Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews

Fisher Investments customer reviews and complaints, investment account rating and performance, advisors pros and cons. Is Fisher Investments a safe and good company?

Find a Financial Advisor

If you are looking for a professional money management service in your area, you can find a Financial Advisor on the Wiser Advisor website.

Visit Wiser Advisor


Fisher Investments Reviews

by Jonathan P. Gordon, 2/7/2023

Pros: Lots of communication

Cons: Terrible at understanding market conditions

Ken Fisher and his people see bull markets around every bend in the road. No matter what happens, they always see a silver lining, even and especially when it's not there. I've been with Fisher for about a year-and-a-half. They've misread the markets the entire time, costing me a third of my life savings. I'm too old to lose this kind of money. It'll be a decade before I can break even. They talk to me like I'm thirty years old. I'll be fifty-five this year. I'll never recover what they are destroying. I'm getting out ASAP!
Fisher has a powerful marketing team. It's too bad they don't place as much emphasis on their investment portfolios as they do rounding up new clients.

by Ronald, 1/25/2023

Pros: Solid firm, good reputation, doesnt sell annuities

Cons: Personally don’t like the ads

Solid firm, good reputation, doesnt sell annuities

by John Deere, 1/25/2023

Pros: Good

Cons: None

They aren’t brokers, so hard to say broker pros or cons.

by Felix, 1/17/2023

Pros: Fees aligned with results, Great communication

Cons: No office in my city

Overall I have had great service and communication with my Rep Christopher in Texas. He is very polite and seems trustworthy. We are currently considering making a change from a competitor and I didn't realize how much I was paying in fund costs until it was explained. We have a rather large trust and are learning so much about the industry and processes along the way. They are providing a real strategy without funds and all parties include are working seamlessly to our satisfaction. I think people forget quality sometimes has a reasonable price with looking at the other reviews here.

by plusafdotcom, 1/12/2023

Pros: Personal attention; investment strategies matched to client goals

Cons: Missed a few downturns.

I suspect that the One-Star rankings are from bots and not clients. The complaints are too vague and similar, imnsho.

Here's the personal story from my wife and me, as I just sent to a friend who inquired about Fisher's background and performance...
............
Their long-term track record is why we gave them our IRAs to manage, and, as of a day or so ago, after 18.6 years with them, per my OCD spreadsheet, our current holdings are down about 20% from the day we started, BUT, looking at all the management fees we’ve paid and all the cash we’ve taken out to supplement our Social Security ‘income’ over that same span of time, we have paid and withdrawn almost 122% of our initial balance! Most of that 20% drop came since the Covid epidemic's beginning. Our client contacts (three or more since we joined) ALL have been responsive and very personable over our entire client 'lifetime.'
....................
Their management fees are not out of line with other money managers and they work with a HUGE brokerage where the transaction fees are way less than $10.00 per trade, AND they are not a pump-and-dump investment house and do VERY few trades or portfolio adjustments each year, so brokerage fees are a tiny percentage of the cost load for us, and we started with just over their $1 Million threshold back in '04 (subsequently lowered to $500k some years later.)

So, please take the one-stars with a grain of salt (or a handful)

by Marc W. Morrison, 1/11/2023

Pros: Rated top Financial Planning company in 2022

Cons: None

I would highly encourage anyone approaching/in retirement to look at Fisher Investments. They have done a great job for me in up and down markets. The education and service of the program is top notch. I have referred numerous friends/family members to Fisher and we all share similar sentiment.

by Rod M. Harris, 1/10/2023

Pros: Risk management

Cons: None

Fisher has been able to provide wonderful risk management on the downside. My Fisher account has performed significantly better than my Fidelity broker us over the last several years.

by Jim Brodie, 1/7/2023

Pros: None

Cons: Very poor customer service

Under performed my other investments
Blew off scheduled meetings
My councilor was disconnected with the shortcomings of the rest of her firm
Run

by Fed Up With Fisher, 1/6/2023

Pros: May have a good strategy

Cons: The rep I dealt with was very disrespectful

I agree with the other reviews that Fisher's sales department can be overly pushy and downright disrespectful. I had a meeting with ones of these sales people, Geoffrey Sans (he's on LinkedIn), and I can confidently say this poli sci major didn't give a shit about anything but himself. It was literally the worst interaction with any person trying to get my business over the phone. He threw around overly technical terms trying to appear smarter than he was and was completely disrespectful. He also gave me examples that were inaccurate. I will never let Fisher manage my money because of the pompous and disrespectful attitude of Geoffrey Sans. His leadership needs to take a hard look at how he treats potential customers.

by Jon, 1/5/2023

Pros:

Cons: Too Heavy on Sales

I considered Fidelity and Fisher - and most people I knew had FIdelity and were very happy there. I researched Fisher and talked to them. I noticed Fisher as you see here seemed to have mostly negative reviews - maybe the few 5 star reviewers were lucky and invested at a good time. Their projection for 2022 turned out to be overly optimistic as I thought it would be. I was interested in protecting and growing my wealth (in that order of priority) and I felt Fidelity understood what that meant better than Fisher did. I got the feeling if I used Fisher, I’d have to hand it all over to them to manage and I would not be able to manage some of it. I worked out a strategy with Fidelity in the middle of 2022 when the market was in turmoil. I diversified in terms of types of equity across 2 managed accounts including a Bot managed account and 1 managed account for fixed income - government and munis (average %5 coupons over various maturities). I was also able to keep about half of the overall wealth in my own managed account and most of that was kept in a Fidelity money market that now returns over 4% with dividends reinvested monthly. I rolled in my money gradually and am up since then, and will add more to the SMA accounts as soon as we determine the Fed is done and we aren’t in a recession, and especially if the Ukraine situation stabilizes. One major negative was Mr. Fisher’s comment at a conference about how getting a new customer was like (paraphrasing) ‘trying to get sex from a chick at a bar’. It was obvious he just wanted to get his hands on my money so he could collect fees based on assets under management. In contrast, Fidelity, I believe, has a genuine interest in doing well for their customers, putting them first, and I understand that as a company, internally, they are very strong on ethics, compliance, diversity as well which I believe comes from the top. This is all important to me! BTW Fisher won’t stop cold calling me every month or so (and persistently until I actually answer) and they don’t seem to get that I’m not interested!

by Jim H, 12/29/2022

Pros: Scam…..absolutely no monitoring of acct.

Cons: Increased 55, 000 in 1st week with them, they took NO profits, let it fade to a 120,000 loss in next 2 weeks.

STAY AWAY…..only a smooth talking advertising firm….absolutely no portfolio monitoring…cookie cutter. Closed account after 40 days and recovered 75% of loss …..DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER INVESTING HERE !

by Stephen S, 12/23/2022

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Marketing company not a true investment advisor.

Get some of your losses back and contact an attorney if you are a client.

https://investorclaims.com/brokerage-firms/fisher-investments/

This place held China and Docusign lol

by Jim, 12/15/2022

Pros: Good communications and customer service

Cons: They really failed to read the market direction. And stubbornly stuck to a failed portfolio strategy.

Failed to realize inflation and money supply would cause the Fed to hike significantly. Stayed primarily invested in tech that already had historically very high multiples - even when the Fed started to raise. Fisher was stubborn and did not reposition. Many of their picks were cut in half and they made no effort to reposition. Even now, close to a year later, while they do admit they missed the market direction, they offer a lot of historical data and market assumptions to support a premise that the market is about to turn. They are wrong. They fought the Fed and lost. The S&P multiples are still very high vs what will be declining revenue and profits in 2023.

by Bryan M., 12/14/2022

Pros: Retirement Planning, portfolio management

Cons:

They have been a huge help in getting my retirement on the right track. Prior to working with Fisher I was doing it myself with little attention given to it. I’ve been with them a couple years and now have a clear plan of what I need to save, how I need to be invested, and when to take social security to secure the retirement I want. The planning is the best I’ve seen, I compared several firms prior to choosing Fisher. Extremely pleased thus far.

by Eric J., 12/13/2022

Pros: Institutional management and service

Cons:

I’m very happy with Fisher investments. They have helped my account to do MUCH better than my previous money manager..and they’re doing much better than my index funds that I manage in my current 401k too. Their forecasts have been spot on in the 5 years roughly that I’ve been with them.

