Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews


Merrill Edge customer reviews, complaints, ratings. IRA account pros and cons. Is Merrill Edge brokerage firm good and safe or a scam?

Merrill Edge Review

Read Expert Merrill Edge Review »

Broker Promotions

Discount Broker Deals »


MerrillEdge Customer Reviews

by Rich Garbarini, 11/19/2018

Pros:

Cons:

I opened a moderate/low risk account. