It’s crazy to think that it’s almost made my desktop obsolete.

However, this app has a huge issue; I’ve experienced WAY too many instances of the app crashing on or right before market open. This is unforgivable. Imagine opening the app, being on a jump login screen with the inability to login on a big market opening day—this has actually cost me hundreds, maybe even thousands of dollars. Highly disappointing and inexcusable. There are several blogs and websites dedicated to this experience, which I was mind blown to discover. I called customer service and there was literally nothing they offered to do to help. Very concerning and I hope TD works on having reliable servers to handle the traffic this app experiences during a very volatile market. Also, it would be great to see when my money will clear. Simple but very important information. Fingers crossed.

by Don Allen, 6/15/2020

Pros: Thinkorswim is well done, though they didn't do it; they bought it.

Cons: Horrible to deal with. I made an agreement with them, I followed it, they reneged.

I had a situation last year with a credit spread that threatened to close with underlying between the two strikes. They liquidated it without calling me first. it cost me money. I spoke to them, discussed it, they explained some subtle risk factors, I understood. I asked how to avoid this situation in the future. They said to call them and let them know I was on top of the situation. I agreed.

Last Friday, the same situation came up, I tried to call them half an hour before the close and the wait time was 40 minutes!! I stayed on the line and 20 minutes before the close, they liquidated my position. The stock turned around (Google) and close 18 points above the strike price of the short put they were worried about. They cost me hundreds of dollars by closing it. I called them today (and waited an hour to speak with someone). I pointed out our agreement and that I had followed it, but because they weren't equipped to answer their phones, I could not get through. Under the circumstances, fairness says they should reverse their trade in my account. They refused. I am (was) a long-time customer. No more. I'm done with these people. I will never do business with them again. Ever. And I strongly suggest you do the same, because you will not get a fair shake from them because their word is worth nothing.

by Malcolm, 5/31/2019

Pros: CNBC live (about a 8 second delay) on the site.

Cons: Trade Architect is all I wanted and they changed it a few years ago, and the existing one they want to dump. I will not use Think Or Swim...I will walk.

What is there to say? They can't service the average retail investor who wants to keep it quick and simple. I have spent hours with Think or Swim.. I don't need all the B.S.. I make money with quick and easy..not with ego driven crap. They have messaged me more than once that they are developing a new web based platform..it better be fast, easy and have CNBC...or I'll take my 300,000 bucks and go.

by vv, 4/2/2019

Pros: I found no pros compared to Scottrade.

Cons: Snobby Reps

So I was a TD transplant from Scottrade. Being open minded I decided to give them a chance. My business with them lasted 5 months. Ended up paying more fees in 5 months than the prior 3 years at Scottrade combined.

I also ended up making more phone calls to customer service in those 5 months than I did at Scottrade in 14 years. Not only that but they took my local office away which was kind of wierd. They left two offices near each other only a few miles appart while closing the office in the fastest growing part of the area.

Rarely needed office but was nice just to drop by and speak with your assigned broker from time to time.

The final straw at TD was when there were changes out of my control and they charged fees that should have never happened. Managed to get reimbursed as a supposed one time fee forgiveness but still the fees should not have happened anyway.

Now at Schwab for nearly a year with not one issue. I even get representative's checking in from time to time to see if I need any help when they have platform updates.

There will probably never be another broker like Scottrade but of the ones I have tried Schwab is top choice and Fidelity is my secondary account.

by unknown investor, 3/5/2019

Pros:

Cons:

td dropped a great platform (trade architect) for petty dispute with flash; so im drpping them!

by Megan, 3/4/2019

Pros:

Cons:

For an average mutual funds investor Ameritrade is a good place to be. I never used Think or Swim - I don't need it. Everything I want can be done on the website with no pain. Whenever I call customer service they are always patient and helpful. I also have their debit card which is convenient.

by Alex, 2/27/2019

Pros: Thinkorswim, free ETFs and mutual funds

Cons: stocks could be cheaper

I've been with TD Ameritrade for almost 20 years. They still have the best trading platform on the market, exactly like professional traders use. In fact, many day traders use Thinkorswim to make a living.

What I also like are no-commission index funds and popular ETFs with no trading fee. My IRA at tda has no fees that most retirement services charge.

I'm not really digging their latest website design - it used to be much more "together". Hopefully they will change it soon.

by Handy, 12/4/2018

Pros: Simple mobile platform

Cons: Scottrade was better

Former scottrade customer. Scottrade had a better website and mobile platform. I preferred my local office with scottrade as well. There was a nice down to earth person there. Td ameritrades office is stuffy. It's about show. I don't care about that. Doesn't help with my bottom line. Lose the show and lower the trading fees. The local branch surely attracts the average millennial shitbag.....but they have no money. Some small business sense would go a long way.

by Trader, 5/10/2018

Pros: Platforms, website, 296 FREE ETFs, 2000 FREE to trade mutual funds

Cons: none

TD Ameritrade has over 10 million customers so there always will be few unhappy ones. But if the broker is so bad as the haters claim why there are only few complaints per year? It's because all the 10 mil. other customers are happy and don't have incentive to run around internet posting reviews.