My counselor I work with actually seems to understand me, and they’ve helped me to feel confident about my financial plan. I’ve had no complaints at all about the firm

by Aaron Jones, 12/2/2022

Pros: No products

Cons: View account through Fido, would like a fisher portal

I have been with fisher since the pandemic, switched over from a Fidelity program at the time. They moved me out of all of the mutual funds I was in to purchase an individual stock portfolio. Since then I have noticed fewer tax issues with the account and overall feel more informed on what I’m invested, how long we plan to keep it, and why. Highly recommend Fisher, service and expertise has been impressive.

by Jean-Pierre Biebuyck, 11/29/2022

Pros: nice talks with friendly representatives

Cons: buying shares on the basis of assumptions that even I know not to be true

The Fisher Investment representatives are very good in giving the impression that they are very knowledgeable. Once they managed to convince me to entrust my portfolio, they started to sell everything. For some underperforming positions it was the right thing to do, but also well performing shares were sold without a thought and reinvested in full, mainly in stocks of US-companies and with a clear overweight on big tech. This already stunned me: as I European, I would call this the "yahahoo" cowboy way of investing, and with no regard to the downward trend that clearly started at the beginning of this year. In view of this markey downturn, they should have invested gradually while keeping enough cash in reserve in order to use it for better occasions, but they didn't.

It also was quite ununderstandable to me that they explained their investment policy with the assumtion that inflation and recession would be short-lived, while day to day life already proved the contrary. It's as if they operate in another dimension of time and space. As my frustration gradually grew since I stepped in at the beginning of this year, I also discovered that Ken Fisher is an important sponsor of an inherently fascist politician who even attempted to overtrhrow democracy (or what still remains of it?) by storming Capitol Hill. And for me, this was the straw that broke the camels back. And I blame myself for not having done my homework before entrusting my money with Fisher Investments. I would therefore also advise to stay away from this investment vehicle.

by Andrew F., 11/28/2022

Pros: Service, performance

Cons:

Been with them since 2020, still up from my initial investment even with the turmoil this year. Paid less in taxes on my investments than I ever have with past advisors. Constant communication on what they are/are not doing and why. If things stay the way they have been plan to be with this firm for the rest of my retirement.

by Hank H., 11/27/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

Total ripoff investment management company. Lousy Returns. High Fees. They make it very hard for their clients to find out what their returns and even their account balances are. Like others have stated, their only expertise is in advertising, NOT investing. Once they have your money, you are doomed. I got conned. Don't make the same mistake. RUN--DO NOT WALK--AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

by Ed, 11/26/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

Marketing company and nothing more. All clients that started here in the last three years underperformed the bench mark by a lot!

Stay away and look for a company that actually cares.

by Jonathan, 11/16/2022

Pros: I have had a great experience in the 5 years that I have been with Fisher Investments

Cons:

I have had a great experience since I moved to Fisher Investments from Wealth Enhancement 5 years ago.

The money management has been much more research-based than just buying the entire market, and I feel more confident than I’ve ever felt before about my retirement plan. I’m so glad to be out of mutual funds and etfs.

They have been great with keeping me informed about what’s going on and my investment counselor has been very attentive to me and my wife.

by Joel McDonald, 11/13/2022

Pros: Highly recommended

Cons: Nothing

Highly recommended. Performance at Fisher investments has been much better than my accounts at Morgan Stanley and Ameriprise.

by Karen C., 11/8/2022

Pros: Fees, communication

Cons:

I came over to Fisher a few years ago after feeling something wasn’t right with my current firm. Come to find out I was paying over 2% and in products that benefited them. My counselor worked with me on my goals and getting things set up to better benefit me and the income I needed. I have full confidence in them and have taken my income every month without issue even in this more volatile year. Recommend them to anyone about to or in retirement!

by Tom Cruise, 11/1/2022

Pros: Performance, Service

Cons: None

I am absolutely delighted with their service. It is really refreshing to work with a financial adviser who is truly interested in their client’s needs, circumstances and preferences. What really impressed me was the way they took the time to get a feeling for where I was at, their depth of knowledge, lateral thinking and common sense approach. Their professional, ethical and caring demeanour elicits my trust and respect and I gladly recommend their services whenever possible.

by Bruce M, 10/31/2022

Pros: Performance, communication

Cons:

I’ve been with Fisher about 5 yrs, hired them for half the portfolio and let the other half with the guy I had. Just finished moving it all over to Fisher because the account has done twice as well over the time even with the pull back this year. Comfortable them fully managing my retirement.

by Bush, 10/28/2022

Pros:

Cons:

They allegedly do well in down markets. Not true! They are doing much worse than the S&P 500 and World Index. They predicted volatility during the first half of 2022, but did little defensive trading. Almost all trades made in 2021 are in negative, some over 80% down. Their methodology is flawed. The should change their TV ad from “We do well when you (investor) do well.” To “We still do pretty well if you do poorly and lose a lot of money.”

by John, 10/27/2022

Pros: Slick marketing

Cons: Dismal Performance

Dreadful performance - significantly underperforming their chosen benchmark and much worse than S&P500 in our experience.
Very arrogant and frequently wrong.
Avoid.

by Morgan R., 10/26/2022

Pros: Performance has been fantastic

Cons: No cons

My neighbor referred me to Fisher 2 years ago. I was with Edward Jones prior. I was fed up with the canned responses from my Edward Jones broker - the commission model was great for my broker… not me!

I’ve enjoyed my experience at Fisher. My counselor has been with Fisher for over 10 years and received frequent check in calls.

I have referred a few family members and they have all had similar experience to me.

by Wiser@EdwardJones, 10/25/2022

Pros: They'll end up asking if "...you want fries with that burger?" someday.

Cons: Cookie cutter portfolios, inexperienced "advisors", impossible to balance a portfolio with

First - if you want to see who they hire to be their "Investment Counselors" (and take note that they do not call themselves Investment ADVISORS), they are hiring new graduates, a degree in Finance or Investing is not required (ANY major is accepted), and get a fully paid, extensive training program (to help memorize the sales pitch). Don't take my word for it - go to their web site and review "Open Positions".

I was concerned about the precariousness of the economy in general, as we had not really experienced a Bear Market since most of the Fisher Investment Counselors were born. They cited inflation that historically performed at 3.2% annually - what they failed to note or mention - is that they are referencing back to 1938, which certainly smooths out inflation to a tolerable degree - however as someone that is retiring in 5 years - they should have been paying attention to what the next 5 years would likely bring, as opposed to what the last 84 years meant for inflation. I insisted on a 60/40 blend portfolio - they insisted that I sign a legal "waiver" going against their 80/20 portfolio blend (I am 60 years old) - they gave me a new "Investment Counselor" every month, all three of which had ZERO years of experience at Fisher, much less in the industry. Straight college hires - the first one had his degree in Hotel / Restaurant Management. They NEVER discussed with me my risk tolerance, when I wanted to retire, what I should be thinking about regarding Long Term Health Care, they never asked about my estate / my will / my desire to preserve any wealth for my heirs, etc.

I fell for the advertising and market pitch. THAT is the ONLY thing they are good at, PERIOD.

My advice - which if you have not seen it here multiple times, is to RUN not WALK away from these posers. They work for your fee and don't really care what happens to you and tour retirement nest egg.

by Did My Homework, 10/24/2022

Pros: slick marketing, concierge communications

Cons: High-risk, high fee, underperforming product; false representations

While in the process of moving my assets to Fisher, I stopped due to multiple "red flags." They aggressively recruit with multiple calls, overnight intro package, and video seminar. But the reality does not match the claims.

The sales rep claimed that Fisher beat the market every prior year by 2-3% net of fees. Yet multiple reviewers here have noted losing hundreds of thousands of dollars in a short time through Fisher's high-risk picks tone-deaf to market conditions. Financial aggregators report that Fisher's returns have lagged the market for years (Yodelar, Citywire). Fisher's funds are rates as "aggressive growth" which have performed in the bottom quartile of funds while also having among the highest risk ratings (CityWire). Fisher discontinued his Purisima line of funds in the US following chronic underperformance. In countries where they are still available, the underperformance continues (Evidenceinvestor.com).

Fisher represents that individualized investment advisors tailor specific portfolios to clients' needs, but the information I have found cites former employees noting that former employees have acknowledged that 99% of clients have the same positions, and customer complaints demonstrate poor responsiveness to customer requests for portfolio changes. Clients have complained that they are 100% invested in stock - including many risky growth names - with little or no responsiveness to market downturns and client requests to hedge or change positions. Fisher appears to be a glorified mutual fund with high fees, precisely the type of cookie-cutter investment strategy it denounces. Their investment "advisors" appear to be glorified PR liaisons explaining Fisher's picks to clients, rather than formulating prudent investment strategies based on personal circumstances and goals.

After my outside financial advisor advised that he did not recommend that I proceed with Fisher's 100% stock portfolio in the current market downturn of inflation and rising rates, the Fisher rep countered with a "different perspective." He stated that my goals of "capital preservation and income…neither one of those fit your time horizon you have for these assets to work (even before retirement)" and that I needed to seek "as much growth as reasonably possible." This is nonsense. I'm not even 50 and have plenty of time horizon, but the implication was that I needed to swing for the fences with Fisher. At least the rep finally acknowledged that Fisher is a high-risk investment geared neither towards capital preservation nor income.

