Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews

Fidelity Investments complaints, reviews, customer service ratings, brokerage trading account pros and cons. Is Fidelity a good and safe company?

Broker Promotions

Broker Promotions

Fidelity Reviews

by Trader,  2/20/2024

Pros:  Many investments

Cons:  Unattractive interface and lots of red tape

Review:  Fidelity cannot create a good-looking website to save their lives. Even Interactive Brokers, which caters to traders, now has one.

There is too much red tape when creating and managing an account as well. Most brokers are much friendlier here, as well.

by CK,  10/6/2023

Pros:  Occasionally you will get a nice person who wants to help

Cons:  Incompetent, useless paperwork, conflicting information, delays, rudeness

Review:  I've been trying for four months to withdraw money. This money is NOT subject to income tax and I provided numerous documentation to show that (which they insisted I do...twice) but now that it's all done, they are withholding 30% of the funds. They will not honor a treaty 0% liability on taxes. The account has been passed from person to person. They have stalled for four months. One rep was handling the account and I had a question. He never answered his phone, so I called someone else. It was an easy two-minute question that I didn't want to wait a day or more to get answered. Well, later that day, HE CALLED AND YELLED AT ME. You know, how dare I not wait for him. Horrible client service. They told me the account was eligible for 0% withholding, then they wouldn't do the transfer. If you have anything other than a rollover, I wouldn't go here. Actually, not for a rollover, either.

by Dave C,  9/26/2023

Pros: 

Cons:  Incompetent, condescending and clueless.

Review:  Where to begin...

First, their website is down frequently.

Second, when you call during trading when their website is down, the snobby customer service agent tells you to "calm down." When I have millions in your company accts that I cannot access, kindly don't tell me to calm down--especially when this is the umpteenth time your very INsecure system has been down.

Third, the "advice" of the brokers is laughable. Example: When I asked what the limitations of their Monte Carlo sim were, the dingbat replied, "Oh, there are no downsides. It's almost foolproof, as it is based on historicals." I asked her if the MC sim accounted for black swan events. She paused a LOOOOOONG minute (probably was Googling the answer) and said, "Well, things like a pandemic or unforseen market downturns aren't included." I was litearlly LMAO. When I asked the question, I knew the answer; she just confirmed her own stupidity. And I had a couple of guy brokers in the past who were even more incompetent that she is.

Fourth, if you are a women, you get even more disrespect. Since this is about my account and my experiences, I won't go into details, but they always push my wife off on a woman--and my wife has just as much as I do in her accounts. My wife finally has had enough and told me she's switching to another brokerage firm.

The bottom line is these people are NOT fudiciaries; they are ONLY brokers for corporate 401K accounts. If you are an entrepreneur and don't have strong 401K corp accounts, they are out of their depth and have no idea what to recommend.

If we want true fiduciary financial planning, go elsewhere. These folks will literally hound you with calls and emails trying to get you to buy into some findancial product where THEY get commissions. They will tell you they are fidiciaries. They are not.They haven't since the Dept. of Labor's fiduciary rule in 2017. Their own CORPORATE EXECS have said they are not fiduciaries. Yet their brokers still tell you they are "acting only in your best interest."

by Huy Nguyen,  9/11/2023

Pros:  Trusting the Fidelity doesn't steal my money

Cons:  Customer service is very rude and disrespectful

Review:  When I called the Fidelity customer service and he/she was very rude. Many of them are very rude not just accidentally one bad person. They heard my English accent then they pretended that they didn't understand my English. They started to treat me on the phone very bad and sometimes yelled me on the phone. They treated me like an idiot and just wanted to hang up the phone. I wished Fidelity has the rating after the call so I rate and write down the complaint.

by Bianka,  8/15/2023

Pros:  They sound nice

Cons:  Liars, very unhelpful

Review:  I requested to take a loan from my 410k and the terms I was given were false. I tried to make an early payment and they changed my entire payment plan from our original agreement without notifying me. I asked to change it back and they told me they couldn't. I asked to speak to a manager and no one would let me (I called three different times and they all told me no). On the app it says my payments are now due the 28th of each month but they really take out the money on the 15th of the month. All the information I have been given about my loan has been incorrect and no one is being held accountable.

by Eric,  7/26/2023

Pros: 

Cons:  Slow in customer service and slow in website performance

Review:  Everything here is slow. Slow to have deposits available. The website is slow to response and website is very complicated to use.

by Mitch Lukes,  7/13/2023

Pros:  Great customer service, easy website, low fees

Cons:  Long to post deposits from bank account

Review:  Excellent brokerage, low fees, and great for anyone needing an all-in-one brokerage. Angelo, the customer service rep was amazing and all the other reps have been helpful.

by Frustrated WithFidelity,  5/23/2023

Pros:  None

Cons:  Too many to list

Review:  I get it, it's supposed to be a discount brokerage but honestly the people they hire are dimwits, speaking from experience with both several frontline call center employees and their investment advisors. I have my funds there because that's where my employer puts them but as soon as I can, I will be withdrawing everything and going somewhere else.

by Norris H,  5/5/2023

Pros:  Lots of investment options

Cons:  Customer is lacking

Review:  Made the simple task of updating a contact phone number to a cell phone unbearably difficult. Verification can ONLY be done using the phone number on file. Their customer service runs you thru an automated response chat that requires you to enter alphanumeric and special characters using a 0-9 phone keypad. Long and difficult when they require secure password. Their chat would not forward me to a live person and just hung up.

by Dale Griffiths,  5/1/2023

Pros:  Easier to purchase different IRA Cd's without going to multiple banks.

Cons:  The rates for CD's are low and not competitive.

Review:  I had a very difficult time moving a large IRA CD to Fidelity. I completed all the paper work online and was told by their customer service they would take care of the rest. What I later found out was they send a request "snail mail" to your credit union requesting the money. After 9 days the credit union still had not received the request. At this point I took over and spoke with the credit union and had them send the IRA money overnight to Fidelity. The credit union felt so bad for the problems they paid the overnight mail cost. Fidelity estimate was it would take 30 days to get the money!! I had the money there in 5 days. Of course the rates dropped significantly during the slow process and Fidelity cost me a large amount of money because of their crazy policies. At the same time I was working to get the IRA money to Fidelity I set up a 3 year account earing 5.5% at another credit union. The process was fast and easy to finish. Two weeks later when the Fidelity account was finally set up the rates they were paying was 4.5% for the same length CD.

by Katya,  12/28/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  Feels like robbery, unhelpful.

Review:  My Legal and General account was sold to Fidelity, and since then I have been extremely unhappy with their service. They sell the shares to fund their fees and my account has lost 20% in the last three months from their latest statement, yet the stock market does not reflect this. I feel that they are just taking my money, but this is difficult to prove with their limited info. Have tried several times to move my account, but there is always a reason why they can't. Customer service by phone very rude. I will definitely avoid this company in future. It has also affected my view quite negatively of Legal and General.

by Eduard Battson,  8/16/2022

Pros:  Fast to create new account

Cons:  For any reason they close your account and take your money

Review:  I open account, and I send first ACH deposit from my personal account to the new fidelity account $3,800.00
next day I try to make a payment and the system blocked my account and I call, he says my account will be deleted "money laundry" "pass throw", I have a serious company, and nothing is wrong, OK if his wants to close my account is his decision. BUT 1 week later I still waiting my money back!!!
I think this is wrong, this company work with your money for free and don't give back to you. I call again and now he says I need to call to my bank asking for a money recall. unbelievable!!!

by Ryan,  8/8/2022

Pros:  Its easy to give them your money

Cons:  Their system is corrupt and your money is trapt

Review:  The evaluations, calculations, and "news sources" are all extremely wrong. There is something very wrong with this company and they have my life savings trapped and held hostage. First, if they (who ever is pulling the puppet strings) doesnt like a stock, the news they post is biased. There is some major manipulation going on and their calculations on growths and losses is wrong. Something changed around late 2019. Losses show as positive growth, positive growth shows as negative. Yearly growth calculation is wrong. There needs to be a class action against management. Not the company but management. I get a strong sence I'm being defrauded.

by JC,  6/30/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  Everything

Review:  Horrible customer service at every level. I hate the way the company is ran with incompetent, rude, and ignorant people. They are all ignorant,stupid, or both.

by Alan,  6/12/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  Lousy service, rude

Review:  After both of my parents passed away rather suddenly, I attempted to contact Fidelity to begin setting up "transition accounts'. What followed has been a perfect example of non-compassion, lack of concern, or simply acceptable customer service. Rude advisor(s), no follow-up with the customer, confusing instructions, etc. have all left me with a poor opinion of Fidelity. Avoid them if at all possible, but if forced to use this company, be prepared for a lot of frustration!

by KC,  5/12/2022

Pros:  Good liars

Cons:  Managed accounts in their best interest - not yours!!

Review:  I was talked into a managed account which initially performed well (as did everything else) so I urged my wife to do the same. She answered her own questions about risk tolerance etc which were different than mine, but when both accounts tanked and compared the investment choices the two accounts were identical. Additionally I directly asked my adviser if my managed fee % would increase as my balance declined due to them managing my account into the ground. I was told the fee % would not change but it did. When I asked another Fidelity account manager about this he simply laughed and said the previous manager must not have understood. He could not explain why my wife's investment "choices" were identical to mine even though her risk tolerance was different than mine. I would be willing to say that ALL managed accounts have the exact investments regardless of how you answered your risk tolerance questions. Your "investment choices" are chosen by nothing other than maximizing their fees and churning your investments once a month. These accounts are not actively managed as they indicated. Fidelity is not a fiduciary and I foolishly trusted them. I am moving my accounts elsewhere and urge anyone that reads this not to make the mistake of trusting them with your finances.

by K B,  5/6/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  Will professionally manage your money into the ground.

