Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews


TD Ameritrade customer reviews, complaints and ratings. Brokerage service pros and cons. Is TD Ameritrade safe and good investment company to open an account?

TD Ameritrade Review

TD Ameritrade Review »

Promotion Offer

Trade free for 60 days + get up to $600.

Open TD Ameritrade Account

TD Ameritrade Customer Reviews

by vv, 4/2/2019

Pros: I found no pros compared to Scottrade.

Cons: Snobby Reps

So I was a TD transplant from Scottrade. Being open minded I decided to give them a chance. My business with them lasted 5 months. Ended up paying more fees in 5 months than the prior 3 years at Scottrade combined.

I also ended up making more phone calls to customer service in those 5 months than I did at Scottrade in 14 years. Not only that but they took my local office away which was kind of wierd. They left two offices near each other only a few miles appart while closing the office in the fastest growing part of the area.

Rarely needed office but was nice just to drop by and speak with your assigned broker from time to time.

The final straw at TD was when there were changes out of my control and they charged fees that should have never happened. Managed to get reimbursed as a supposed one time fee forgiveness but still the fees should not have happened anyway.

Now at Schwab for nearly a year with not one issue. I even get representative's checking in from time to time to see if I need any help when they have platform updates.

There will probably never be another broker like Scottrade but of the ones I have tried Schwab is top choice and Fidelity is my secondary account.

by unknown investor, 3/5/2019

Pros:

Cons:

td dropped a great platform (trade architect) for petty dispute with flash; so im drpping them!

by Megan, 3/4/2019

Pros:

Cons:

For an average mutual funds investor Ameritrade is a good place to be. I never used Think or Swim - I don't need it. Everything I want can be done on the website with no pain. Whenever I call customer service they are always patient and helpful. I also have their debit card which is convenient.

by Alex, 2/27/2019

Pros: Thinkorswim, free ETFs and mutual funds

Cons: stocks could be cheaper

I've been with TD Ameritrade for almost 20 years. They still have the best trading platform on the market, exactly like professional traders use. In fact, many day traders use Thinkorswim to make a living.

What I also like are no-commission index funds and popular ETFs with no trading fee. My IRA at tda has no fees that most retirement services charge.

I'm not really digging their latest website design - it used to be much more "together". Hopefully they will change it soon.

by Handy, 12/4/2018

Pros: Simple mobile platform

Cons: Scottrade was better

Former scottrade customer. Scottrade had a better website and mobile platform. I preferred my local office with scottrade as well. There was a nice down to earth person there. Td ameritrades office is stuffy. It's about show. I don't care about that. Doesn't help with my bottom line. Lose the show and lower the trading fees. The local branch surely attracts the average millennial shitbag.....but they have no money. Some small business sense would go a long way.

by Trader, 5/10/2018

Pros: Platforms, website, 296 FREE ETFs, 2000 FREE to trade mutual funds

Cons: none

TD Ameritrade has over 10 million customers so there always will be few unhappy ones. But if the broker is so bad as the haters claim why there are only few complaints per year? It's because all the 10 mil. other customers are happy and don't have incentive to run around internet posting reviews.

As a long time Ameritrade customer I can honestly say that it's a great company. They offer hundreds of ETFs and couple of thousand of mutual funds that you could buy without paying any commission. You can invest with them for free!

by JR, 5/8/2018

Pros: cheap & easy for basic trades

Cons: ignorant staff, refuse to correct errors

they gave wrong info and after I followed it, refused to correct the error they caused - they even listened to the phone call recordings and said - not going to fix it. Would really like to know if anyone can hold them accountable.

by sarah, 3/27/2018

Pros:

Cons: too many website issues, horrible platform

I was with Scottrade for 10 years and never an issue. TD Ameritrade refuses to let clients use the much better Scottrade platform - which they did purchase.I am waiting to move my account as I keep hoping they will listen to their 4 million new customers complaints about their platform. Think or swim is just an overcomplicated mess-

by Steve Hersch, 3/5/2018

Pros: Nice Customer Support

Cons: Everything else

Former Scottrade Customer 18 years 4 accounts, can't log into website, security questions make no sense, what is my older brother's middle name...I don't have an older brother, website is packed with useless information that is very hard to get rid of, a third of a column of this, a third of a column of that and a third of a column of something else, positions page doesn't have all of my positions, uses millennial type nicknames (gadget, dashboard, dock,) which have no meaning to me, I am 70 years old. Sink or Swim lives up to its name, very hard to navigate, very hard to trade, and a lot of things I don't care about.