How does Fisher view his clients? He said in an interview that attracting high-wealth clients was like trying to get in a girl's pants (see Bloomberg, CNBC, WaPo, etc.) and his funds saw massive withdrawals in the backlash. Unfortunately, that is my experience with their sales team. They will seemingly say anything to get a client onboard.

The few recent positive reviews for Fisher have been about communication, generally while acknowledging mediocre or lagging returns. This is what clients are paying for: the name and concierge communications. Fisher is a billionaire because of his slick marketing, not because of superior client returns. Caveat emptor.

by Very Disappointed, 10/21/2022

Pros: None

Cons: This company is terrible and my advise is to run! And not just walk away!

This company cost me hundreds of thousands of dollars with their cookie cutter portfolio picks. Terrible looser stock picks. And then they watch your balance go down the drain and in flames. And then they do nothing to correct it. Whoever is doing the research on their stock picks, should be fired immediately. They should start a dog sitting and dog walking service... Just Like they do at Fisher!
A homeless person could pick better stocks than they did, and would have better results. Just throw a dart at a list must be their strategy
"They do better when we do better is a lie, and a joke"!
They do better when they loose all your money buy churning your account.
Their performance was Terrible and Disgraceful, and they should be ashamed of themselves and their performance! And stop advertising their TV promises that do not ever deliver!

by Betty S., 10/11/2022

Pros: Responsive, expertise

Cons:

I’ve been with fisher a few years now and highly recommend! I’ve worked with several firms and this is the first not selling me something every time I call. My counselor is always back to me within a day on anything I need. The market has been challenging this year but that’s part of investing! I have complete faith in fisher managing my retirement!

by Maxwell B., 10/9/2022

Pros: Fee only fiduciary

Cons: None

Moved my account from Morgan Stanley after they showed me how much I was paying in mutual fund expenses. It’s nice to know I am now working with a fiduciary who is not churning my account. I highly recommend Fisher Investments over the commission structure.

by James mc clure, 10/7/2022

Pros: Non

Cons: As things started major downturn late last year they did. 0

When asked my guy what you doing that things heading south. Was told. Hang in there in now down 30% from where I was I pulled my account

by Aneed Seamen, 10/6/2022

Pros: Overall great experience

Cons: Nothing

I have been working with Fisher for Several years. I draw money from the account and have never touched the principal. They have under promised and over delivered. WELL DONE!

by Elbert Thomas, 10/1/2022

Pros: The BEST financial planning company around

Cons: None

I moved my accounts from Edward Jones to Fisher Investments last year - it was the best financial decision I have made for my family. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ORGANIZATION.

by Maxwell G., 9/30/2022

Pros: Service, performance

Cons: None

Fisher has done incredible over the last 3.5 years I have been a client. My counselor calls me frequently to keep me educated on what is happening and the changes they are making. I will be a client at Fisher for many years to come!

by Ed Surrett, 9/23/2022

Pros: Nice Folks

Cons: Incompetent

Monkeys could do better, in fact, I think it was Warren Buffet who said as much about investment advisors.

"Indeed, a patient and level-headed monkey, who constructs a portfolio by throwing 50 darts at a board listing all of the S&P 500 will -- over time -- enjoy dividends and capital gains, just as long as it never gets tempted to make changes in its original "selections."

I was doing great on my own. I did not need to pay these blokes to tank my investments.....such a mistake on my part, huge regrets.

by Jim duswalt, 9/4/2022

Pros:

Cons: Not responsive at all

When the market started to show signs of decline in 2022, I called and asked to be be put in more secure funds. I called again after the first quarters dismal results. I again was put off with their placating responses. Mid year after losing 25% of my account, I demanded to know where my money was. I found out it was in 100% stock. What idiot fund manager would put a recent retiree into 100% stock in the first place? Why wouldn't they move my funds after I asked to have less risk? I know better now. Moved my funds to a different company.

by Rick D., 8/31/2022

Pros: The pitch...

Cons: The actual...

You've seen the commercials, which typically target the common American retire holding $500,000. They take control of your account and immediately start moving balances through different investments all the while generating fees. Tax efficiency? The only thing Fisher was able to do for me was generate a large tax bill. The performance was perpetually 20% below the S&P 500.

I start asking questions with no answers whatsoever. Loss upon loss. Then I want to understand the oversight. I ask them about internal controls and audits, but Fisher refuses to disclose that. They use a 2 person CPA firm. Not sure if Fisher is the next Madoff, but time is going to tell. Shame on the SEC for allowing this place to continue operating like they do.

by John, 8/25/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Aggressive sales

Bottom feeders. I asked for a brochure, which I received. It contained nothing that I didn't know already. Then the phone calls started. I didn't answer. After a while they gave up. Then the third party phone calls started (and never stopped since). They sold my phone number. Shame on you.

by Jeff Bodenstab, 8/16/2022

Pros: Good talkers

Cons: Poor performers

I was a client for several years and my portfolio underperformed the market. I pulled my money out when I found out that Ken Fisher was a Trump mega-donor. I didn’t want their income from my account going to the Trump campaign.

by Honest Joe, 8/2/2022

Pros: On going annual review

Cons: Not effective in market down turns

My primary reason for choosing FI in Nov 2012 was "FI will position your portfolio defensively in a bear market". Well not so in practice. Like other reviews, my work 401k in the S&P 500 out performed FI up till 2020 when I went to cash and by as much as %15 in some years. The stock picking in the last 5 years has been similar to other posters, the Sells they made outperformed the Buys. When I send these results to my "counselor" I hear nothing. With my portfolio down $700,000 I could not afford their lackluster performance any longer. I fired FI last week and am unwinding the mess they created in Jan 2022, where new Buys are showing 2x losses vs. the Sells. FI has the worst picks and timing ever. I can ride the market up and down without the fees using index funds.

by Joe, 7/25/2022

Pros: Nice people

Cons: boiler plate system, far from value investing, services are very mis-leading

Well, I wished I would have read reviews from this site before making a serious error in judgement. The stocks they bought were at all time highs and the stocks they sold (my picks)are much higher today. The result: 100s of thousands in losses to date. I'm way better at investing than they are so I went back to me and will never go down this road again. If you are not comfortable with buying and selling stocks.. use index funds and forget about it. Do not hire these people!

by Fred J, 7/22/2022

Pros: persuasive TV commercials

Cons: Pushy, obnoxious, high pressure

They were calling me before my information packet ever arrived.
They called twice after that even though I told them I hadn't gotten to the material yet.
Then they called a third time pressuring me again after I had told them - I'll call you, don't call me.
A firm that doesn't listen to its potential clients it's not a firm you should deal with.
Fisher will NEVER get my business.

by Vern, 7/19/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Very Pushy and they lied on their sales pitch

I thought about going to Fisher until I got the second call from their sales person. He got angry when I said I needed to do some Due Diligence on Fisher before I move my account. What I was told, 96% of their inverters stayed with Fisher. Then I read about Ken Fisher's comments at an inverters forum. He said, "winning clients was like 'trying to get into a girl's pants'. Then I read about how many clients pulled many millions from Fisher's funds over that. I would probably believe all the negative reviews on here and question anything positive about this investment firm. You can read it for yourself: https://www.businessinsider.com/billionaire-ken-fisher-girls-pants-comment-stuns-conference-audience-2019-10?amp

by Allan, 7/16/2022

Pros: Talk a good game. All hat no cattle

Cons: Stay away

Lost 35% in 1st qtr 22. Asked them where and how they hedge this crazy market? Answer was “time”. Wtf … I had enough and fired them.

by Todd, 7/10/2022

Pros: Good communication and fancy mailings

Cons: This is nothing more then a group of stocks functioning as a mutual fund with a very low turnover rate and high expense ratio.

Unfortunately they don’t make enough trades within this group of stocks I call a mutual fund. They don’t pay enough attention to market change. I feel like they just want to “hold” because it costs money to trade stocks within the fund. I had a group of stocks for 1 year, 3/21. - 3/22 and they made no changes even with a definite market shift and inflation. Your much better off and diversified with a money manager that uses a group of mutual funds and within those funds trades are constantly being made to keep up with market change. Your choice, but I’m out!

by Jack, 6/29/2022

Pros: Not sure -

Cons: Just started with them recently down nearly $400k

Nearly instantly down $400k after recently onboarding after managing my own 40 years. I told them I would not feel retired if they lost more than $200k. I said the market is set ip to do a “mean reversion” after all the cheap money - but they gaslighted me into another reality and now recently switched my advisor. Seriously I’m knocked out of retirment now - was fully retired for 6 years. Scrambled to get my old job back after 6 years a few weeks ago. Really really stupid move on everyones part to not see this reversion coming as many shouted about and its obvious coming catalysts. With the market forcasting 2-3% annual return for the next decade now really what sense is there in paying a 1.25% fee and riding this wild ass up and mostly down market? CDs are paying 3.2% now no fees. Very disapointed they did not believe in a mean reversion from these catalysts and sidestep this in Feb. I did in fact call the last 3 bear markets and saw this too but they were smarter right? Wow $400k. I cant afford paying for this kind of performace and any dead weight on my account. Their fee is going to have to go now in order for me to pay my bills now until I 95 which ill be short. I had it made - I was careful for 40 years and turned it over to a team that did not care as I.

by KD, 6/21/2022

Pros: Well spoken promise makers

Cons: they lie to your new brokerage firm so long, it was about time to hire an attorney

I think Fisher is in trouble. I was moving my money to another firm, and it seriously almost took a whole month to do. They kept telling my new firm pure garbage about why they couldn't do it... I think they are in deep and about to implode and needed to keep my money on their books as long as possible. Don't trust them - it's all about to break

by Chack, 6/11/2022

Pros: lots of nice books to read before bed time....