As a long time Ameritrade customer I can honestly say that it's a great company. They offer hundreds of ETFs and couple of thousand of mutual funds that you could buy without paying any commission. You can invest with them for free!

by JR, 5/8/2018

Pros: cheap & easy for basic trades

Cons: ignorant staff, refuse to correct errors

they gave wrong info and after I followed it, refused to correct the error they caused - they even listened to the phone call recordings and said - not going to fix it. Would really like to know if anyone can hold them accountable.

by sarah, 3/27/2018

Pros:

Cons: too many website issues, horrible platform

I was with Scottrade for 10 years and never an issue. TD Ameritrade refuses to let clients use the much better Scottrade platform - which they did purchase.I am waiting to move my account as I keep hoping they will listen to their 4 million new customers complaints about their platform. Think or swim is just an overcomplicated mess-

by Steve Hersch, 3/5/2018

Pros: Nice Customer Support

Cons: Everything else

Former Scottrade Customer 18 years 4 accounts, can't log into website, security questions make no sense, what is my older brother's middle name...I don't have an older brother, website is packed with useless information that is very hard to get rid of, a third of a column of this, a third of a column of that and a third of a column of something else, positions page doesn't have all of my positions, uses millennial type nicknames (gadget, dashboard, dock,) which have no meaning to me, I am 70 years old. Sink or Swim lives up to its name, very hard to navigate, very hard to trade, and a lot of things I don't care about.

I want to see my positions get news and my transactions and statements, and trade, can't find options anywhere and I do do a lot of selling against the box,

I hate this thing that has been forced on me, and as nice as the customer service people are, they can't explain all of the trendy, features to me.

Oh yes and I can't call my local branch like I used to be able to do, always get transferred to call center where you wait a long time for some one to pick up and apologize because they can't explain how to use the site in a way I can understand

Dr Stephen Hersch Phd Finance, minor in economics, former VP corporate Finance Chase Bank (1977-1993) and hedge fund manager(1993-1998), retired

Sun City West AZ

by l e r, 3/3/2018

Pros:

Cons: impossibly complex think or swim....

Streaming quotes from Scottrade was all I needed and, so far, I can't find any way to make "think or swim" even come close....and I trade big 6 figures!

by John, 4/4/2016

Pros: Online

Cons: Not responsive

I have asked TD Ameritrade to correct my 1099-B on multiple occasions. Hovever, not only have they not done so, they have not given me the courtesy of responding to my request.

by John H, 4/4/2016

Pros: Convenient, great tools in Think or Swim

Cons: Lousy default pricing of options both in the account balances and the order entry forms.

"Think or Swim" was, without a doubt, the premier options and stock trading platform, UNTIL PURCHASED by TD Ameritrade. Once they purchased ToS, they started changing it on a daily basis and these changes did/are not improving the product. I moved one of my accounts to TD Ameritrade because the other broker was not properly pricing options and NOW TD Ameritrade is doing the exact same thing. BUMMER! What are they thinking. For example they have priced options below the intrinsic value. Crazy!

I left TD Ameritrade about 15 years ago; maybe it is time for history to repeat itself.

by Andrew, 11/17/2015

Pros:

Cons:

I recently switched from E-Trade to TDAmeritrade for ThinkOrSwim and zero-commission Vanguard ETFs, but it was extremely disappointing to see that it does not use extended validation SSL certs... (E-Trade does) I am pretty sure they can afford it. Funnily Scottrade does have it.

by Joe S, 7/30/2015

Pros: Good trading tools

Cons: Unreasonable delays, rules and fees regarding withdrawals

TD Ameritrade froze my funds on an incoming ACH cash transfer from my credit union to TD Ameritrade for 3 business days. It does NOT take 3 business days for an automated ACH transfer to "clear". In fact, other ACH transfers involving other institutions have always cleared THE SAME DAY.

Later, when my account was finally "unfrozen" by TD Ameritrade, I wanted to transfer some cash from TD Ameritrade back to my credit union. TD Ameritrade deducted the cash from my account (which cash had already met the unreasonable "hold" requirement), but then delayed transfering those funds to my credit union. In other words, TD Ameritrade took the money from my account, but then then held up the outgoing transfer. It's worth repeating: after TD Ameritrade had already deducted the cash funds from my account (over which they had 100% control), they then further delayed transferring it to my credit union. Why do they treat customers this way?

Conclusion: TD Ameritrade applies unreasonably long holding periods and makes it incredibly difficult for customers to withdraw their cash funds from a TD Ameritrade account. You might want to consider doing business with someone else.



Webull

Add Your TD Ameritrade Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.




Open Account

$0 stock/ETF trades and a transfer fee refund.

Open TD Ameritrade Account

Continue Reading


TD Ameritrade Account

  • Stocks & ETFs: $0
  • Options: $0.65 per contract
  • Mutual Funds: $49.99

Minimum to open: $0 for a cash account, $0 for an IRA.

A $2,000 deposit is required to be considered for margin and options privileges, regardless of any promotional offer.

In 2021, TD Ameritrade received 5 stars out of five in the annual Barron's Best Online Brokers Survey. TD Ameritrade was top online broker for long-term investors and for novices. The company is the only broker that receives the highest 5.0 score for research amenities among all firms participated in the ranking last year.


Ameritrade Customer Reviews


Leading U.S. Brokerage Review Websites About TD Ameritrade


"...their fees and commissions are more pricy than with many other services. However, this also means they have had time to create solid day trading software with tools and resources to help you build your portfolio... Where this service stands out is the thinkorswim desktop platform for trading stocks, options, ETFs, futures and forex. It is one of the best trading platforms we tested and is customizable."

TopTen Reviews

"Any investor, new or seasoned, will find TD Ameritrade a great fit for their needs. The main among TD Ameritrade complaints is cost, but what you pay for is what you get, and the quality delivered by TD Ameritrade is, without a doubt, worth the extra few dollars per trade."

Stock Brokers

Continue Reading

Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.