Citi Investments Review

Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews

Citi Bank brokerage customer reviews, complaints, ratings, trading commissions and fees. Citi Wealth Management account pros and cons. Is Citi investment service worth the cost?

Finding Financial Advisor

If you are looking for a professional money management service in your area, you can search for a Financial Advisor on this website.

Find Financial Advisor


If you want a company that offers a $0 commission online money management, then Sofi Wealth Management is a great choice.

Open Sofi Account


Citi Brokerage Investment, Wealth Management Customer Reviews

by Jojo, 2/19/2021

Pros:

Cons:

Now they bounced checks from by 20 year old checking account.

by Jo, 2/18/2021

Pros: None

Cons: Too many to list

Why has no one filed complaints with security commission. It about time. Looks like class action suit.

by Judy, 2/11/2021

Pros: The worse

Cons: Terrible

Like the reviews I read, having same problem. Can’t get my money transferred out. Every excuse in the book. Spent 3 weeks so far,

by A, 1/26/2021

Pros: Courteous staff

Cons: I think this is a scam. I've spent years trying to get my money out and they won't allow me to. They refuse to put anything in writing and make ridiculous excuses as to why they can't process my paperwork. I went through every question on every form with a staff member to ensure the forms wouldn't be rejected and they were rejected again for no good reason. It's exhausting and it can't be legal.

Run the other way. Terrible firm. They have no intention to return money invested by clients. It's a scam. I would never touch citi again.

by Foos, 1/20/2021

Pros: None

Cons: Cumbersome, paper oriented company, poor communication

- Former employee, account rollover to money market IRA and locked
- Had to fill out a lengthy application to just "activate" my account (all paper)
- Had to wait 3 weeks for that paper to be onboarded and my account activated
- Moving to another IRA provider
- They would cut a check to me "free option" - didn't trust them so i had to
- From my host IRA provider, print out and sign a TOA.
- Process Required a statement, never used an online access, so inquired about that
- Confirmed there is no online portal for me to access, instead, for me to get a statement, they would have to EMAIL me, and it could take 10-15 BUSINESS DAYS.

Stay away from Citi, given the gobs of money they have, the utterly hopeless customer experience should stop you from using them.

by Private, 11/18/2020

Pros: Polite staff

Cons: I've spent hours trying to get my money out. They make excuses and refuse to put anything in writing /communicate via email. I can't believe this scam is allowed to operate.

This feels like a scam. The returns are terrible and they don't let you take your money out without a real fight

by Stacey Tsang, 7/21/2020

Pros: Polite

Cons: Lose double while on Bull market that S & P making 35% gain.

I have been with Citi Wealth management since 2015 with the LA, CA branch. Adverser/Broker from Citi has worst knowledge to control my investment money compare three other firms financial adverser. Citi have Mr T. Y. lose more than 30% of my investment while in the bull market during 2016-2018. It is very hard to believed! I was forced to terminate that Adverser who lose more than 30% of my investment. Now I want to draw the money out of the account. Wait for 6 month and 3 times promised a check sending my way. Never received. I ask to wire the money. Now I have to fill out many forms and still cannot success to have my money back. I am extremely frustrating.

This organization is the most inept I have ever dealt with, STAY AWAY FROM CITI PERSONAL WEALTH MANAGEMENT.

The problem is with the organization itself Citi. The amount of paperwork they require is relatively burdensome, redundant and a lot of the info they ask seems to be for their internal marketing departments.
Last word; as of now I am still not able to get my investment money back doesn't matter what form I was told to do. It always has something come up that do not allow me to have my money after 6 months struggle.
If you want your blood pressure goes up, lose money, or have all the run around. Citi is where you go you will have many fun with them!

by Bill, 5/31/2020

Pros: None

Cons: Never returns calls, need to send forms multiple times, cannot get even simplest tasks done

Absolutely the worst experience I’ve ever had. The “personal manager” assigned to me has not returned my calls since late January 2020. (It is now May 31, 2020). Cali g the 800 number isn’t much better. Forms I have sent to them regarding beneficiaries, etc. seem to always get lost. Writing to them and sending requests via the mail is no better.

by Disgusted, 5/30/2020

Pros: none

Cons: Third string team, zero follow up, incredibly they do not track their recommendations and are the last to know about emerging developments

Citi Wealth Management recommends funds without competent research, uses the Investment Bank's Focus List which does not appear to be based on reasoned credit analysis. Both Wealth Management and the Investment Bank fail to monitor recommended investments, failed to react when leading bond rating firm was waiving the red flag on Pioneer's ultra short bond fund, MAFRX.

by Anonymous, 1/26/2020

Pros:

Cons:

Worst brokerage. 1) You can't do an online trade of the same equity which you've bought earlier during the same day. This will force you go broker-assisted on your second trade, and the fees are ridiculously high. Worst, they sometimes forget to waive the fee for assisting you. 2) You can't use all your available cash balance to buy equities; Citi retains a certain percentage for "security" reasons. 3) You can't see what are the available no-transaction-fee mutual funds for buying.

by Anonymous, 12/18/2019

Pros: In 3 plus years with them—- NEVER A CALL ABOUT PERFORMANCE ETC.No communication! They sold APPLE , ALPHABET ( google), NETFLIX, MICROSOFT Etc for stocks that went BANKRUPT! No communication! No performance advice. DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER USING CITI BANK WEALTH MANAGEMENT!!!