Cons: they do not manage the account ..The garbage stocks kept forever..

Run..Run…Run…from this bla..bla..bla.. investment co cause that’s all you get hours of bla.bla..bla..
This is not a place to park your money..
I gave them 500K and a week later they lost 60K by buying growth stocks that every one was dumping
There is no management of the account...stocks keep loosing money ... they do not sell the stocks because
according to them in 20 years you’ll recover your money.

by Dave, 6/10/2022

Pros: None!

Cons: Horrible customer service, follow up. Just a set and forget with outrageously high fees.

Fisher Investments is by far the worst investment firm I have ever dealt with to date. Do yourself a favor and stay away! They are good at promoting how "great" they are, but the proof is in the pudding. And the pudding is horrible.

STAY AWAY!! THE ONLY ONES MAKING MONEY ARE THEM WITH THEIR INCREDIBLY HIGH FEES!!!

by Richard, 6/8/2022

Pros: Uses established broker platform such as TD, in Advisor client role.

Cons: Poor personal management, grab and forget. High Fees

Basically it’s you hand them money and they buy a basket of stocks and we’re done. No regards for P/E, general trends or new ideas. No modification from original purchase, regardless of the market showing clear stress in select areas. It’s get it and forget it. No management at all. The whole thing is an engine for their high fee.

Customer for 2 months

by Chester Clark, 5/30/2022

Pros: Pretty bulletins and charts.

Cons: A “set it” and “forget it” scam. No strategy!

On my 100% stocks account with no constraints, Fisher sat idle for 6 months as a large % of the positions lost 50% to 80% of their value. In total, they did 8% WORSE than S&P over the same period with absolutely no countermeasures. They don’t give a damn about your portfolio performance. They buy a bunch of China junk and loser companies which I suspect they are paid to buy. But they do make pretty brochures and videos. I advise to stay away from Fisher if you are looking for expertise….a child will do better.

by Gregory, 5/29/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Don't get the words "no thanks"!

Prior to my recent retirement, I spent alot of time online looking at free "calculators"....simply to confirm that I could take care of my future needs. I made the MISTAKE of assuming the the retirement calculator on the Fisher website was also free of any obligations or sales pitches....and boy was I wrong. Their sales staff went into hyper-drive trying to commit me to their services...only ending with my blocking phone numbers every time someone called. "Pushy" does not begin to describe their sales tactics.

I learned many years ago to trust my instincts....I'm so pleased that they finally gave up making a sale with me.

by sammy boy, 5/24/2022

Pros: slick presentations

Cons: Foolish Investments in early 2022

I was with them for about 10 years of listening to their pitch and paying high fees regards my Fisher portfolio. I started tracking their performance against specific mutual funds, ETFs from Fidelity and Vanguard. Fisher did not do as well over the time I did the comparisons-last 5 years. Finally the Foolish Investments in early 2022 were a call to action as they were down about 25 % versus items sold down 10%. I fired them transferred the stocks "in kind" but now have to contend with their investment decision mess. I would not advise a Fisher investment.

by J. Hill, 5/24/2022

Pros: Slick sales staff

Cons: Absolutely nothing more than a mutual fund….. what a joke

STAY AWAY !

by William M, 5/20/2022

Pros:

Cons:

I'm awaiting the second sales pitch for my initial contract. I notice that the older reviews are good and the ones after Nov. 2021 are bad. So when the market does great everyone's happy, and when it tanks, we blame the advisor. But the over all good reviews are similar to my own experience that the advisor can not do anything to sway returns...its the market that determines that. So I await the price tag of the sales pitch.

by Dan S, 5/18/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Overpriced, Makes Bad Investment Decisions

On 11/12/21, 11/15/21, and 12/17/21 Fischer rebalanced about 9% of our account. On 2/15/22, the stocks they sold were down 0.9% and the stocks they bought were down 25.0%. From 9/1/2021 thru 2/15/2022, the Fischer directed investments were down 8.1% before their fee. I picked an ETF, IWL, for other investments that Fischer did not manage. IWL for this period was down 3.1%. Each month, the Fischer Investments did worse that IWL. When Fischer was up, IWL was up more. When Fischer was down, IWL was down less. If you research mutual funds and ETFs, I think you can do better than Fischer.

by |David Aucoin, 5/11/2022

Pros: Really nothing, way oversold, not what Fisher "sold" me.

Cons: Personal only in phone calls (sales), not investing.

There is a difference between "macro" financial ideas (general idea for everyone), and "micro" financial ideas (my money), Fisher does not understand this. I lost 15% in one month, and for all the bad talking Fisher did about Schwab, at least they made money for me. And,"when I do well, Fisher does well" and when I do very badly, Fisher does well! Oh yeah, and the "we have a tax attorney staff that will help with your investment taxes and dispersements" actually means that they will send you to a tax lawyer for a free hour of consultation - really? And I can't get an interview with a tax attorney for free that wants my business?

by Larry, 5/1/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Failure to actually manage my account. Significan loss of value of account.

I opened my account in January, 2020 and have been satisfied with Fisher until February, 2022. The investment counselors do not seem to stick around very long. I had two were very good at communicating but they mysteriously disappear and I got a third investment counselor who is terrible at communications. Anyway from February, 2022 until the present my account has shrunk horribly. In the meantime I pay over $2,000 a quarter in fees. Then I checked my account and found that in the last four months they have not sold or purchased a single issue. If they are managing my account (isn't that what the fees are for) why have they not gone defensive in view of the huge drop in the market? In the beginning of the last quarter they put out a summary stating that the upcoming war between Russia and the Ukraine would most likely not have an effect on the market as regional conflicts rarely do so. Duh, it doesn't take a rocket scientist to understand that with oil, gas and grain so highly produced in these countries that this conflict would cause a problem in the market. How can you take fees like they do when they absolutely did nothing to manage my account?

by Alfred Kuba, 4/20/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Rip Off!

DON;T BE FOOLED BY THIS SLEEK AND MISLEADING COMPANY. F.I. claims in their advertisisng that they are a "fudiciary" and are "different" than other investment borkers, however the truth is F.I. is no different than any other brokerage firm. They claim "Our fees are structured so we do better when our clients do better". Not true! F.I. charge 1.5% commission regardless of your portfolio being up or down. So they make 1.5% on your money also when you are down! DON'T BE FOOLED.

by Perry Tenbrink, 4/19/2022

Pros: Professional, articulate, SALES PEOPLE

Cons: Worst "investment" Co. EVER.

Down 14% (88K dollars) in 7 months, DJIA down 7%. This company can't spell "investment" and then you pay 1.5 % for losing money. Disaster, don't be fooled.
Worst investment firm EVER !

by TJ, 4/17/2022

Pros: Good newsletter

Cons:

Fisher doesn't manage any of my money but I do enjoy reading Ken's publications and their quarterly reports

by Terry Taylor, 4/11/2022

Pros: None

Cons: They have no investment strategy and they lie!!!

They want absolute control over your money. If you want to hold more cash or don't like one of their investments they put you have to sign a paper. It their way or the highway. Their way cost me over $70,000.00 dollars in less that two weeks and it was one of the investments that I didn't want cost me a lot of money. Please stay away from these crooks. They are nothing more than a morally bankrupt used car salesman. They don't care if they lose you money period!!!

by R.Bjerke, 4/6/2022

Pros: Advisor easy to get ahold of

Cons: Under Preformed

DONT DO IT.. They under performed my selected three benchmarks.. this is true when the market raised and declined.... I suggest putting $ into Birkshire_B fund and you will be $ ahead without the hastle.

by Karen L, 4/2/2022

Pros: Great Service / Sales team

Cons: None yet

For all the negative comments about “not being able to get my money back from them” - Fisher does not hold any of their clients funds. My assets are at fidelity. If I wanted to fire fisher (which I never will) then my assets would remain in my fidelity account.