Review:  Hired Ben Siegel (Fidelity account professional)to proffesionly manage my account. Had me at 60%- 40%, stocks to bonds, after 18 months ,his record with my money -When the market went up I gained 43%,when the market went down I lost 78%.He lost over $100,000 of my money first 10 weeks of 2022…………….and that’s proffesionly managed.I think CFP means can’t F******G perform.time to listen to warren Buffet and just let a monkey throw darts at a board.

by Tommy chang,  5/3/2022

Pros:  Large pool of investors

Cons:  Poor client services

Review:  Fidelity has grown so large with its customer money pool, the client services has gone down compared to etrade and ameritrade services.

by Hans Solo,  4/29/2022

Pros:  Fast execution; funds transfer

Cons:  Don't give a [BLEEP] about customers; won't answer yes/no questions; corporate double-speak

Review:  Had a margin call of around $1000 and I had in excess of 100x that in the account. Fidelity sold stock to meet the call of that day even though I had met 100% of other calls previously either by selling stock or transferring funds. Customer DISservice said "we can do whatever we want whenever we want". Stock prices in my portfolio for that day were UP when the liquidation occurred. Neither Customer DISservice nor upper level management would 'fess-up' to their screw up. Fidelity states that they give until 3pm but that's just words to put you off. They'll [BLEEP] you whenever they want to.

by Dow Pickle,  4/6/2022

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  I am a small investor. I am retired and do this on the side. The platform they have for you to use is called Active Trader Pro. There news feed is always late, so the market has already reacted by the time you get the news. There chart for the market has a minimum 1 minute frequency, so there again your late getting the reaction of the numbers.
This might be ok for big businesses but is no good for the small trader who is just trying to make a living. I actually could go out and find a minimum wage job and probably make more money. But, I'm 66 and can't do that kind of work. Which I guess I'm lucky to make anything on there. Lots of small investors have lost there savings in there and I can see how they would.
In conclusion, I would advise all small investors to find somewhere else to go do your trading. I can not say how the larger investors do, but I will say there platform they have for you to use, sucks. If I knew how, I believe I would sue them for some of my loses, as It seems when I make a move, they react to it. It is almost like they are watching.

by 1949fed,  3/25/2022

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  I wish I could give the company less than 1 star. I am an estate executor and Fidelity refuses to give me information about the account I have to liquidate to settle the estate. Called many times, provided lots of paperwork including a court affidavit demanding the money. Fidelity refuses to abide by the law. Filed an SEC complaint and a complaint with my state's attorney general. Done with this crooked outfit.

by Sean,  3/12/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  Many, extremely poor financial services and advisor access.

Review:  Worst customer service. I am a “High Value” customer. My advisor won’t respond to emails. Wont respond to requests for a meeting. Has his assistant call and set up a meeting. I setup a meeting with him thru his assistant. Appointment is confirmed. At appointment time, I am informed he is no longer available and I can talk to her. This has happened multiple times. All she wants to talk about is giving them control of my IRA at .7% interest on a million dollar plus fund. Hung up when I didn’t do it. He won’t return email messages. All they want is to get you to sign up for their services, which are generic algorithm based and charge you big dollars for the service. I can’t get them to change my advisor. Avoid them at all cost.

by James F.,  3/5/2022

Pros:  No strengths

Cons:  Back office a mess and untrained staff

Review:  Let's begin by I worked in a bank. Unfortunately, the less than 2 years I spent in a money center management training program taught me more than veterans in Fidelity's back office.

My review:

Personal trading: cheap, efficient, solid
Fidelity investment management: buy an index fund, it will generate the same or higher returns.
Cash management: Do not. The back office is clueless and will cost you time and frustration.
Wire transfers: Do not. The back office is clueless and will cost you time and frustration. They promise me it’s improved. I'm not willing to test it with my money.

Overall an ok place to put your money. But once it’s there don't expect to be able to access it.

by william b,  2/23/2022

Pros:  Decent website

Cons:  almost everything

Review:  just terrible. have been trying to receive a wire transfer from a foreign bank and fidelity is completely useless. every time i call fidelity to ask why the funds have not hit my account they give me different answers. its obvious that none of them know what they're doing and the sending bank basically just laughs every time i tell them what fidelity is saying what the problem is. they (fidelity) have now asked for a wire trace 3 times even though they have a copy of the swift confirmation from the sending bank. every time i call about this i get put on hold for an inordinate amount of time, only to finally get bad advice.

all this is in addition to me trying to pay the IRS my taxes using my fidelity cash management account and the payment getting denied becasue there is a limit of $10,000 per transaction (the account has multiples of that in it). After spending hours on the phone w them over 2 days they finally got approval for a one time transfer of the right amount. so i tried and it was still denied -- this time the reason was because when fidelity saw the amount going out they thought it was fraudulent (depsite the hours i had been on the phone with them telling them the amount that needed to be sent).

just a total joke. as soon as I'm back in the US I'm transferring all of my money out of fidelity

by Caroline,  2/1/2022

Pros:  None

Cons: 

Review:  Sold some of my unit trusts without telling me, to take their management fee because, for some peculiar reason, they are incapable of deducting their fees from our monthly dividends before paying those dividend into our bank accounts. Idiotic customer service people, just keep repeating phrases from a 'script'. We cannot speak to anyone in real authority...those will not speak directly to us because clearly they regard us as 'prey' to be milked for their benefit.

by R.Good,  1/26/2022

Pros:  Good Firm

Cons:  Horrible Cash management Stystem

Review:  I transferred money to fidelity and I never knew I had to wait a entire week to receive my funds fidelity need a better system when it comes to funds transfer from bank to bank I'm late on my rent thanks for this long waiting period

by Mad Mom,  1/26/2022

Pros:  Can't find one yet

Cons:  They lecture and helpful advice is not helpful

Review:  Long story short: prior to child going in to military, a power of attorney was set up as he knew there were items I would need to handle in his absence. Everything was completed with an attorney per law.

My son let me know he transferred his retirement accounts to fidelity and asked me to watch for them. One transfer to his account was not showing up. We then received a letter from Fidelity with the check in the mail saying there was a problem, please call.

I called to inquire how I can provide a copy of POA to them and once they receive it, how can I deposit check? I was lectured that I am not allowed in to his account. They locked access to it immediately.

Then I was lectured they do not know who I am and they cannot talk to me. I asked again how I can send them the POA. After more lectures, she agreed to email me the form to complete and how to submit my POA. Then she told me to read the letter carefully. (Note: I did, that is why I called.)

The email was actually a template of a POA. ????? My son is in basic training (which she knew) and I have no communication with them besides regular postal mail and random 6 minutes phone calls. So exactly how am I supposed to do a NEW POA? And now I am discovering their "policy" on POA's has requirements above what law is. Tell me how I get a new POA with my child unreachable, unavailable?

Customer service woman- a big zero.

Update: Just called to get address on where to send POA since their email is useless. Also explained my issue with the POA. They at least gave me the address but did not answer the other question. Customer service man was very nice but does not make up for the lady who wasted 40 minutes of my time with a lecture.

by Doug,  1/21/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  Never get anything right

Review:  I have multiple accounts (not my choice) with Fidelity. Trying to withdraw my Required Minimum Distributions (RMD) each year from the two accounts is a very painful process. They never get the withholding correct and blame it on "system problems". Once they failed to issue the automatic RMD which was setup correctly. It took two years to get the IRS to refund the 50% fine (yes 50%). Last year the line was "we are going to have to get IT involved". Seriously, its just an RMD. They are worthless!!

by Kait,  1/19/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  Suspicious activity, and frankly the list is too long to write

Review:  I am in the unfortunate position of having an old 401K with Fidelity that I am now trying to consolidate, due to a life event. When I initially tried to do this 7 years ago, I gave up because the process was too frustrating - and that still hasn't changed. Every other 401k provider I have worked with has made this process as seamless and easy possible. I knew this would be problematic the minute I was told I would need to call the bank directly, after trying to initiate this process online. After speaking with several snarky customer service agents, it became clear that this was going to take far more time and energy than it should. For the actual roll over process, this is the only bank that will NOT do a direct electronic roll over, even with COVID - is this 1999? Additionally, they attempted to charge me a fee, for "record keeping". I was told that I would have to pay the full fee for 2022, despite it being charged on a quarterly basis, and the fact that I was requesting the roll over on less than 30 days into Q1 (Jan 2022). I could understand having to pay for Q1 at this point, but the rest of the year? No way. Thinking this was extremely shady, I decided to call back for a different rep. After initiating my request with a new rep, no mention of such a fee was made. Thank goodness I had the gut feeling that something was wrong. I seriously hope that Fidelity will take this seriously and look into this. Last but certainly not least, of all my accounts Fidelity continues to be the worst performer.

by Monaseeta Herring,  1/19/2022

Pros:  Absolutely none

Cons:  Not enough time or room to list them all

Review:  I have been trying to make a withdrawal from my 401k for almost a month. I called to initiate the withdrawal and they kept asking if I was calling for myself or for someone else?? I answered every single identity question correctly. The first two times they told me they were reviewing my account because they were unable to verify my identity?? Really?? The fact that I answered every question correctly is not an indicator that it's me? Then why do you ask the questions at all. I call a third time to once again attempt to make a withdrawal. Again they were unable to verify my identity because as I said answering their questions correct is not an indicator that it is you. So they say they are sending me a secure email with instructions to verify my identity. They send the email to my email account on file and I have to write out on a piece of paper: my name, DOB, phone number, work item number, explain why I am making the withdrawal then date it and sign it. Then take a picture of this insanity along with my driver's license. I did. They were unable to verify my identity and had to review it further?? My account is locked and when I ask what exactly is the issue or reason they don't believe that it is me? They can't answer that until they verify my identity. It's an insane nauseating circus show. They are holding my money hostage. I don't even know what to do or where to go about this. The customer service agents are horribly incompetent and disrespectful and just rude.

by Upset Customer,  1/17/2022

Pros:  None

Cons:  So Many

Review:  Submitted a hardship withdrawal for my Mother in laws funeral expenses. She passed away in Mexico. I submitted a death certificate and provided a receipt that I fought for because no one wanted to provide receipts for anything! This has been a nightmare. This is my own Money and even after providing everything, nothing. You do not have access to anyone who makes these decisions and cutomer service tries their best but all they can do is add a note to your file. DO NOT keep giving them your money. How ironic is it that they make money with your money but you can't take out your money? You litterly need to fight for your money. I changed my contribution to zero and will start investing my money in a company where I can touch my money in a hardship. As of today, its been about 3 weeks and I'm still waiting on a supervisor to call me back.

by Gokhan D,  1/14/2022

Pros:  none

Cons:  Useless customer service

Review:  Most of the customer reps are really incompetent. They don't understand trading and are just there to read scripts on the phone. they will dismiss your concerns.

by FYE,  1/11/2022

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  For anyone who has a Fidelity Account (outside of their 401(k)), please read the WSJ Article on Monday 1/10/22 written by Glenn Ruffenach (How Financial Advisers Get Paid: What the Readers Think).