I want to see my positions get news and my transactions and statements, and trade, can't find options anywhere and I do do a lot of selling against the box,

I hate this thing that has been forced on me, and as nice as the customer service people are, they can't explain all of the trendy, features to me.

Oh yes and I can't call my local branch like I used to be able to do, always get transferred to call center where you wait a long time for some one to pick up and apologize because they can't explain how to use the site in a way I can understand

Dr Stephen Hersch Phd Finance, minor in economics, former VP corporate Finance Chase Bank (1977-1993) and hedge fund manager(1993-1998), retired

Sun City West AZ

by l e r, 3/3/2018

Pros:

Cons: impossibly complex think or swim....

Streaming quotes from Scottrade was all I needed and, so far, I can't find any way to make "think or swim" even come close....and I trade big 6 figures!

by John, 4/4/2016

Pros: Online

Cons: Not responsive

I have asked TD Ameritrade to correct my 1099-B on multiple occasions. Hovever, not only have they not done so, they have not given me the courtesy of responding to my request.

by John H, 4/4/2016

Pros: Convenient, great tools in Think or Swim

Cons: Lousy default pricing of options both in the account balances and the order entry forms.

"Think or Swim" was, without a doubt, the premier options and stock trading platform, UNTIL PURCHASED by TD Ameritrade. Once they purchased ToS, they started changing it on a daily basis and these changes did/are not improving the product. I moved one of my accounts to TD Ameritrade because the other broker was not properly pricing options and NOW TD Ameritrade is doing the exact same thing. BUMMER! What are they thinking. For example they have priced options below the intrinsic value. Crazy!

I left TD Ameritrade about 15 years ago; maybe it is time for history to repeat itself.

by Andrew, 11/17/2015

Pros:

Cons:

I recently switched from E-Trade to TDAmeritrade for ThinkOrSwim and zero-commission Vanguard ETFs, but it was extremely disappointing to see that it does not use extended validation SSL certs... (E-Trade does) I am pretty sure they can afford it. Funnily Scottrade does have it.

by piptek, 11/14/2015

Pros:

Cons:

TD-ameritrade charge avg $4.50 RT on futures. The platform(TOS) has lot of features for options analysis , stocks, futures and forex. However After a opening 4 ActiveTrader(Chart windows) the platform starts crawling. The future feed is ok, slower compared to TTNET, CQG or Rhithmic. The best part is you don't pay any exchange(CME) fees monthly which is avg $15-20 in other brokerage firms. The exchange fee is waved in TD however they make up in the commissions. Good platform for analysis but definitely not for scalping. If you are a scalper look for Sierra, ninjatrader . TD doesn't offer price ladder or good volume analysis.

by Joe S, 7/30/2015

Pros: Good trading tools

Cons: Unreasonable delays, rules and fees regarding withdrawals

TD Ameritrade froze my funds on an incoming ACH cash transfer from my credit union to TD Ameritrade for 3 business days. It does NOT take 3 business days for an automated ACH transfer to "clear". In fact, other ACH transfers involving other institutions have always cleared THE SAME DAY.

Later, when my account was finally "unfrozen" by TD Ameritrade, I wanted to transfer some cash from TD Ameritrade back to my credit union. TD Ameritrade deducted the cash from my account (which cash had already met the unreasonable "hold" requirement), but then delayed transfering those funds to my credit union. In other words, TD Ameritrade took the money from my account, but then then held up the outgoing transfer. It's worth repeating: after TD Ameritrade had already deducted the cash funds from my account (over which they had 100% control), they then further delayed transferring it to my credit union. Why do they treat customers this way?