I had been dealing with the Fisher sales team for about 4 years before I joined. Each rep I spoke with respected my hesitation to change from my Ed Jones advisor, as I had been with him for about 15 years. I agreed to hold a phone meeting with the VP in Chicago and I am very glad I did. My performance has been great and I am taking 5% income annually without dipping into the account at all!

by Robert H, 3/20/2022

Pros: NONE

Cons: MANY They did a horrible job for me, when I told them I wanted a stop loss order they did not honor it

They did not tell me what stocks they were going to invest in before they invested. When they finally did I told them which ones I did NOT want, but they did not sell them and they lost large amount of money; They did not remove their fee from my account at the end of each quarter as they said they would. This resulted in their charging a much higher fee when I told them after a year I was dissatisfied with them and wanted to cash out and return to my previous adviser. When I told them I wanted to cash out and send my money back to the bank account from which my money originally came from, they took over a week to do so. NO ONE SHOULD EVER TRUST THEM

by Mark, 3/16/2022

Pros: Deceptive ads

Cons: Worst and highest customer cost model. Stock picking is poor and funds and indexes easily out perform Fisher

Their ads say they are different than other money managers because they are fiduciary. That should not be allowed as all managers are “supposed” to be fiduciaries after Obama Dept of labor issued regulation. So every other manager is breaking the rules. They should sue Fisher in a class action suit for slander.
They say they make more $ when you do and do not charge commissions. True enough but they get a percentage of your total in good , stagnant and down years. Their returns are worse than just selecting broad indexes and avoiding their high fees at the same time. Advisory fees by any manager might be justified in the first year but not at the same rate ongoing. If you can not do this yourself find a fee only planner. Managers have figured out it is easier to ask you for part of your return than for you to write a check. You are losing big because of it.

by MWH, 3/12/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Evasive and dishonest.

Never came within 10 points of meeting their own benchmark (MSCI World) in a rising market, but were exceptional at exceeding the losses of their benchmark in a declining market. The rep actually yelled at me when I asked, "as a fiduciary, would you advise yourself to accept a 3% annual return when the market is returning + 20%" (at the time). In 11 months the only active trading that occurred was when I opened and closed the account.

by bbee, 3/7/2022

Pros: Able to talk about funds and experience

Cons: Not surprised owner is trump contributor, VP gave only a dog-whistle about lack of diversity in the company.

Decided not to invest. Did not believe presentation and found rep disrespectful and arrogant.

by Dennis, 3/6/2022

Pros: I’ve always gotten prompt, good service. Returns are not spectacular, and it’s hard to separate market growth from good management, but I am generally satisfied. I’m under no illusion that I have enough time, energy, or knowledge to successfully navigate the market, so I am happy to let people who specialize do the work, as long as returns are reasonable.

Cons: Fees seem high for observed returns.

No real complaints. They were very efficient and competent in consolidating a variety of IRA’s and 401K’s into a much more manageable portfolio. I hope they restart the seminars and client conferences sometime soon. I enjoyed those and learned some things. I’m pondering a Roth conversion within Fisher, and that will tell me how they do on more complex challenges.

by Michael, 2/28/2022

Pros: None

Cons: High fees, relentless, deceiving sales practices

Fisher cares about one thing only...Sales. They will say and do anything to get you to sign on the dotted line.

Their claims of beating the market are front end loaded where they conveniently switched benchmarks to the MSCI World in late 1996 while having domestic only portfolios prior to that time. I.e. they claimed they were global but actually all domestic when you guessed it, the S&P outperformed by 30% plus over those ~2 years giving them a big "lead" over the MSCI World.

Don't believe me, ask for a Composite, you will see lo and behold 1 account representing 1995 when they managed billions. The fact the SEC allows this bait & switch is a subject for another day.

They were down 58% peak to trough in the 2007-2009 bear, lagged the market by 10% in 2012, 3% last year (lagged S&P by 9%) and their foreign stock picking is horrendous. Try asking your "Counselor" for an attribution report to show the poor stock picking (standard and easy) and they will stone wall you. They DETRACT performance not to mention higher volatility and as the founder loves to quote on annuities "nose bleed fees."

If you need equity returns, much better off buying SPY/EFA (60/40) and re-balance yearly, you will crush them by a mile.

by Michael, 2/22/2022

Pros: TV Commercials

Cons: Trumpers

Did and 1.5 hour phone meeting with a knowledgeable, but deceptive, sales VP. Then I did some research and found out that the salesmen are know to be liars, and Ken F is a Trump big supporter, and financier. Never gave them another thought.

by John, 2/20/2022

Pros: Good up-front selling with a personal portfolio analysis and retirement projection scenarios.

Cons: Better at advertising, sales, and marketing than investment insight.

Fisher Investments turned out to be a bad choice. Feel I have to say something to help others. Still in the process of righting the capsized portfolio they bought me into to stem losses.
• First the good: The VP I opened my account with and my assigned advisor thereafter were available, responsive, and easy to work with. My rating applies only to the overall firm. But…
• They charge one of highest fees for doing close to nothing but buying you into wildly uninformed positions in the currently most popular high-flyer stocks and telling you not to worry your precious little self over it.
• They claim, without little proof, that they “beat the market” year on year. Fudging? Instead you’re unlikely to even make up for their 1.5% fee for doing almost nothing.
• They sell you on tailored portfolio management, instead they dump you into a long-outdated, cookie-cutter, one-size-fits-all allocation, most stocks bought blindly at often the worst timing ever. They’ll claim your current portfolio is over-diversified then buy you in across the board.
• They claim to be attuned to formative market changes, instead they came across as completely tone deaf, and dumb, and their vaunted research proved basic and antiquated.
• They made some of the worst mistakes of not doing even the most basic due diligence and research on companies, countries, and sectors that they yet risk large amounts of your money on. Over half my positions are seriously down (elementary bad timing), but of the very few rectifying trades made in the past year, 2 out of 3 are down over 40%. Wow. (Similar to other’s experience.)
• When called on it, they never admit when wildly wrong, and always fall back on “just wait 35 years and you’ll be fine”. I was actually advised “just don’t look at your portfolio”. As if.
• Besides their overall condescending attitude of “your just not smart enough”, all their market updates and articles convey the same “we know it all” macro-condescension when they really don’t have any more clue than anyone else. They are not contrarian or insightful and just buy what’s tops and hot. Then they’ll contradict their own advice by saying later “we knew all along” of some market change that just shook your portfolio.
• They’ll denigrate owning mutual funds (their nasty fees!) but then buy some index funds and ETFs.
• Their lack of active management they claim is just restraint – its actually just disregard and irresponsibility. You’ll end up with magnified losses and washed-out performance.
• Got to say… the eponymous namesake himself, one learns, is a rather repugnant, self-important, over-hyped financier (redundant of the ilk perhaps)

by Elizabeth, 2/19/2022

Pros: They will die some day

Cons: Total confidence scammers

What part of confidence scam do you not get? They lie to get a commission. They want 1.5 % of your portfolio in fees. Period. All you get is ripped off.

by Dogpatch, 2/18/2022

Pros:

Cons: Arrogant, aggressive attitude and pushy "confidence man" sales approach

I recently liquidated my portfolio at the end of last year, anticipating a market correction. I'd been invested in some high flying growth stocks (FANG) that had done very well over the past 18 months but I felt were poised for a serious pull back based on Fed actions (end of QE program) and planned interest rate increases to try and reign in inflation that is the highest it's ever been in the past 40 plus years. Well it turns out I was right about the market but when I talked with the Fisher rep. he's all excited to tell me that it's just a minor correction and I should let them manage my portfolio and plunge back in to 100% stock allocation focusing on growth stocks. Hmm.... seems a bit risky? What about a more balanced portfolio that includes some percentage of bonds? No.
Moreover, we need to get 100% in stocks now, and not try to dollar cost average our way back in according to the salesperson. I've been managing my own money for about 40 plus years, but I thought I would listen to his proposal.
Now that I've thought about it, I think I'll stick with my own decision making and use my own business knowledge I've acquired over a lifetime of investing experience. It's gotten me this far and I don't have to pay high fees for someone else to loose money for me. Avoid these hucksters.

by Joe pole, 2/14/2022

Pros: Commercials

Cons: High fees and pushy

Stay away

by Sam Smith, 2/2/2022

Pros: None

Cons: My way or the highway approach to doing business

Fisher investments is a terrible company for individual retail investors like me. I never actually sent them any money to invest because I never got past the extensive sales pitch that lasted several hours over several phone calls. A waste of time.

If you are a person who is okay with blindly giving all your money to someone else to invest with no questions asked then Fisher is right for you.