This is a very thought provoking article, talking about fees and the amount of work being done.

by Bill,  1/11/2022

Pros:  None !

Cons:  There gaining and I'm loosing!

Review:  I watch my wife's empower account go up while my fidelity account keeps going down WTF!

by Satish,  1/3/2022

Pros:  Knowledgeable brokers

Cons:  Getting to a live broker is a big challenge - Need to wait 45-50 mins to get to one

Review:  Each customer service call takes forever to get to a rep. There is not even an option to leave a call back number instead customers are forced to wait 45-50mins. Even small mom-and-pop companies are offering call-back features these days.

by MK,  1/3/2022

Pros:  Didn't experience any

Cons:  Very difficult to set up accounts online, worthless linking to your bank online

Review:  Their system of linking to a customer's bank is severely lacking. I attempted to set up HSA Go accounts (Their cute little name for a robo-advisor account) for my wife and me. After going through their process it created a regular HSA. 3 hours on the phone later with a rep sharing my screen, he finally saw that on one step their site was throwing me from their robo advisor signup to a regular one. Ok, fine, programming glitch. Got it worked out. Then I tried to link my bank account to move money to them. My wife's account linked fine. My account at the same bank- nope. Had to mail in a request to link the accounts.

Three weeks later and we're in to 2022. I'm ready to max out already for the year. I move money in to my account and there were no problems. I tried to move money in to my wife's and it says there is no linked account! Her bank showed up, but linked to a "regular" HSA. Little button that says "Link to your Fidelity Go account." Should be easy- just click, link, move money, go to lunch. Nope. "Due to a technical error we are unable to link your account at this time, try again later or give us a call".

Called. Passed around to FIVE different people. Finally told what must be their standard "Mail us a request to link your bank." What the serious Hell? You can read the same information off a piece of paper I mail you and make it happen but you can't take my info over the phone when you have ALREADY VALIDATED THAT THE BANK ACCOUNT IS MINE!?

Didn't go for that. I had enough. If it's that hard to get money TO Fidelity, what fresh hell was it going to be to get money FROM them if I need to?

I then had to speak with 3 other people to reverse the deposit I made to my account and close out all of our accounts with Fidelity. I just don't trust them. No one that answers the phone will take ownership of any issue and keep passing you around to department after department. Their employees must have incredibly specific areas of responsibility- Like "Dan" for instance might be in charge of any issues starting with the letter "P" that have to do with people from Nevada with Icelandic surnames. If you get him and your name is Smith from Indiana and you have a Login problem, he has to put you on a brief 10 minute hold to get you to Peter who handles problems beginning with L form people with the last name Smith from the state of Indiana.

How can Fidelity have been around for this long and suck so bad with simple bank linking?

While on the phone with the useless people at Fidelity I went to Livelyme.com and set up HSA accounts for my wife AND me, linked our accounts and had it funded before Fidelity could get me off the phone.

No, I don't work for Lively...I was just impressed that their site worked and I could get two accounts set up in the time it took Fidelity to get me to the right person to CLOSE my accounts with them!

by chuck levin,  12/13/2021

Pros:  Helpful if you ever reach them

Cons:  You'll never reach them

Review:  Doesn't matter when I call, I can not reach a support person, other than the wrong one who promises to connect me to the right one. Interminable holds. Unfortunately, their website has a number of kinks making certain transactions difficult or impossible to figure out or consummate. It's hard to imagine why a company of this magnitude allows this to continue.

by Ken,  12/9/2021

Pros:  Software tools for screening investments

Cons:  Customer Service, Rollover Processing

Review:  The process of rolling money over from TSP (Federal Gov't) to Fidelity took more than twice as long, and required more paperwork, than the process of rolling funds over from TSP to TIAA-CREF. That's right, Fidelity is less efficient than both the US Federal Gov't and TIAA-CREF (100 year old teacher's annuity firm).

In terms of support, my funds arrived at TIAA-CREF and were immediately invested into a plan that my TIAA-CREF team had worked with me to prepare in advance so the purchases were made when the funds arrived. My funds arrived (finally...) at Fidelity, and languished for 6 weeks while I slowly invested them in what had by then become a correcting market. The Fidelity advisor was uninterested in doing anything but gathering information about my risk preferences (etc.) for some Fidelity database (which I do not access and from which I do not benefit), and trying to sell me customized portfolio advice.

Fidelity was trustee for a small 401A with a former employer that employer was shutting down and transferring to a another broker/custodian. The former employer gave me 90 days notice. I filled out the paperwork and paid for the notarized signatures (something only Fidelity requires) to transfer the funds internally within Fidelity. Giving up on my 'team', I dropped the paperwork off at a local fidelity office, and -nothing-. I filled out the paperwork again, paid for the notary signatures again, and -the paperwork expired-.

I'm now well past the 90 day notice the former employer gave me, waiting (20 minutes and counting) for assistance from Fidelity phone support, and posting this note to a random web page because there seems to be no way to provide feedback to Fidelity directly about my support experience, except to the support representatives themselves. Not even a mailing address for customer support.

If you are shopping for an investment broker, do yourself a favor, and use someone else.

by Mike,  12/2/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  Customer Service

Review:  I have several accounts with Fidelity and have been trying to contact then via phone for 3 days now but ditto all prior reviews. They do not answer phone. I have been on hold for one to three hours with no one picking up. I am on hold right now, its only been 45 minutes so far. If you want fast, reliable money managemnet / service Fidelity is not the place to invest your money. I am closing my accounts via another broker...

by DL,  11/11/2021

Pros:  Absolutely nothing

Cons:  Everything

Review:  First of all, I will NEVER enter my user name, password, date of birth, and social security number on an automated system - isn't that 'online common sense 101'???!!!!

Unbelievable that that is the very first step to being allowed to speak to an agent. What are you thinking? Virtual chat is worthless. Never connects.

As for the actual customer service, sadly I have yet to find out. After 3 calls and being on hold for 13, 15, and 14 minutes respectively, I had to hang up and get on with my life. Thank goodness I'm closing this account. If I weren't already calling to do so, I'd definitely close it now!

by wayne,  11/8/2021

Pros:  none

Cons:  customer support

Review:  Customer service is the WORST I have ever seen! Pathetic! Hold times 2 hrs!!!!!!!!!! That is not acceptable. Most recent hold time they did better 1hr 30 minutes! after 2 hr hold, trying to ask questions on my options, man said I should know what im talking about before call!!!!! Absolutely unbelievable.

by Lynn Fey,  11/8/2021

Pros:  Good mutual funds

Cons:  Horrible customer services

Review:  The virtual chat is useless. If you want to its customer service, you have to wait for several hours to be connected.

by BD,  10/28/2021

Pros:  This is not applicable - I’ve experienced no positives from any people contact

Cons:  NEVER available - would like to have advisor changed but can’t talk to the company. Planning appointments cancelled at the last minute - cannot get anyone to pickup phone - waits of 30-45 minutes before hanging up

Review:  Good research system. My company has 401k with them.

by richard dillenbeck,  10/6/2021

Pros:  I don't have enough knowledge about investment companies to really comment.

Cons:  Sometimes assigned contact does not return calls, has happened maybe 3-4 times, different reps in four years.

Review:  I'm writing this comment here as I see no other way to do it. Fidelity apparently has no email that customers can use to send a comment. Here it is: I have to laugh when I see the commercial Fidelity is using on the PBS newshour. Actors portray a lovely Fidelity rep meeting with a handsome couple in a huge modern public room to discuss the couple's private investments. They act as though they are old friends who have been working together for years and the rep displays great courtesy and personal interest. Highly unrealisticc and rather dishonest in a way, inferring all Fidelity customers will have such a personal rep to work with in person. You can send the rep to Augusta, GA anytime and I will be glad to work with her. May I suggest if you feel the need to pay for expensive ads, make them a little more realistic. Maybe not shameful but certainly misleading. Get your vaccinations!

by fucked over customer,  9/1/2021

Pros:  THERE ARE NONE

Cons:  EVERY THING ABout them

Review:  fidelity jus screws it customer they limit the prices you can sell a stock at
they screw you out of up to a penny a share on a trade
they sell your stock to other ppl to short them and you get nothing but screwd for it
they sell your stock before you even get to cover your cost t+2 does not mean anything to them they think they have total controll of your account and sell your stock at any time they cancell your trades and then sell your stock of a loss just to fuck you over

by LJ,  8/17/2021

Pros:  None, None, None

Cons:  There is nothing you can compliment this company on

Review:  Run, get off of INfidelity's website. Do not open an account, do not try to talk to customer service. I have tried to do some investing with the help of INfidelity's stock picks. Complete and absolute incompetence. Last stock I bought from INfidelity's stock pick was a 10 outta 10. You'd think you would make a little money of a 10/10 stock. NO!! It drops 50% in 3 weeks. This website is a SCAM!!! RUN RUN RUN!!!

by Deana Dutcher,  8/17/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  The flat try to steal your money