Conclusion: TD Ameritrade applies unreasonably long holding periods and makes it incredibly difficult for customers to withdraw their cash funds from a TD Ameritrade account. You might want to consider doing business with someone else.

by elliots, 7/7/2015

Pros: great chat rooms, educational offerings, charting tools, scanner

Cons: commissions are on high end

This is the place to go learn stuff. It is not the place to get low commissions. But overall I am a satisfied customer who believes that I paid for the education in higher commissions and got my money's worth.

by Shawn S., 4/15/2015

Pros:

Cons:

I've been with TD Ameritrade for a year now and I think they are the best online trader out there. The systems is easy to navigate and use, so is great even for beginners. The customer support know what they are talking about and have helped with a number of questions I've asked! They are one of the more expensive platforms, but it is worth the money.

by Westerntrader, 4/11/2015

Pros: Best Charting

Cons:

They have the best charting and option tools, but pricing is not the best.

by Bgdmanml, 4/8/2015

Pros:

Cons:

Was first introduced to ThinkorSwim through Investools a few years ago. At the time I think ThinkorSwim was a paid service. After a horrible experience with Investools I stepped away from the market and didn't think it was for me. After I found a much better education program I'm back at it and doing well. ThinkorSwim is LOADED with features! Once you get the hang of it you'll love it's ease of navigation and many useful features. Even if using other brokers for cheaper commissions I'd highly recommend ThinkorSwim for charting.

Also, ThinkorSwim is part of TDAmeritrade who has AMAZING customer service!!! I'd rate customer service ten checks if possible. Seriously the best customer service of any company I've ever dealt with, stock market related or not. I actually enjoy phone calls with TDAmeritrade. Whenever I've had an issue they were very prompt at resolving it.

Execution I gave 3 stars because I have had issues with executions but that may be user error. As I open with more brokers the larger I grow my funds I will most likely still use ThinkorSwim for my charting. I see it being hard to beat, especially once you're use to it.

by Phil, 12/8/2014

Pros: Cost

Cons: Change of appearance

Tda is AGA forcing a change of balance page appearance. New page has too much on it and it looks terrible on a large screen but is no usable on a mobile. On this iPad i now quit accessing Tda and will look for new broker who won't continually force changes on me.

by Arthur, 4/5/2014

Pros: Best trading platform, great research, pleasant website

Cons: High commissions

I have been TDA customer since 2000. One of the best companies in the business! Plenty of free services, free streaming level 2 quotes. Thinkorswim trading platform is fantastic!



Firstrade

Add Your TD Ameritrade Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.






Continue Reading


TD Ameritrade Account

  • Stocks & ETFs: $6.95
  • Options: $6.95 + $0.75 per contract
  • Mutual Funds: $49.99

Minimum to open: $0 for a cash account, $2,000 for an IRA.

A $2,000 deposit is required to be considered for margin and options privileges, regardless of any promotional offer.

In 2019, TD Ameritrade received 5 stars out of five in the annual Barron's Best Online Brokers Survey. TD Ameritrade was top online broker for long-term investors and for novices. The company is the only broker that receives the highest 5.0 score for research amenities among all firms participated in the ranking last year.

 

Leading U.S. Brokerage Review Websites About TD Ameritrade


"...their fees and commissions are more pricy than with many other services. However, this also means they have had time to create solid day trading software with tools and resources to help you build your portfolio... Where this service stands out is the thinkorswim desktop platform for trading stocks, options, ETFs, futures and forex. It is one of the best trading platforms we tested and is customizable."

TopTen Reviews

"Any investor, new or seasoned, will find TD Ameritrade a great fit for their needs. The main gripe with the broker is cost, but what you pay for is what you get, and the quality delivered by TD Ameritrade is, without a doubt, worth the extra few dollars per trade."

Stock Brokers

Continue Reading

Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.

TD Ameritrade reviewed by former and current clients. TD Ameritrade customer reviews: 21. Rating: 3.