Fisher uses a three step approach to try and win your confidence to let them invest your money for you.
Here are the steps:
1. Send you printed material by overnight delivery to try to impress you. They then set up a phone call to review this material. This material is geared toward making you think that Fisher knows the stock market better than anyone else so your investments will be safe.
2. Next they gather every detail of your net worth and ask a bunch of questions about your personal finance. Things like how much income will you need in retirement, have you taken this and that into account. Basically insult you about your ability to manage your personal finance. I have way more net worth than people with my income level. I think I know how to manage personal finance. They will then use this info against you to push their 100% investment in stocks.
3. The last step is where they present you with an investment approach that will be 100% investment in stocks. If you object then they will show you that you will not get the income that you told them you need in retirement if you do not do a 100% investment in stocks.

From here is it “my way or the highway”, with “my way” being the Fisher way. I am so glad I did not let Fisher invest my money.

by Harry, 1/22/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Slick Sales guy and then transfer you to a kid - if under $1M

I am a client now for over 2 years - Maybe I am not a big fish for them but I have an IRA a/c $300K and Investing a/c for $550K, I had to approach them to say I should be getting 1.25% in fees instead of the 1.5% they were charging, they said something like each individual account was less then the 1.5% threshold and I said that combined it qualifies as 1.25% so they finally moved me to that ranged and acted like they were doing me a huge favor. Its been two years and I get "all knowing" Ken Fisher pronouncements (spam) about how we are in the late stage of a bull market and growth stocks performance best at this stage not value stocks, how they know and have this contrarian insight - and they blindly stick with this philosophy - so no protection on downside, Here is the PAIN: They have lost 10% in the last 14 days - incredible! I know the market is tough but 10% in 14 days - it just shows their blind push to high growth tech stocks. They say their accounts are actively managed. yet I would say there were approx. 9 or 10 trades made in last 18 months (most of these in last couple of weeks - buying more tech) .. as the market crashing kept last week - still though. more spam news letters coming in from Ken talking about late stage of a bull market, no "value stocks" all high growth. Examples of trades NFLX right before it drops 23% Zoom, Docusign, SQ all before they go down more - seems kind of reckless and not very innovative. Meanwhile I hear that other firms like Merrill have done much better over the start of the year. I know I need to take a long term horizon - but what I have experienced is lots of hubris, kid and inexperienced advisors, and under performance. Time I think for Vanguard funds

by Jamie, 1/22/2022

Pros: None

Cons: Poor Service, Poor Performance, and Very Expensive

For me, working with Fisher was a nightmare. I'm retired so I was surprised when they proposed investing 100% of my money in stocks. Well, like a dummy, I took the bait and now I regret it. Whenever I called my investment counselor to ask detailed questions about my portfolio, they just gave me more of the ideological sales pitch. They spoke always spoke to me a condescending manner as if I knew nothing about the stock market even though I successfully invested my money in the stock market for over 20 years. I closed my account after a discussion with my investment counselor about why my portfolio was consistently losing money for many months due to the lack of active management during a major market rotation. My investment counselor hung up the phone during the discussion which was disrespectful which made my decision to terminate my relationship with Fisher that much easier. They left me with almost 80 positions in my account to unwind overnight. Luckily, I was able to restructure my portfolio and recover most of the loses within a short period of time.

by Olga, 1/17/2022

Pros: None

Cons: High fees low performance

Nice ads on tv but all bs
They are fi- douches to be sure
Stay away

by DJ, 1/13/2022

Pros:

Cons:

Cold caller (Justin H) was rude and hung up abruptly when told we were not interested in their services. Very unprofessional approach to selling what are professional services.

by Jim S, 1/13/2022

Pros: A lot of "attention" prior to transferring funds

Cons: performance well below benchmarks

More sizzle than steak. Poor communications after investing with Fisher. Seems like they have more excuses than straight forward information. Everything is scripted from the company HQ when talking with reps. pointing to volatile markets, political circumstances and other things out of their control. There are many other investment options that are superior to Fisher.

by Marcus H, 12/29/2021

Pros: Professional Mgmt

Cons: Ads deceptive

There are minimum fees that are in assessed regardless of performance. Fees are a percentage of the assets under management and will go up or down with portfolio values.
A cookie cutter / 1 size fits all.
For previous commenter Jeff Bodenstat who pulled $$ due to a political donation - what an idiot !
How do you like the dumpster fire you put in office?
Let’s go Brandon!

by Jim, 12/28/2021

Pros: Very professional advisor that I am working with. They educate you on the market swings, I have done reasonable well in mutual funds and stock for 35 years. Seen the highs and lows and did some selling before 1987 and 2000 and 2007 but looking back I would have done better just holding on. Tired of watching CNBC every morning would just be happy getting something average for the next 30 years

Cons: Their fee is acceptable in an average return environment. But the next 10 years looks flat ?? Maybe they will be making more than me in fees. I hope not but it would not necessarily be their fault - they should cut their fee by a 0.25 percent if the average return is going to be 2%-4% over the next 10 years like so many are saying

So far so good - up a rate of 8% in 8 months

by Jeff Bodenstab, 12/14/2021

Pros: Good narratives

Cons: Weak performance

I had investment funds there for more than a decade. The narratives were good and I learned a bit from them, but overall they underperformed the market. I would have done better in an index fund. I pulled all my money out and went to a different investment manager when I found out that CEO Ken Fisher contributed $250,000 to Donald Trump.

by Richard, 12/12/2021

Pros: None

Cons: Aggressive, wouldn’t honor my request for conservative investing

I initially got sucked into their marketing hype. I transferred funds and because of market volatility I asked my rep to dollar cost invest the funds. Nope, he ignored my request and chunked my entire account into stocks. And of course the market tanked shortly thereafter. I fired them and ceased their trading authority in my acct. The advisor that was given to me was pleasant enough but it felt that I was advising him on some of his medical conditions more than he was advising on financial matters. Avoid Fisher.

by Terry B., 12/3/2021

Pros: Great firm

Cons: None

Fisher had done an outstanding job on my account. I would highly recommend them as a money manager.

They have been providing me 5% income and have never touched my principal which was the goal when I first hired them.

by Michael R., 12/3/2021

Pros: Performance, Service

Cons: No Cons

They keep me updated and service me frequently. Performance has beaten the S&P 500 since I began with them in 2015. Not sure how someone could have lost 40% of their portfolio with them in the last 10 years? Possibly a broker who lost a client to Fisher Investments posting negative reviews? You can sleep well at night knowing your money is in the hands of a fiduciary who is not churning your life savings.

by Bryan 11/ 19/ 2021, 11/19/2021

Pros: Great Service, no snags

Cons: None

Have beena member of
Fisher Inv. for 3 years.
Very happy with my advisor
Adam Eugene. He has answered
every question I've ever asked, taken the time to ex-
plain things so I can totally
understand.
Provided all the 401K rollover and Roth moves easily.
The picks of stocks and sectors choices have performed very well.
I have no reservations
joining their client list.

by Russ, 11/15/2021

Pros: Very open

Cons: Lack of adequate FSCS protection

Great customer service and a very good return since I started investing with Fisher in 2017

by Steven, 11/13/2021

Pros: Honest, steady communication, making money

Cons:

It’s been working for me… and better than I can do for myself.

by Chuck, 11/4/2021

Pros: None I can think of

Cons: Overly aggressive sales reps, very high fees

Sales rep tried to make an appointment at my home. I would not have a person I do not know visit my home. Asked him why not meet at their office. He became belligerent with me. I cancelled the meeting at which time he told me that he hoped my portfolio would blow up.
Stay away, you can do better

by 5 yr customer, 10/29/2021

Pros: Fancy Marketing

Cons: Everything else

1. They can't time the market like they claim...no one can....Liars! They should be shut down for claiming they are fiduciaries and making outlandish statements.
2. Their fancy mutual fund did so badly they had to close it. If they were any good their fund should have been a top performer.
3. They can't and don't out perform the S&P because they use too much weak international exposure.
4. Once you are a client you can't get out (Hotel California). Just like TIAA Cref and Valic, they make excuse after excuse to delay and pretty much stop you from getting your money back from them.
It's a shame because there are Fiduciary fee based advisors that do it right but like all the big firms their is a greed element at work at Fischer that will swing the benefits in their direction and away from you.
If they make exciting claims tell them to send that to you clearly in writing....you'll never get it.
STAY AWAY !!!!

by linda, 10/28/2021

Pros:

Cons: sexist

currently am thinking of changing investment firms and thought another look at Fisher was warranted but it doesn't sound like they have changed there tune. About 15 years ago I sold my small business for 1 mil. and signed up to attend a group recruitment meeting with Fisher. When they found out that I was coming without my husband I was uninvited. By the sounds of the complaints it does't sound like anything has changed. Their flyiers will continue to go into the round file.

by Pat(female), 10/8/2021

Pros: None

Cons: None

They addressed their materials to my husband.
So I threw the material where it belonged.

by tom, 9/8/2021

Pros:

Cons: very pushy timeshare sales types

I am not a customer of Fisher but they call me regularly. The young salesmen that call me remind me of timeshare salesmen. They claim that Fisher will outperform and they can accurately time the market. They pick individual stocks and they know when to buy and sell and what to buy and sell. When I ask them about Fisher's extremely mediocre Purisima Fund that was forced to close, they change the subject. If Fisher Investments had a Flagship mutual fund that had poor performance and was forced to close, that tells you all you need to know about their great MARKET BEATING claims.

by Darkwing, 9/6/2021

Pros: Do Right for me (so far)

Cons: Seem to want it all

Have been with Fisher for 9 years and have seen 300% growth on funds in that time. Am aware of S&P500 over same time has around 250% growth, so from the point of a novice investor I am fine. When I chose them at least I understood their fee structure (unlike Others!). So I knew what I was getting into. Keep talking to me, and wanting all my funds (not going to happen).