Review:  My husband died 6 months ago. They are withholding information about his pension in order to run out the clock. If they don’t give me the information I have the absolute right to have in 90 days I will be stuck with a crappie little annuity instead of the lump sum I have the right to choose. They sell annuities for a huge profit. Why would anyone choose that? My husband did not choose that. He wasn’t stupid. The crappie little annuity only pays a pittance until I die. They are cheating my husband’s disabled son by the Scumbag way they do business. They claim my husband had chosen the annuity. Then why will they not send me the paperwork to prove it? If I don’t accept the crappie little annuity within 6 months of the date my husband died I get nothing. Nothing at all. They have pulled every trick in the book to bleed me out past that date. They just sit and wait. Take it or leave it no matter what your rights are. We hired an estate attorney. He said that what they are doing “That is not a thing. They can’t do that.”
If it does happen, that they succeed in stealing from widows with disabled children, I’ll take that crappie little annuity and live for years and years and years out of pure spite. I’m retired. I’ve got nothing better to do than expose them for the crooks and creeps they are. People need to know. I’m just the person for the job. Facebook, Twitter, TV news channels, governmental agencies that protect the elderly and disabled…. The last breath I draw on this earth will be spent making them pay in one way or another.

by Allen,  8/16/2021

Pros:  Website is ok

Cons:  Customer Service

Review:  Customer service is terrible. I get no feedback on actions. No survey after customer service interactions. Customer service people are nice but have not been helpful in clearing up issues. I thought the chat feature would be helpful but in one case the person could not comprehend a simple, detailed paragraph. In another case I was told to call in to the 7 days a week, 24 hours a day service line. The service line is NOT 7 days a week, 24 hours a day but more like normal business hours. I may go elsewhere because of the poor customer service. It will be a pain in the butt but it will probably be worth it.

by ,  8/6/2021

Pros:  My employer's 401k is held through Fidelity

Cons:  Terrible, terrible website

Review:  Cannot find basic information such as what proportion in the various funds are Roth vs ordinary, and fund prospectuses.

by Charlie,  8/6/2021

Pros:  returns have gotten better the last few years

Cons:  turnaround or orders on website has been slowed

Review:  I have used Fidelity PAS for twenty years, and have been retired for eleven. They have my IRA and two brokerage accounts, plus my wife's accounts. I do essentially all my transactions online. Recently orders and transfers were happening the same day if entered them before noon eastern time, and money would be sent to my CU that evening. But for the last two or three months, it seems that settlements are being delayed, and it can take up to five days for money to move. Last month I made a fairly large purchase, $4k, and the transfer of funds to complete the deal took a week to reach my CU. This delayed pickup of the merchandise.

It also seems that settlement days on orders without a transfer are also being predicted as taking more time. Customer Service has not been able to explain the change. I've opened a cash account and maintain a balance to try to offset the delays.

by Daring_Greatly,  7/9/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  Terrible Website, Low Tech, Zero Customer Service, Hidden Fees

Review:  Misleading business practices: Fidelity charges an astronomical fee for foreign stock purchase. It was not prominently known they charge a $50 commission- it was in small print and factored into the final price. Most often, trades are made in split seconds, therefore, myself along with countless others have been burned with this astronomical fee, that charges $50 to BUY and to SELL the position. I only bought maybe 5 shares around a $1 each, how is it fair to charge $50? eTrade only charges $6.95. That is absurd and I will no longer be using Fidelity for the rest of my life- I'm 32 years old and planned on keeping them as my primary investment account for life, not anymore and never again. Don't be fooled by their ZERO fee promotions! Not to mention how their APP is grabage!! literally, 2021, and it looks beta from 2008. Your better off reading the newspaper.

by LFJ,  7/8/2021

Pros:  NONE

Cons:  ALL

Review:  Market goes up, Fidelity account goes down
Market goes down, Fidelity account goes down

by Lisa Cox,  6/29/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  Chooses previous employer recommendations over consumer

Review:  Had a 401k through my previous employer Lincare. Account went lower than the company threshold and I was emailed and given options on what I could do with the remaining money. Went online chose that I just wanted a distribution check, and within a week received a letter stating my check had been issued. Two weeks later (never received check) receive an email stating since the check was not cashed I forfeited $640!!!! back to Lincare and Lincare request the remaining be sent to Millennium Trust?! I call Millennium only to find out if I’m issued a check now that more will come out for taxes, and that I need to contact Fidelity because something seemed off?! After going round and round for over 2 hours with Fidelity I got absolutely no where and now I guess I will lose more money because Fidelity refuses to send the 1099 until tax time?! I will never do business with them again nor will anyone in my family!

by Abbie,  6/10/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  Will Ban you then freeze your money

Review:  Fidelity randomly locked me out of my account and told me I needed to fax them information to get it unlocked. I faxed them the information and called them again and they wanted me to fax them more information. Each of these calls took a few hours because they kept putting me on hold. Eventually after calling for a whole day I got my account unlocked. The next day it was locked again so after calling again for another day they told me my account was locked and I could no longer use their service. They said they wouldn't even let me log in to transfer the money or liquidate my stocks. They said if I wanted to take out my money I would have to use a broker and pay a brokerage fee. However, after waiting for hours to connect to a broker I was told I couldn't move my money because they locked the account. Basically they told my I couldn't login, touch my money or stocks, or move my money in any way and I could never use their service again. They did this all in a very disrespecting and uncaring manner that was very time consuming (they would put you on hold for hours then come back with no solutions or help, so what was the hold for?). Worst of all they did not give a reason for why they did this. Eventually I went to Schwab and transferred my account to Schwab. Fidelity didn't help at all but Schwab helped me and I am grateful for the help Schwab provided.

by Grace,  5/20/2021

Pros: 

Cons:  Poor Customer Service

Review:  It takes 11 days for a bank account to be verified and payments to be made. The customer service representatives are very rude and don't even try to be helpful.. They just make excuses for their very slow system and dismiss your concerns. Fidelity is a very poorly run company.

by Fidelity Customer,  5/6/2021

Pros:  none

Cons:  Terrible experience. Little technical investment /planning knowledge.

Review:  Set up a meeting with my Financial Advisor using their scheduling tool the assistant for the site sent me. Did this Sunday... for a Friday morning meeting. Selected one of the available times and provided topics to discuss on Friday.

Late Wednesday night the Financial Advisor calls and indicates he has another meeting at that time and can't make it. He then suggests that I work with someone else and quickly hangs up.

Absolute lack of customer empathy, support, or respect.

by Frustrated,  4/22/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  Non-Secure Accounts, Zero Customer Service and Accountability

Review:  Our Fidelity IRA account was stolen - we lost close to $200K. At the onset we spoke to a customer service representative who said he would research the matter and get back to us but that never happened. Subsequent attempts to call Customer Service have resulted in being placed on hold for hours. Fidelity provides an online e-mail portal specifically for fraud however multiple e-mails sent through this channel have gone unanswered. Fidelity has also refused to respond to registered mail. Is this the company you want to entrust your life savings with?

by David,  3/19/2021

Pros:  Great website

Cons:  Extremely poor customer service

Review:  It's like there are no people in the company. Not a company I want my money in.

by Chris,  3/16/2021

Pros:  Web Site typically works well, not as intuitive as it could be... A bit circuitous at times.

Cons:  Extremely difficult to reach a human being, incredibly long hold times.

Review:  In the past, going back a few years Fidelity was a pleasure to deal with. The firm seemed to be staffed with very knowledgeable, and efficient customer service representatives. Sadly, such is not the case now. Fidelity Investments would not be my recommendation to care for your nest egg. There are so few touch points that any brokerage firm has to distinguish itself above their competition. The periodic statement. Many of which are now delivered online. Another of course is the occasional telephone call. Lastly, the Fidelity mobile APP which now has "improved" so it no longer works on an Apple Phone 6 (Anything Less than IOS14) No longer able to do a simple check deposit using the phone 6.

by JK,  3/9/2021

Pros:  web site ok, a bit hard to navigate.

Cons:  Lose money in a bull market.

Review:  Dow goes up, fidelity investment goes down, lose money.
Dow goes down, fidelity investment goes down, lose money.

by HZ,  3/8/2021

Pros:  none

Cons:  none

Review:  Very dishonest organization. Easy to transfer money in. Then they hold it hostage. Can not get any customer assistance. It's like they are shutting down. Go anywhere else.

by Shannon Smith,  3/3/2021

Pros:  They have a long history of being a well rated investment management house

Cons:  Complete lack of customer service

Review:  I am writing this review in the hope that someone at Fidelity will read it and fix the broken customer service department! And quick! I have been a customer for literally decades and have a lot of money in multiple accounts there, but after 3 weeks of being completely unable to contact anyone at Fidelity (either through secure email that goes unanswered or phone calls where I sit on hold for an hour with no answer), I am leaning toward finding a new firm to work with. Extremely disappointed

by Jens,  3/3/2021

Pros:  none

Cons:  ZERO customer service

Review:  As a Retail investor with Fidelity Trading Platform for the past 7 years I can definitely say that their customer service has gone from fair to terribly poor: questions asked in writing on their website MORE THAN 3 WEEKS ago remain unanswered, as do any and all follow-ups I sent - phoning them is not a viable option as it has been impossible to speak to anyone. Yet this morning I heard on Business news that Fidelity INCREASED the client base by about 17%. Clearly, they are far more concerned in growing their NEW client base than they are in MAINTAINING their existing client base. I will most definitely begin the process of finding an alternate to Fidelity and transfer my accounts. Sad that they grow their client base with promises that they know they will not keep!

by Jeff B.,  3/2/2021

Pros:  I have stayed with Fidelity for 25 years because of their telephone customer service

Cons:  Cannot get anyone to answer the phone now!

Review:  I am looking at other homes for my retirement funds. Fidelity has been awesome in phone support up until the end of 2020. Now you cannot get anyone on the phone. Their IVM keeps trying to get you to go online. If I had an issue that could be resolved online, I wouldn't be calling.
Sounds like management has made some really bad customer support decisions. This is NOT COVID related since their phone support was working fine until very recently.

by Tom McGrath,  2/26/2021

Pros:  None - because customer service is non-existent

Cons:  Phone hold times are excessive.