Cons: Read above statement.

Do not use this company if you-
1) expect communication about performance, advice etc from CITI
2)expect professiolism
3) if you expect to make$

by Sathien, 5/10/2019

Pros: Polite

Cons: Lack of follow-up, insufficient product knowledge, and extremely poor performance.

Citi aggressively pursues brokerage accounts, especially high-end clients. Reps promise, promise, promise but fail to deliver; most lack product knowledge. Citi PWM performance remains pitiful compared to other financial institutions..The organization actively seeks to create 'passive' accounts--index-based securities that require little ongoing maintenance--so-called 'rocking chair' accounts. The major problem, however, is Citi's ingrained belief that 'they' control your portfolio (completely), not the client.

Additionally, Citi fees are extremely high. The website is average as is the follow-up service. There are serious structural problems in Citi's infrastructure to deliver accurate and timely tax documents. Look carefully before you leap.

by CSS, 12/17/2018

Pros: The reps seem to try...

Cons: Worst service ever. Can't keep their records straight. They ask for duplication of paperwork because they "don't have the previous submittals". Extremely frustrating.

This organization is the most inept I have ever dealt with, STAY AWAY FROM CITI PERSONAL WEALTH MANAGEMENT. I ended up with them due to a corporate merger, not by my choice.

I have dealt with these people twice over the last 5 years transferring existing decedent accounts to beneficiaries. The problem is not any individual agent, they seem to be all about the same. The problem is with the organization itself. The amount of paperwork they require is relatively burdensome, redundant and a lot of the info they ask seems to be for their internal marketing departments. So be it.

The first time in 2015, their progress was slow but we got there. This year, 2018, it has only gotten worse. I send a letter of instruction along with about 6 forms they require to be filled out. it has taken 2 months for them to ask me again to fill out a fiduciary form and resubmit a W-9 because they do not have them (even though a previous letter from them says they have it all). If I had not called to check on their progress, I would not have known that I needed to call again to progress some of my instructions. Then they tell me that the IRS given name on the W-9 and fiduciary forms does not agree with the account name, the account name they shortened on their own volition. I have blown off the entire day today dealing with this. I have redeemed and closed all my accounts with them.

by Citi Disappointed, 11/5/2018

Pros: Very Polite

Cons: Unable to resolve problem

My brokerage account is blocked. No one knows why. The know your customer profile is up to date, the process to unblock the account is normally a few hours but has since went beyond that. Interesting.

by Anonymous_CITI_Gold_Customer, 8/12/2018

Pros: Less marketing calls

Cons: Higher fees and poor customer service

Had Citi Personal Wealth a/c, didn’t realize that their fees is much higher for the poor service they provide and returns are much much less than s&p500 index fund, not worth paying any fees/commission for this account, on top when you terminate your a/c, they charge termination fees and takes more than a week to terminate a/c and another week or two to transfer it outside. Very very bad experience with CITI personal wealth management, advisors won’t return your call, reply to e-mails despite heavy commissions/fees paid to them. I will never ever goto them.

by Iman, 7/12/2018

Pros: Absolutely no pros

Cons: Worst brokerage service ever. Non caring about clients. Block accounts as they please. Never do as they promise. Rude customer service.

STAY AWAY FOR YOUR LIFE .

by MKU, 8/16/2017

Pros:

Cons:

They are the worst in the customer service, in addition to the fact that their website poor in features. I had to call many times to get a simple procedure completed and they said I have to check back in x days. They can't call back or send message or email me, mainly because back-office operations is not connected to the customer service reps. (as per their explanation).

by Dustin Wind, 1/14/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Do not worry.. your family will not be charged more than $350/yr. for having an account with them. FAIL



Smartassets

Add Your Citi Brokerage Investment, Wealth Management Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.




Continue Reading


Leading U.S. Brokerage Review Websites About Citi Bank Brokerage

"Even for its self-directed investors, Citi’s commissions are high, especially when it comes to options. The firm’s emphasis on personal service comes at a cost. Considering their cost, Citi’s investor resources are also somewhat basic. All members can access research reports, but there are no third-party providers, only Citi-generated material, and no analytical tools. The firm’s trading tools are, likewise, unsophisticated. Its website does offer a number of investment calculators, as well as a large selection of educational articles on financial services in general, but the subsection devoted to investing is small, and doesn’t cover any advanced content."

Nerd Wallet

Citi Bank Brokerage Commissions

  • Stocks & ETFs: $19.95
  • Options: $19.95 + $0.56 per contract + 0.28% of total price of contracts
  • Mutual funds: $39.95 or 3% of the principal investment, whichever is greater

Citi Wealth Management

Citi Investment Services: Investments Offered

Mutual Funds, Bonds, Advisory Accounts, Insurance, Securities-Backed Lending, IRAs and Rollovers, Annuities.

 

About Citi Investment Services

At Citi Personal Wealth Management, we've designed our investment services around your needs—whether you prefer to manage your own investments or work with one of our Financial Advisors.

If you prefer to manage your own investments, you'll get the convenience of investing over the internet at Citibank® Online, as well as the ability to invest in a broad range of investments and professional advice at the ready...whenever you need it.

Benefit from the experience of a dedicated Financial Advisor and receive professional advice, customized service and access to Citi's global resources, including Citi Clarity®, our 5-step process to creating your financial strategy.

Disclaimer: Your broker review, rating, advantages, and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Customer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any customer reviews that don't meet the above requirements.