Will be interesting to see what happens when markets fall big time?

by Joe Low, 8/16/2021

Pros: Lots of exposure to thier reasoning for actions. Customer service focused

Cons: Global diversification hurts when US is dominating

I find the complaints comical. They have a massive inform the client campaign regarding what they are going to do, and how they are going to manage your money. If you're surprised, frankly it is your own fault. Are their fees high? Pretty standard for what they do actually, but 1 1/4 is steep if you are self investing, and of course deceptively seem high if you're believe the false numbers in your Mutual Fund's documentation. Their performance is what you'd expect with a company with international exposure. When The S&P soars and Europe flounders, you won't match the S&P. If you go into Fisher with your eyes open you'll get an honest firm that has a real focus on customer service IMO

by Rick, 8/15/2021

Pros: Good Marketing

Cons: Everything else

They lost about 40% of my investment. All the crap about a "customized portfolio" is just that - crap. And their "we don't make money till you make money" is the same. They make money either way - all they care about is that you keep invested. They will never take you to all cash even if the market is in the tank.

by Na, 8/4/2021

Pros: Zero

Cons: Crooked firm crooked owners

All negative comments are true. Personally I would question any positive reviews for this company and any other related companies under their umbrella.

by David, 6/1/2021

Pros: No discernable advantage over other brokers.

Cons: High cost for Mediocre performance.

I was with Fisher for around five years, having bought into their advertising. The fund I was in was certainly not tailored to me but a standard Purisma fund. I watched my fund follow the market down in 2008 without any sell off by Fisher, who was supposed to be able read the market. The fund gradually recovered as markets improved, but far from a good performance. The regular calls from my ‘advisor’ were pointless as I was stuck in the one fund, what could he advise me to do? Aware of the high costs with Fisher I wanted to withdraw my investment but it was a real struggle to do this, my advisor constantly telling me it was a risky thing to do. Leaving them was the best decision I made, I just select my own funds on an online investment platform and the returns have been far above any Purisma fund. I can sell instantly, and the fees are far less. Strongly advise against using them.

by TG, 5/24/2021

Pros: Extensive Stock Knowledge

Cons: A 3 maybe 4 star mutual fund with a high expense ratio. Nothing more nothing less.

Everytime they would put me in a stock it seemed to drop 15% to start. Relied on FANG Stocks to keep the performance up.

by Just a regular investor, 4/22/2021

Pros: All-in-one management.

Cons: Aggressive marketing. Magical thinking that they can outperform the SP 500 Index. High fees 1.25% on first million.

I was considering going with Fisher for my portfolio. To pay the high fees they charge, I would need to have convincing, if not compelling, evidence that they are better than index funds, and better than robo-advisors. They propose to pull all funds from mutual funds and invest in individual stocks that they will manage. They will then advise and invest as a "broker knows best" strategy. Looking at the evidence, they have only beat the SP 500 11/18 years. Personally, I need a stronger record to pay those kind of fees, and to convert everything to stocks. If I were to leave Fisher, I would be stuck with numerous stocks that I could not manage myself. With their aggressive slick advertising in the mail and TV, ,they have to do better than that. Just don't meet the threshold to say "yes."

by Mark Tupert, 4/15/2021

Pros: The fees seem high to those who don’t know the hidden feed of the other companies. My returns are in the 18 to 20% range after all fees. I highly recommend. If you don’t like your service rep as I didn’t get another as I did and now have a good relationship with him!

Cons: None

Excellent company with your interests in mind. Many here giving low marks are not truly aware of how many hidden fees other companies charge. Look at all fees including the fee on the funds owned by the company you use and over charge you to be in their funds! Wells Fargo hit me on this one!

by Steve W, 4/8/2021

Pros: Not Many

Cons: Blocking me transferring my funds

I have funds with these guys and they have done everything within their power to keep control of my funds and chip away at it with their high fees. I have repeatedly tried to transfer these funds over a period of 4 years. I have been trying to relocate my kiwisaver to my superfund, they keep quoting the very legislation that is meant to protect the customer as a reason not to release the funds. A complaints person there called Harry is a master at deliberating misinterpreting questions so the answers suit their needs. Strongly recommend avoiding fisher funds.

by DAVE SMITH, 1/26/2021

Pros: THEY KEEP US ON TOP OF MARKET FLUCTUATONS THEY HAVE SHOWN MORE RETURN IN 5 THAN THE OTHERS DID IN 15. I HAVE BEEN INVESTED IN ALL EQUITIES

Cons: NONE

WITH OVER 20 YEARS OF USING INVESTMENT FIRMS, FISHER BY FAR HAS OUT PERFORMED THE OTHERS . WE KNOW WHAT THEIR FEES ARE, THE OTHERS WOULDN'T GIVE US A GOOD ANSWER, EXCEPT DON'T WORRY WHAT WE MAKE , JUST WORRY ABOUT WHAT YOU MAKE. (OR LOOSE). WE ALSO LIKE THE WAY THEY ADJUST OUR PORTFOLIO AS THE MARKETS CHANGE

by PISSED, 12/16/2020

Pros:

Cons: Fischer want to control not only ALL of your funds in an Institiutional Account, make trades withput tasking or telling you. They also interfere in your personal life, calling friends and family membeand generally interfering in your life which is none of their business.

Run as fast and as far as you can from these people. They are not what they seem.

by Morgan, 12/11/2020

Pros: Nothing that other companies don't offer

Cons: Fees are too high and the advisor reminds me of a used car salesperson. They argue with the client and actually stop short of calling the client dumb. I am leaving Fisher within the next two weeks. Again, the fees, and attitudes rub me the wrong way. Oh, my neighbor used Fisher as well but left for the same reasons I am leaving.

They have not performed well for me, especially with their high fees.

by Robert, 12/4/2020

Pros: Interesting reading material

Cons: Had to print the guide so I could make notes

After seeing a Fisher commerical and coming across an ad on the web, I thought I would check out the reading material they frequently advertise. The guide had some interesting thoughts and gave me a few things to think about. However, the information was sent electronically and I had to print out the entire guide as I like highlight and make notes on the information I read.

by John Doe, 11/17/2020

Pros:

Cons: crooked firm.

a crooked firm with a lying sexual deviant for a boss. No one should do business with them...thank god for Fidelity investments for dropping them. No decent Co..should do business with them

by duke, 11/9/2020

Pros:

Cons: too expensive

they stink!!!

by Dan Hunhoff, 9/22/2020

Pros: Pleased with thier customer service. They respond quickly to requests and issues. I understand thier fees and can predict them. Not the case with other investment firms I have had in the past. If not with Fisher I would be invested in an Index 500 fund. I have found that thier performance more than makes up for thier fees as compared to a no fee Index 500 fund over the time I have been with

Cons:

My experience wioth Fisher has been very good. I can understand the fee structure. Seems like a lot when the fee statement arrives, However even with the fees I earn more than the Index 500 no fee funds. I have been invested with other large investment firms durring my working years and they could never explain adequatly to me just what fees applied, but the investment growth was alway a lot more than my account growth was. I think they save me a lot because they are not investing in Mutual funds and charging those fees in addition to thiers. We have had the same Investment Counselor since opening our account in 2016.

by Kathryn, 9/16/2020

Pros:

Cons: The account owner passed away. As trustee of the account and executor of the estate, my experience has been poor.

My dad chose Fisher 7 years ago. He had been managing his own investments and at the age of 85 decided it was time for someone else to take over. He set up a contest to see if Fisher could out-perform his selections for a period of time. Satisfied that Fisher did better, he chose to work with them. Dad was satisfied with the performance on his investments.

2 years ago, dad authorized Fisher to speak with me on his behalf. When I tried to contact his counselor, I learned that person had left the organization. Dad was unaware that of the turnover and hadn't heard anything from Fisher for some time. A new counselor was assigned and Dad and I were able to resume regular updates.