Review:  I've called 5 times in the past year to try to get something with an account changed, but in each case, after several hours on hold I gave up. I've sent 4 secure emails, and with each response, they told me I needed to call.
I'm not sure how they compare since I dint have the option to trade elsewhere because my employer plan is at Fidelity.

by Marie,  2/26/2021

Pros:  none, cant reach one

Cons:  cannot reach one

Review:  Cant get any customer assistance in two weeks

by Brian,  2/25/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  Unethical company with terrible customer service

Review:  Fidelity issued me an incorrect 1099 reflecting a transaction as not-taxable. I informed them of their mistake and they acknowledge that it is wrong but refuse to correct it because there is no proof it was their fault. They do not care that the information they provided to the IRS is wrong (I owe tens of thousands of dollars more than they reported), the only thing they care about is the fact that there is no proof that the error is their fault. They actually pulled recorded calls from the transaction over a year ago to try to prove that I did not tell them the money would be going into a Roth account. I did tell them that at the time and even if I hadn't, as an investment management company they have an obligation to provide accurate information to the IRS. Finding out that the money went to a Roth account and was therefore taxable should immediately trigger a corrected 1099, it should not matter whether there is proof that they were responsible for the mistake. We spoke to about 15 different people on about 10 separate calls with probably 3-5 hours on hold trying to get this corrected. I do not believe that Fidelity is an ethical company and I would not trust them with any of my investments.

by Macmillan -Ouy R.n.,  2/24/2021

Pros:  zero

Cons:  disrespectful

Review:  Fidelity retirement pension so called managers,need to develops social skills and widen their understanding and compassion about and toward others! They slander and character assassinations of the physically disabled and elderly is near criminal and a shallow assessment!! I do not know how Fidelity can still be in business,when your 8-38yr olds attack verbally your long term elderly retirees??! Thus investors beware for if you need your lump distribution,this company demands that you have a power of attorney,putting you and your money at risk for high fees and potential theft!! Each employee calls themself a manager which is extremely worrisome!!! Terrible and disrespectful retirement pension team that most individuals should be fired!! MS. MacMillan -Ouy R.n.

by Randy S,  2/18/2021

Pros:  None

Cons:  Poor Customer Service

Review:  I have been trying to get a hold of a representative. All I get when I call numerous Fidelity phone numbers is put on hold. I don't have the time to sit on hold for these long times. And I am too important for this crap. They should hire new people to cover these wait times. Because of their terrible no-show customer service I moved $500,000 to another broker. Now I will remove the rest of my funds to another broker. Guess they don't mind losing customers and money. What a joke.

by adw,  2/17/2021

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  Horrible customer service can never get anyone on the Phone
Run like a mickey mouse operation

by Sammie,  2/16/2021

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  Cannot reach to a live person and cannot get help from anyone. Horrible
Their website has tech problem. Service is horrible

by Todd C,  2/12/2021

Pros: 

Cons:  Customer Service

Review:  I'm having the same issue as others... I have been trying for 3 days to get someone on the phone to help me with getting signed in. I sit on hold for 60-90 minutes for the last 3 days with no response/answer and no other options to contact. I want to make one thing clear... "My call is (NOT) important to Fidelity". Tough times for many right now, but I'm not experiencing this issue with another firm and it's not acceptable (to me anyway). I will be taking my business elsewhere.

by CHRIS,  2/12/2021

Pros:  Account with them for 20 years

Cons:  Hard to get on phone

Review:  I waited 45 minutes on hold. I mentioned this when the broker came on and he told me it was because of new customers from RobinHood because they were angry about the Gamestop trading. He was polite and answered my questions. I would say the hold time was the frustrating part. If not corrected might make me reconsider using them in the future.

by Ms J,  2/9/2021

Pros:  Good website

Cons:  Horrible representative

Review:  I was so shocked about their customer services. Just had a call today with the rep after 45 minutes waiting. He was keeping making very loud weird noise and eating food loudly. He answered my questions in very cold way. I can't stand for the very loud noise and decide to do research by myself. This is the first time ever I called Fidelity and I don't understand why they sounded like customer owe them. Very disappointed. They all should be replaced by AI.

by FJ,  2/9/2021

Pros: 

Cons:  Customer service

Review:  Impossible to get a representative on the phone. I have been waiting three hours in total, over three different days, with no answer.

by Rhondal D Burns,  2/3/2021

Pros: 

Cons:  Will delay your Rollover to another Broker

Review:  My wife's Truist Financial 401(K) was turned over to FidelityNetBenefits. She called on 1/28/2021 to Rollover to TDA. Acct. transactions shows acct. -0- as of 1/29/21 with $25 Overnight mail charge. She got email today 2/3 saying funds were just sent out. Will not get in time to forward and purchase what she wants at TDA IRA. Funds in Fidelity's hands from 1/29/2021 until check deposited by TDA probably no sooner than 2/9/2021. Do we really think Fidelity is not using those funds. They should be investigated and sued again for the 3rd or 4th time.

by Robert Burge,  2/2/2021

Pros:  I’m shocked to see these complaints! My wife and I have been with Fidelity for 34 yrs. Over all these years, every time I've called, I've been met with extremely courteous, professional, and knowledgeable reps. We made a mistake and moved my wife to Morgan Stanly and through miserable account mgt. we lost $24K in an intense Bull year. We're back with Fidelity and won’t go elsewhere.

Cons:  Absolutely ZERO complaints, I praise Fidelity reps every time I speak with them!

Review:  I’m shocked to see so many complaints!?! My wife and I have been with Fidelity for 34 years. Over all these years, every time I've called, I've been met with the most highly trained, courteous, professional, and knowledgeable reps of any service oriented company. We made a mistake and moved a portion of my wife's IRAs to Morgan Stanly and through abysmal account mgt. we lost $24K in an intense Bull year. We are comfortably back with Fidelity and won’t go elsewhere else. The have more than earned our business.

by Gary,  12/30/2020

Pros: 

Cons:  No Customer Service

Review:  I have tried to get anyone on the telephone at Fidelity to answer the phone, or answer an email. Absolutely no luck!!!!
After 3 days of being on hold, at which time the telephone automatically hangs up, I am getting a LITTLE frustrated!
Oh, and I am a "Premium Service" customer!

by Marshall,  12/29/2020

Pros: 

Cons:  Poor customer service

Review:  I needed to sell some gold before the year was out, so it would be on this year's taxes. I called to sell on Dec. 29, so I should have had plenty of time. I called at 10 in the morning, and was on hold until late in the afternoon. When I tried to place the order they said the markets had closed, the order would not process until the next day, and they would not have funds to disburse to me for 2 days. So that ended up being Jan. 3, missing my deadline. If they had not taken almost 6 hours to answer the phone, there would have been no problem. Their lack of customer service is going to cost me over $1,000 in taxes now.

by Leonard,  12/21/2020

Pros:  none

Cons:  cannot get a human on the phone

Review:  Placed an option limited order. The price blew right by my order, but it did not fill. Called Fidelity. Waited 33 min, nobody answered. Tried again , same result. They clearly are not serving their customers. This is happening every time I have an issue with them.Their FidelityPro site is horrible, graphs jerk on the screen, hard to move them around the screen.
Under no circumstances you should choose them as your broker. I am closing my account. Enough is enough!

by George,  12/16/2020

Pros:  Cheap

Cons:  Impossible to get a human on the line

Review:  If, for whatever reason, you need to speak to someone, its impossible to get through their "automated misdirect system". Even if you get a notice from them to call, you will not get through unless you have a spare few hours.

by Sean,  12/15/2020

Pros:  The website is usefull

Cons:  The customer service reps are rude and talkative while saying nothing

Review:  I requested a withdraw and was told via email my check would arrive in 7-10 business days, so when I did not have it in 5 I called and suggested we just cancel the check and direct deposit, the advise was, "it should be there very soon" 7 days later, still no check and when I called spoke with Cherish Williams to have it direct deposited the rep was not interested in helping, just talking about over me aggressively

by John Johnson,  12/9/2020

Pros:  full line of investment products

Cons:  poor customer service

Review:  Fidelity has really bad customer service, you might be waiting an hour in the queue. They don't handle email or enable you to get more direct communication with the person handling your request

by Sharon,  11/19/2020

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  We are very pleased with the 2 advisors that we have had for the 25 years we have several accounts with Fidelity. We had one advisor in Oak Brook Illinois for many years, and now one in Naples Florida for many years. Always returned calls or emails immediately and gave us satisfaction. We have 2 IRA accounts, annuities and self managed accounts with them.
Don't understand why there are so many negative reviews.

by Mark E.,  10/21/2020

Pros:  A very disappointing relationship with Fidelity and it's service standards.

Cons:  Bad experience all around. Try calling the 800 number or even the assigned relationship VP.

Review:  Bad news from A-Z

by Song Champion,  10/5/2020

Pros:  Fidelity Investment Company

Cons:  Fidelity investments

Review:  On Thursday I transferred money to Fidelity Investment they told me that they won't margin for my buying until Friday.
Fidelity make up rules as its go!
Today they told me they will have to hold my money until Monday.
It's not a trust investment company to invest with. What U have read about Fidelity Investment customer reviews 100% Truth. STOP! Don't invest with Fidelity. Today is Monday they told they are not gonna margin my account for the money transferred last week. Today I have transferred more money and they won't let me buy even buying with own cash. I in process of fix this problem. STOP! Fidelity is not a recommend company for investment.

by Troy,  9/6/2020

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  My wife and I had IRAs with Fidelity which we closed ten+ years ago. Somehow one cent was left in my wife's account. She has received monthly statements for over ten years for the $.01. She died five years ago. When I call to cancel the statements the want me to fill out numerous forms and provide a death certificate. I'm not going to that trouble for a penny so, I guess, they will just keep sending them.

by Ramesh Kapur,  8/27/2020

Pros:  None

Cons:  unprofessional, rude and weird people

Review:  I made a stupid mistake to entrust life savings to this company . It plays with investor’s money, make weird decision to block trading and penalize investors for venting their anger . If you ask for supervisor, you get more frustrations, for they don’t like to be bothered. Supervisors although get hefty pay-checks, they are weird, rude, belligerent and behave unprofessionally. This company is the worst and investors need to stay away as once you entrust your funds, they are in control, not you any more.

by Brandon,  7/17/2020

Pros:  In the past they were ok

Cons:  Worst Options Trading Platform

Review:  They used to be good but have become the worst. The customer service has become terrible. Their active trader platform is garbage now. It constantly freezes and I've had multiple occasions where positions have disappeared or been incorrect. If it were not for their large team of corporate lawyers, I would pursue suing them since they have cost me money but sure they would just bury the little guy with lawyer fees. I understand that a broker can close an option position to mitigate risk but their risk team has no rhyme or reason to how they do so. I'm sure if they commented on this they would say they have a set procedure. Trust me it's a lie. You might as well not trade options with them on Friday afternoons as they will screw with all your positions.

by Manjeera P,  7/17/2020

Pros: 

Cons:  Customer Service

Review:  They have a horrible customer service. Very unprofessional while talking with customer. They talk as if they are your boss and you are relying on them for their services. There is no straight forward answer from them for your questions but they reply in a very confusing manner. I absolutely hate their customer service.

by Brian Smith,  6/30/2020

Pros:  Really nice but don't care enough to solve the problem...

Cons:  THEY KEEP YOU OFF REAL TIME TRADING!!! My account was not trading on 'real time' for months

Review:  So, 500K+ plus acct and my Broker had not set up his VM and I couldnt get through the auto voice to save the world?
Once they responded to my email I let them know the account was not real time, they gave me some excuse but admitted it was NOT real time quotes and that that is their standard operating procedure? Folks, they want your money and don't want to help.
The manager for the Westlake Village office (Omeed Fijadi) refused to explain the reasons I want activated with real time trading and made me feel like I was wasting his time? Very ambivalent and once again confirmed they didnt really want to help.
Several other issues that could have easily been resolved with a little courtesy and understanding.
Fidelity focuses on large 401K and Corporate accounts, If you have an account under 2M you might look for a customer service friendly company that will take care of you and appreciate your business, ill take the account to TD Ameritrade, they seem to want the business...

by Steve Beai,  6/23/2020

Pros:  NONE

Cons:  See Review

Review:  My father invested with Fidelity via an IRA Account. He was a retired Federal Law Enforcement when he passed away on February 11, 2020. He left this IRA to his spouse BY NAME as beneficiary, even after they were divorced 15 years before he died. She was and IS the beneficiary BY NAME. He listed me, his only child, as "contingent beneficiary" in the event of the primary beneficiary's death...which HAS NOT HAPPENED. That was it. TWO names. TWO family members. I have sent letter upon letter to Fidelity letting them know that I have NO claim on this IRA, that it LEGALLY BELONGS TO THE NAMED BENEFICIARY. Almost 6 months have passed and Fidelity REFUSES to let the beneficiary know even what the amount of the IRA is, so that she can make an informed financial investment decision. This is after ALL NECESSARY PAPERWORK was filed with Fidelity....FOUR MONTHS AGO. (I happen to know, from conversations with my father before he passed away, that this IRA is worth a great deal; in fact, an UNUSUALLY large amount.) Fidelity continues to stonewall the rightful legal beneficiary of my Father's money -- almost as if they are trying to figure out a way to steal it, or at the very least skim as much as they can, ala "Madoff the account." We are a very small family and my father's wishes were made very clear as to who the beneficiary of his IRA would be upon his death. Still, Fidelity continues to stonewall and stonewall - giving phone numbers which are never answered, making excuses that make no sense, and never returning calls to the rightful owner of this IRA. Now, I am getting harassing calls for no reason whatsoever, which is making me feel like my Father died yesterday...again and again, every day, when they have no reason to call me EVER. Despicable people who should be shunned at all costs.

by EquitiesRUs,  6/21/2020

Pros: 

Cons:  Fidelity just ruined the app...

Review:  Fidelity just removed all content from the “Feed” tab (which could be scrolled through without logging in). This was an invaluable feature of the app because it displayed a global map of world market states (up/down), futures and open market values, equity quotes that related to your holdings and watchlists, and market news briefs/links relative to each equity displayed (including quick charts and instant quotes). Additionally, some brainiac actually decided to post a message in place of all that highly relevant content which states “To help you navigate...we’ve streamlined your client experience for the things you do most”. Umm, you mean like knowing where the markets are, where are they headed, what are my holdings doing, etc.?..Why in the world would any client want that kind of stuff immediately available?? Users of the Fidelity app are now forced to use competitors’ mobile apps for that quick access to comparable info throughout the trading day, and I sincerely hope one or more of those competitors offers a workable replacement so that we can take our trading accounts else where.

by kingmaestro7890,  6/12/2020

Pros:  Great app but

Cons: 

Review:  Great investing app but there’s only 1 problem. I’m talking about just how cluttered this app really is. I understand the importance of having all the data right in front of you but there’s a place for everything, except the home screen or the “feed” in this case. The feed section is just way too busy, I don’t care to see anything else but 1 thing, my accounts. I don’t want to see articles or a “guaranteed return rate” and ways to customize my news in my feed. We just need a nice, simple non-interfering, clean visual of our accounts. We don’t need to see what stocks I’m “watching” on my feed when there’s already a dedicated section to viewing all of the stocks I’m already watching, it’s a bit redundant to show me the same thing twice. Also the UI could use a bit of an update, especially if you want to attract the younger generation. Clean design, smooth animations, minimalistic but not too plain is all you need but this app is great for people serious about investing and offers a lot of help from its more than helpful representatives.

by FloridaGator1Card,  6/8/2020

Pros:  Fidelity knows what continuous improvement means.

Cons: 

Review:  I have been with Fidelity for over a decade now and what I can tell you is that they have literally done everything I ever wanted them to do with this app, which sums up to allowing us to do just about everything through this application that you can also do on their website. The app did not always integrate all the functions and data that we had on the website, especially when it came to research and analysis, they changed that. It’s all fully and seamlessly integrated. The app didn’t always allow easy integration with ALL of your accounts, they fixed it. It couldn’t be any easier now. The app is what it is today because a lot of people worked very hard to continue to improve it and honestly I am very thankful. They truly know what continuous improvement means and it shows. Thank you!!

by Dcgc34 pants,  5/23/2020

Pros:  Good Brokerage, Need App Updates

Cons: 

Review:  The good:

These features make it better or as good as the best out there.

- Easy Trading

- “Free” trading

- “Free” partial share trading

- Tax lot tracking

- Advanced charting option

- Text/Email Price alerts

The bad:

- Face ID not supported, making login from a newer iPhone ordeal. For this reason alone I’m using Yahoo for quick checks. Only come in to fidelity for trading. Even with Touch ID the app was slow to open and load.

- Watch list limits are easily met, and getting to watch lists and adding stocks are multiple clicks. Need to use yahoo watch lists to overcome my need to watch a bunch of stock groupings easily.

- For quick looks at charts, I prefer other apps for design...the process for typing in a ticker, getting a chart and being able to manipulate or pull data from the chart is too clunky. Too many clicks and the necessity to go into the advanced charting feature. Most of the time on my app, I’m not advance charting, I just want to quickly look and interact with charts.

5 stars if they add Face ID support and make charts more accessible. Watch list should be next on the list. Not sure why there are small limits on the amount of tickets you can add.

by Tom,  5/21/2020

Pros:  None

Cons:  What brokers or are you referring to the used car salesmen looking to scam you for a commission

Review:  Fidelity is stuck in 1960's technology as a way to make it near impossible to access your funds. For example just to add a family member (My Dad) as I am trustee to write checks against his own retirement fund. You have to get a gold medallion stamp on their form usually a bank VP then send it back by mail. Forgot to mention you first have to fill out the form and send it by mail just to get approval. Stunning in 2020 Fidelity requires you to use the US postal mail system.

by brandonestr,  5/12/2020

Pros:  App’s not bad, but broker is difficult.

Cons: 

Review:  It’s impossible to link my bank to Fidelity, even though I put my correct information in which is more than enough. They have unreasonable demands — you MUST show a voided check, deposit slip with your name and account printed on it, or a bank statement. I just opened my bank a few weeks ago, and I get eStatements. I don’t have checks. The deposit slips don’t list my name. So what, I can’t use Fidelity?

You need to catch up to other brokers with concerns to linking bank accounts. Use test deposits or something. And then to say it’s an additional 4 to 7 business days to process if I’m ever even able to link my bank — unacceptable.

Giving 1 star because the app is decent albeit very cluttered and bloated. Use Robinhood’s classy UI as inspiration for the future please (this goes for other bad UIs like TD, eTrade, etc as well). I have a feeling I’d like Fidelity if I was ever able to use it, unfortunately the severe opportunity cost makes Fidelity a hard pass.

by Angelina M B,  4/29/2020

Pros:  Financial research GIANT! LOVE the data!

Cons: 

Review:  I have tried many other Investment companies over the last 20 plus years for quality research information. I ALWAYS go back to Fidelity Investments for my research on companies, businesses and industries. Fidelity puts technology at the forefront in their business (I know from my own personal experiences with Fidelity over the years). Fidelity is ALWAYS “that” company to spearhead their business with the new advancing technologies. Funny side note...I remember working at Fidelity a LONG TIME AGO when they were one of the first companies using email for their customer accounts before any other investment companies had heard or thought of implementing that new technology. I completely trust the research information you can find on the website or with a customer service agent. I currently like to attend Fidelity’s financial webinars like socially responsible investing to options. The website is a massive resource for those who are looking...

by demDAM11,  4/18/2020

Pros:  More than 50 years !

Cons: 

Review:  Never, never encountered a problem, the opposite, encountered great service all that time. Had IRAs and other small retirement accounts and Fidelity helped me to learn. Took a few classes at Fidelity in Braintree MA and they assisted me along the way. Still maintain my checking account and everything goes in and out smoothly, not one snag ever. I have talked to many account reps along the way and have always been treated with respect.

I have never been told what to do, just provided with the information I needed to help me with my decision making.