Dad passed away 4 months ago. Fisher's ability to assist the beneficiaries settle this part of dad's estate has been unsatisfactory. We expected Fisher (as a giant) to efficiently move through the steps toward distribution of the assets. They MUST have experience working with the estate of clients that pass away! The accounts need to be re-registered before distribution. At this point, we were advised by the account's investment counselor that continuing to work with Fisher would be slow and we would continue to pay the fees through distribution of the assets. Our best option is to terminate the relationship with Fisher and work directly with the clearing house. Not what I expected from a very large investment firm. I would not choose to invest with Fisher.

by Tom, 6/19/2020

Pros:

Cons:

This company is more focused on social justice warrior commercials and elavating themselves, while accusing white males of unethical behavior (watch their commercials), than they are about performing well for their clients. A race bating company that is contributing to America's problems.

by Skip, 5/9/2020

Pros: No complaints and just sit back and trust Fisher

Cons:

Got involved about 5 years ago. Pooled all my investment funds from friends (I was not getting positive returns). First year with Fisher - NOTHING and my broker called and asked how I like investing with Fisher. The second year and since we have had positive returns that both my wife and I like.

We have attended a couple of regional seminars and those have been good.

With the most recent coronavirus meltdown, we were worried as the market crashed. But today we received our statement and we are back on track thanks to Fisher. Of course we are not where we were prior to the crash but we are in better shape than we thought we would be in and the market is still 4K below where it was prior to the crash.

So in summary, we have enjoyed not worrying and have allowed Fisher to do their thing. Now that is the way to retire.

by John, 8/17/2019

Pros:

Cons: employee turnover and poor performance with high fees

I have had a very small portfolio with Fisher over the past 20 years. He did ok early on but has been performing poorly relative to the market for some time. I never know who I am going to get when I call in. It seems like I have a new “Advisor” every few months so I am calling it quits. I want an advisor who will stick with me long term and have my best interests at heart. I have used another advisor at one of the larger firms and I like the idea of them evaluating the world’s top portfolio managers and having the flexibility to fire one if they underperform. At Fisher, Fisher is the portfolio manager. It’s either all or none when it comes to keeping them. If someone underperforms the index as long as them it has to stop. I’m not sure how he gets these fake reviews all over the place. Well I do, Fisher pays for it. He took down the posted performance of his Purisima funds that mirrored his stock portfolio performance. Their website claims they would be a 5 star fund, when in reality they were rated a 1 star fund prior to closing the funds. Don’t get drawn in to their scripted pitches, buyer beware.

by Max, 8/17/2019

Pros:

Cons:

Fisher portfolios have vastly underperformed over the past 10 years. They give you this pitch that they can accurately time the market but it’s a bunch of crap. Look at the end of 2018. Look at 08 and look at the tech crash in the early 2000’s. Fisher portfolios were in a free fall with the market. A balanced portfolio with a disciplined approach bests fisher any day.

by Martin, 3/13/2019

Pros:

Cons:

I retired recently, and Fisher Investments wanted to provide me their proposal. So, I provided them the information to prepare. I currently have a 60/40 bond / equity retirement savings that even Fisher Investments Rep admitted was very sound and more than adequate.

Basically, Fishers's sales gimmick is they will tell you they want to move all your savings into equities which historically out performed bonds. And, they believe they can adequately time the market moving in and out to take advantage. In addition there fee was quoted as over 1% of my portfolio per year; not to mention the brokerage fees & capital gains taxes that will be triggered. They claim to be a fiduciary, but their plan did not sound like in my best interest. I believe most average investors are better off in a balanced portfolio managing risk and return

by R J, 10/31/2018

Pros:

Cons:

I have worked with many investment advisors over many years and Fisher is the best by far. No one else comes close.

by Jeffery, 8/18/2018

Pros:

Cons:

I hovered over the 3 star rating - which stated "A-OK" and I hovered over the 4 Star rating - which states "Yay! I'm a fan." I went back and forth a bit, and finally opted to give them a 4 star rating. Here are some of the facts of my situation: Invested with Fisher in 2012. I just did some analytics and from June 2013 to July 2018 - and I am up 164% (avg 32% per year over 5 years). Market has been pretty good over these 5 years, and when I pulled the S&P chart for the same time period, the S&P is also up 164% (avg 32% per year) for the same 5 year period. I have some funds that I manage myself - my average was 25% return over the 5 year. So they are better than me, but I recall in the first Motley Fool book, there was a recommendation, unless you were going to spend X hours per week researching stocks and truly finding stocks that outperform the S&P significantly, than you should just invest in a low-cost fund that mirrors the S&P. Motley Fool appears to be pretty accurate, and all of the expertise of Fisher has not provided me with any extra return on my investment. My experience at Fisher has been excellent from a customer service stand point and a financial advisor standpoint, but I would be willing to put up with poor customer service if I received 3-4% more return every year. So some of the reviews definitely surprise - not sure how anyone could have suffered the losses that are being stated because I would expect most portfolios to have similar holdings to mine. Perhaps they just started their relationship and timed one of the corrections. I did this same assessment a couple years ago, and I read some others reviews and came to the same conclusion. And I couple of years ago, my personally managed funds were outperforming Fisher, but I still concluded that they are not over-priced and appear to provide pretty sound investment guidance. Probably worth it for me to be diversified and have them watching out for part of my savings. Since starting to invest with them, I will say that I see and hear a lot more advertising and the excessive advertising has me doing some comparison shopping at the moment. I think I will be sticking with them though.

I have yet to attend any of their seminars and meet any other clients. I am not much for that kind of thing, but I think I will attend one of the upcoming seminars and see what it is all about. Frankly, I am of the personal opinion that few client seminars and lower fees would work for me.



wiseradvisor

Add New Fisher Investments Review

 200 max, no html













Continue Reading


Fisher Investments Overview

If you are looking to have your portfolio professionally managed but don’t like the lack of personal approach of robo advisors, you should consider opening an account with Fisher Investments. Founded by famous investor, Ken Fisher, Fisher Investments has more than $100billion in assets under management, coming from a combination of institutional clients as well as tens of thousands of individuals. And you don’t need to have a million dollar portfolio either. This article will offer a brief overview of investing with Fisher Investments.

What is Fisher Investments?

Fisher Investments is an investment advisor that deals with institutional clients and individuals with moderate to high net worth (generally $500K and up). They get to know your unique financial situation and goals and then create and manage a custom portfolio to help you get there.

Who is the Ideal Fisher Client?

The ideal Fisher client is someone who has a sizeable portfolio and doesn’t have or want to spend the time to research the markets and be constantly managing their portfolio. Fisher is also geared toward the investor who is not satisfied with a robo advisor and wants the ability to pick up the phone and talk to the people managing their money. Your Fisher personal investment counselor will communicate with you as often as you like to keep you up to date on the market and your portfolio, and to make sure they are aware of any financially-significant events in your life and are adjusting your portfolio accordingly.

Fisher’s Investment Process

Fisher has a robust asset management and research team that monitor sectors, regions, economic cycles, and investment styles. They maintain a flexible investment strategy that enables them to move in and out of asset classes as value areas and market opportunities shift from one segment of the global markets to others. They also research ETFs, mutual funds, and individual securities to provide your portfolio with a strong selection of actively managed funds and strong stock picks, reflective of your investment goals. This sets Fisher apart from most robo advisors that stick to “cookie-cutter models” built from passive, index-tracking ETFs. Your personal investment counselor will take the investment recommendations of Fisher’s research teams, combined with your personal financial details, such as risk tolerance, investment timeline and objectives, income, tax considerations, and future cash flow needs, and build you a tailored, diversified portfolio.

What Does Fisher Cost?

One thing Fisher Investments prides itself on is its simple, transparent fee structure that puts its clients’ interests first. The only fee you pay to Fisher is an annual management fee of 1.5% of your account value for accounts under $500,000 (this fee scales down to 1% for larger accounts). You will also be responsible for paying any trading commissions generated in your account, but these will be billed to you separately by the independent custodian Fisher pays to hold your assets. This is a positive because it means that there’s no incentive for Fisher to do lots of trading in your account since they don’t benefit from the commissions you pay.

Continue Reading


Fisher Client Education Offerings

Fisher also goes above and beyond most robo advisors in communicating their outlook on the markets to their clients and generally keeping them informed and empowered to understand their portfolio. They publish a comprehensive quarterly letter, post capital markets update videos, and hold live events in more than 50 cities across the U.S. to keep their clients informed. And of course, your Fisher personal investment counselor is also always just a phone call away. Their website also includes a lot of self-help financials tools, like 401K and annuity calculators.

Summary

If you are a busy professional with a sizeable portfolio ($200K+) and you don’t have the time or desire to actively manage your portfolio, Fisher Investments may be a good fit for you. Their fees are a bit higher than most robo advisors, however the saying “you get what you pay for” rings true here. With Fisher, you will get an actively managed portfolio (whereas robo advisors use passive ETFs) and a real person monitoring your portfolio with your personal financial situation in mind.

Disclaimer: Your broker review, rating, advantages, and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Customer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any customer reviews that don't meet the above requirements.