After 83 years I am happy to say thank you to Fidelity as they have said “thank you” to me so often.

by GP,  4/9/2020

Pros:  None, buyer beware

Cons:  they are clueless

Review:  Just be aware what you're getting into
they are clueless and incompetent>(period)

by will becker,  4/3/2020

Pros:  honestly NONE> confused and dazed customer service, you can get two or three answers usually wrong to the same question.... the wait times can run an hour . it is sad. period . sad.

Cons:  there is not enough time or space to list the cons. . numbers on what you have change all night two times at least. attitude of so called help is usually wrong and bad.

Review:  I would NEVER recommend Fidelity for your money. I simply have had the worst experience possible. if you go to arbitration you are wasting your time. the wait times are unbelievable and the call center often doesn't give the right answer.

by Val adkins,  3/30/2020

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  Very poor, dishonest customer service. No accountability. If one rep gives bad info, subsequent rep says, too bad you had poor customer service. Lost $ right away, when steps taken to withdraw, stalling, misinformation, resulting in more loss. Had acct with mutual of america for years. perfect service and results.Employer changed to fidelity. Horrible results. They should be investigated.

by Tim Routch,  3/27/2020

Pros:  Nothing good to say

Cons:  No customer Service

Review:  Fidelity is scum and is the worst place to place your money and trust if you want customer service. I needed a rep to verify a purchase and was put on hold for more than two hours. I called 5 times in two days. The stock I wanted (CIMPRD) went from 10 to 17 in the time I had to wait to talk to an agent.
I complained to the agent. His response if you don't like it move your money elsewhere. They have cut their customer service staff so slim it is impossible to talk to anyone. Often the people you talk to don't know what you want. Pathetic for an investment firm.

by Paul Manoogian,  2/27/2020

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  Their preparation of 1099 forms is incorrect and inflexible.
1. I used Qualified Charitable Distributions from my IRA. QCDs are nontaxable. The Fidelity 1099 showed them as taxable; their explanation was "We don't know if the organizations are actually qualified nonprofits. [Then why did they issue the checks?] Just write the amount you feel is taxable on your 1040 Form."
2. My Roth IRA has been with Fidelity for 10 years. The Fidelity 1099 classified my withdrawal as "exception applies," not as a qualified nontaxable withdrawal, because they didn't know if the account met the five-year rule. They refused to issue a 1099 with the correct code. Their solution was that I should change the code on the copy of 1099 I file with the IRS.
Both of these caused issues with my tax preparation. Instead of correcting the 1099s, Fidelity's solution is for me to file 1099s that conflict with the versions they already sent to the IRS. (A filing conflicting with data the IRS has often triggers a probe.)

by Ruth,  2/19/2020

Pros:  None

Cons:  All

Review:  All of you need to file complaints with the departments in your states that regulate banks and securities.

by Doug,  1/14/2020

Pros:  none

Cons:  Expenses were high

Review:  I had a managed account paying 1.25% of the amount invested so about 5K annually.
I also have a brokerage account with them. I was performing between 8-12 % annually and they were a meager 4%I complained and all I got were excuses actually for a time They were losing my core money finally pulled about almost a 500k dollars out and went to Ameritrade and invested the $$ in a Vanguard index fund so so far 6 months I'm up 12% so do not let Fidelity invest your money after paying for their expertise (LOL) you'll barely beat inflation

by C Dawson,  1/13/2020

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  I am a "new customer" with Fidelity Investments, soon to be a "past customer"! Nothing but problems from the beginning, I accept fault for not understanding the process but feel I did not deserve the treatment I received from the Customer Service Reps. The majority were extremely rude, impersonal with no patience, understanding, or empathy for my situation. Exp: I talked to one rep yesterday, he complained that he had problems as well and he was working on a Sunday!
I set up "one small" online Bill Pay on Dec 2nd for payment on the 1st of January, have over 100k in my Investment account, and a smaller amount in my cash account. The payee called and said the check came back, stating insufficient funds. I called Customer Service thought I had it straightened it, was told the money was available, and to resubmit the check, Payee called said the funds were still unavailable. I was beyond embarrassed, to top it off I was charged 12.00 for each overdraft! I finally paid it through my Wells Fargo account and will be moving all my funds out of Fidelity Investments within 24 hours.

by Don S.,  12/21/2019

Pros: 

Cons:  Horrible communication and did not deliver as promised.

Review:  Fidelity sent $430,000 checks via regular United States Postal System with no way to track and a 7-10 day delivery period. To be placed in my outside mail box, outrageous. Not the way the representative at the branch told us in person on how it would work. The representative at the call center have a hard time finding the transaction and then justifying or even knowing for sure about how things are done. This definitely determines my future investments with Fidelity. My family will close and sever all relations with Fidelity.

by Tom,  12/11/2019

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  A definite decline in Fidelity's customer service in their Annuity branch. Submitted request for a return tel call from a annuity Rep. Never came. Tried a direct all and after waiting for a long period of time told a rep if he could have a certain Rep whose name I will not disclose to return my call. Again never happened. What has happened.? A few years ago this would not have been a problem

by Don C.,  11/27/2019

Pros:  Very nice till they get your money

Cons:  Customer Service Reps stink, one say one thing the next cotridicts the last. SO which was lying ?

Review:  On 11/22/2019, I called Fidelity to transfer my Mother's IRA to them. The Rep, told me to fill out the ONLINE transfer, and walked me through the forms. I also requested BOTH the account transfer AND a Durable Power of Attorney form to be sent by mail.I was told later NOT to return the Paper copy because this would cause confusion. Fidelity rep said online form is faster. ON 11/23/2019 I sent the Power of Attorney form by mail. On 11/24/2019 I was told they REQUIRE two more documents because the account is CLOSED. They wanted a copy of my Mother's SSI card. AND they had me fill out a W-9 Tax Form which again I did online as directed. I called 2:49 on 11/26/2019 to follow up on the account being closed and I received confirmation via the Secure Message Center online the SSI information was received.I NOW see the account is FUNDED, the transfer has occurred.During this call the rep, "Contacted the back office" to confirm all was now again in order, And ask why the account is STILL closed. The rep, Glenn came back on the phone and I was told all the forms have been received, and ARE PROPERLY filled out. This morning 11/27/2019 I logged onto the account to check the status, since the paper work WAS received and in order, funds in the account, and to check if the Power of Attorney was in force. UPON logging on I panic ed ..... $0.00 Balance ? O-M-G were the funds stolen ? What happened with my mother's money. I called Fidelity. today's rep. kept checking with "The Back Office". Who were now, providing information COMPLETELY opposite of all I had been told in the days before. After a LONG time of asking for a Supervisor or Manager, finally I was connected with a manager. I was told, he can not discuss any matter relating to this account. UNLESS he speaks with my Mother. She is 89 years old, has Altzhiemer and does not understand the stupid questions they ask.
Bear in mind Fidelity Rep. was well aware I was doing this for my Mother. Pointed out as I filled out the forms, HER name, her SSI number, My NAME my SSI number. Then a MANAGER says I can not now access this account.

This Manager REFUSED to answer what happened to my Mother's money, and in FACT locked the account.
SO, Fidelity takes upon themselves to make judgements. Funny, all was normal UNTIL the account was funded.NOW Fidelity takes it upon themselves to hold her money and to not answer any questions. I HIGHLY SUGGEST you think twice about turning YOUR hard earned money over to Fidelity, I certainly have NO trust left. A Required Minimum Distribution (RMD) must be taken in December, I also explained this IS a time sensitive matter. Mailing time involved.

And I have received NO service as of now whatsoever.

Please THINK before YOU turn your money over to Fidelity. Once they have it, they sure change their tune. Very helpful to get it, then good luck fighting with Fidelity.

Don C.

by Anonymous,  11/22/2019

Pros:  None

Cons:  Fidelity customer service is cluless,biz processes not reliable

Review:  Once you have told by Fidelity that your account is terminated,it is very hard to get the account closed. This is, Fidelity terminates the account but keeps the account active and allows the account holder to use the customer service web site. This is a security flaw,because any customer,who doesn't have a real active account (terminated is not the one) should be prevented access to this internal system. It seems as Fidelity doesn't pay much attention to terminated accounts with 0 balances. These accounts are in this register for no reason.

For some reason the customer service ignores customer requests to close the account. This means,the customer him-/herself would like to follow a normal bank activity by asking to close this terminated and useless account. But nothing happens. The customer service does nothing.

Fidelity keeps sending emails and different information even though has itself let know (by sending a letter) that the account is terminated.

What is the idea of not closing accounts,which are terminated by Fidelity and asked to be closed by the account holder?

It seems as the information is not delivered from one department to another and especially to the Fidelity customer service. This indicates insecure business processes with uncontrolled practices. Cannot find any other explanation to this weird behavior.

by C-Simian,  9/23/2019

Pros:  They love you when you arrive

Cons:  They dump you when you question their flawed algorithms

Review:  We were with Fidelity for four years, doing fine with tax-deferred and brokerage accounts. Then I made the mistake of questioning the catastrophically inept "Retirement Score" system that they constantly insist one work with. It is entirely faulty and incapable of giving accurate guidance.

Three weeks after I informed Fidelity of my opinion, we received an official notice that our brokerage account would be terminated. I asked my broker what was going on and she said that I had made "inappropriate comments" as if I had sent them kiddie porn or threatened to dox them or something. Totally bogus. I just told them their software was nonsensical and worthless. Good judgment on my part.

Because of contracts, they could not negate my retirement account, but we had to find a different home for the brokerage account, which still is something of a problem. Nonetheless, I can affirm that Fidelity is as thin-skinned as Donald Trump and just as narcissistic. They are also no better at their judgment than they were in the past.

And yes, I have been contacted by Fidelity after that, asking why I removed the brokerage account from their management. I'm sure that at this point I could open up another brokerage account and no one would say a word. But their breath-taking incompetence motivates me to go do business with Vanguard.

I can't imagine what they think they are doing with other peoples' money.

by Scott,  9/9/2019

Pros:  Eager to take you funds.

Cons:  dont follow yuor directions, dont disclose all road blocks, almost impossible to contact once transaction has been completed - almost push you out the door.

Review:  Fidelity is very difficult to deal with from contacting a pulse to the agents capable of performing what you need them to do,
The call in centers have poorly trained service reps and not at the knowledge level that i want handing my funds.
They love to advise of the penalties if any so they scare you into leaving your funds with them and the lack of access to your MONEY , well that's how they make there living. living off of us.
if you need quick access to your money in retirement, Fidelity is not the company to deal with, your bank/credit union have better options you just have to look.
Just be ready for nothing but stress when calling Fidelity

by David,  7/25/2019

Pros:  Good information/news

Cons:  Interefere in customer accounts ,cry at evry foul ,sell stocks 1 day after bought

Review:  My patience has just run out with Fidelity
The first issue I had was that they allow you a margin account,(which is great) They offer you a additional daily margin amount for day trades.
I would buy and sell stocks in same day and they red flagged me for being a pattern day trader.
I am confused ,you offer me a daily margin amount ,I buy and sell in same day ,and you flag me for being a pattern day trader and shut my account down for 3 months.

The last straw came just two days ago, I have a large trading amount and it is also a margin account.
I made a very large purchase on a particular stock, at say 170 while it was consolidating.
I used my money and I used Fidelity money as leverage which I legally have the right to do.
The stock was consolidating and was ready to explode,however after one day Fidelity sent out a Margin warning stating they were going to liquidate my position. (Margin should be for 4 days)Evidently the clowns at Fidelity did not feel comfortable with my position and were going to take it upon themselves to sell my position because they did not feel comfortable.
That is Rule No.1 - Do not trade on emotion. I lost nearly $200,000 because my position went up big but Fidelity took it upon themselves to sell my position on the 2nd day of Margin because they were scared.
The stock peaked at 38 dollars from where I purchased however I was no longer in it because Fidelity and the clowns or what they call Margin Specialists sold my shares . I was even on my account and was even up $1000.

They have no patience and have no right to infiltrate my account and sell my shares while I have not lost a penny .

They do not know what they doing. The clowns have done no DD on my position have no idea that earnings will be coming out and it is going to run up to earnings. I made the correct decision and was prepared to make alot of money and because of Fidelity's negligence and ignorance as well as having the lack of balls to let the trade play out. Not all trades are winners but when you have a position that is going to be the big one and Fidelity takes it upon themselves to sell your position prior to the explosion in price ,it is the last straw.

I have had enough with the incompetence and there clowns in the office who have never traded and are going to take it upon themselves to liquidate my position for no reason other than the fact that they have no balls.

F Fidelity I lost $200,000 because they want to offer you margin but want to tell you what securities to buy.

Big trades make Big profits and Fidelity stole $200,000 out of my account.
I am finished with this shit show

by Rioh,  6/28/2019

Pros: 

Cons: 

Review:  My Fidelity story of misinformation, erigance and massive inconvenience started four weeks ago.
I am preparing for an extended summer stay in Canada. During my preparation I discovered my debit card was due to expire wile on holiday. I reached out to Fidelity for assistance, I called Fidelity and the support person's solution was to change my "mail to" address to my summer address so my new debit card would be sent to me at that address.
I was initially pleased with the fix untill I tried to transfer money from my IRA to my cash account and got an error message. I called Fidelity. Fidelity support said because my mail to address was in Canada that I was now a Canadian and by law was not allowed to have a cash account with Fidelity.
Does anyone see a problem with this? Well I do because I am now forbidden to use my cash account. All I can do is wire money from my IRA to my credit union account. I also winter in Mexico does that make me me Mexican, according to Fidelity it does.
I have been with Fidelity since 1985 I am now retired. I own property in Oregon, Mexico and now Canada. But Fidelity seems to have a problem with my retirement plans and is blocking me from my cash account. I guess I'm a MexiCanAmerican, a nationality not recognize by Fidelity.
So FU Fidelity your policies are hostile to the small retired former investor.
May I recommend TIAA my other retirement institution who have been nothing but exceptional.

by Chris,  5/19/2019

Pros: 

Cons:  Condescending and UnHelpful

Review:  I went to the local branch Tuesday, a young guy was on the computer talking to his IT department, never acknowledged me. I explained that I needed account information but he wasn't interested. Another guy came out of the back and treated me like I was a nuisance. He told me my money had been transfered to Wells Fargo. I asked him to print out this information and he refused. I called Wells Fargo and had to speak to 9 people before I learned that he had given me misinformation and the money was transfered to Merrill Lynch. Fidelity did nothing to help me and when I told them that I had cancer and needed to get my affairs in order, it meant nothing to them. They should be ashamed of themselves. I am a nurse and I would never treat a patient or family member the way they treated me. I am going to report them to Fidelity management.

by Wooten Epes,  2/11/2019

Pros:  None

Cons:  Money held unusable for a week.

Review:  They take money and do not allow it used for a week. A scam! Add up the thousands of accounts and they use our $ and we get paid $0.

by Jeannette Marie,  1/25/2019

Pros:  Unfortunately there are non

Cons:  Please see below

Review:  Phone call after phone call to attempt opening an account and moving an initial amount of $50K to be increased to $200K. Their online system continually did not allow me to log in instead requesting I call. Each and every time I spoke with a rep they assured me all was fine and I could transfer funds and begin trading. This never happened. Fortunately their system had yet another glitch and my funds were never transferred. The last person I spoke with stated the account had been closed with no reason or explanation.
"We do not have to give a reason and can close an account anytime with no notification".
Be forewarned and do business elsewhere.


Add New Fidelity Review

 200 max, no html
















Banking Features

Fidelity Banking Rating

Although Fidelity doesn’t operate a bank like some other brokerage firms, it does provide really good cash management features. The company’s Cash Management Account offers checks and a debit card free of charge. This account is a hybrid brokerage-bank account; Fidelity moves cash balances to FDIC-insured banks. This policy creates additional layers of insurance. Customers who prefer to use money market mutual funds with SIPC protection can opt for one of several funds. SPRXX is one we like. It has a current yield of 2.06%.

Another great feature of the CMA is unlimited ATM fee rebates. One caveat is that only charges that are incurred inside America are eligible.

Portfolio Management

Fidelity Management Rating

Fidelity clients who don’t have the time to manage their investments can hire one of the broker’s financial pros to do all the work. The cheapest option is a robo-advisory service. Called Fidelity Go, this option costs 0.35% with no minimum deposit requirement. The service is unique in the investment world by trading mutual funds instead of ETF’s; and all of the funds have a 0.00% expense ratio.

Old school services are also available. These range from 0.60% up to 1.70%, depending on the service. You can compare these rates to what the best priced financial advisors in your area charge.

There is a minimum deposit requirement of $50,000, and some packages require half a million dollars. The advantage with going with a traditional service is that individual stocks and bonds are available. A working relationship with a human advisor is also part of some packages.

Website Trading

Fidelity Trading Rating

The first piece of software Fidelity offers its clients is its website. During our investigation, we found it easy to use. Fidelity’s trade bar is a little different than other brokers’. Instead of sitting at the bottom of the website, it pops up into the left side of the screen after a buy or sell button is clicked. The tool offers market, limit, stop, and trailing orders. There are several duration choices.

Charting on the site comes with several nice tools, including 30 technical indicators, 11 drawing tools, 3 company events, and 5 display options. There is a full-screen mode, and extended-hours price action can be shown. A chart can be exported, saved, or printed.

Some of the other highlights of the website include alerts, a watch list, and several option tools. An IPO center displays upcoming new offerings with links to participate. Full View is a platform that links non-Fidelity accounts to the Fidelity platform; it displays balances and transactions. There is no charge for the service.

Fidelity IPO

Mobile Platform

Fidelity App Rating

Fidelity clients can buy and sell securities (and do a lot more) on a mobile platform that’s compatible with Android, Kindle Fire, and Apple devices. Touch ID and Face ID are enabled for Apple devices.

During our research, we found multiple watch lists, the day’s market movers (top gainers, top losers, and most actives), data on sector performance, and information on what Fidelity customers are buying (and selling). Alerts can be set up on the app, and we especially liked on-demand videos courtesy of Bloomberg. Live streaming of Bloomberg is also available.

Fidelity App review
Charting on the app offers multiple graph styles, several technical indicators, comparisons, logarithmic and linear axes, horizontal viewing, and extended-hours price action. Up to five years of price data can be shown.

The app’s trading ticket offers limit, market, trailing, and stop orders. Duration choices include fill or kill, immediate or cancel, and on the open. A simple ticket can be chosen, which eliminates some of these choices. Mutual funds and options can also be traded on the platform.

As for money movement, there is a check deposit function, ACH transfers, bill pay, and a very unique connection to PayPal.

Fidelity Mobile review

Other Software

Fidelity Software Rating

Besides its website and mobile app, Fidelity offers a suite of other tools that do a great job of completing its technology offerings. A desktop platform named Active Trader Pro provides very advanced option tools with multi-leg strategies. We found a probability calculator, profit-loss diagrams, strategy ideas, an IV index, and the day’s biggest trades. There are no trading requirements or account minimums to use the software; and there’s also a demo mode.

Fidelity Trading review
Charting on ATP is very advanced with lots of tools. The graph image is sharper than what the website is capable of producing.

Fidelity also provides a platform for Apple Watch, an app for Apple TV, and an iMessage feature. The watch app can display a graph, issue alerts, and provide information on global indexes. The broker provides a skill for Amazon Echo devices, too. It can give quotes, market updates, and link to a Fidelity account.

Fidelity Trading review

International Trading

Fidelity International Trading Rating

Any taxable brokerage account at Fidelity is eligible for global trading of both stocks and bonds. The service is free of charge and provides access to more than 20 foreign markets with 16 foreign currencies. Some of the global exchanges are in Portugal, South Africa, Mexico, Hong Kong, Finland, and Australia. Real-time data at Fidelity is available on foreign securities. Commissions are quite a bit higher than the broker’s standard charge for trading domestic assets.

Continue Reading


Disclaimer: Your broker review, rating, advantages, and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Customer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any customer reviews that don't meet the above requirements.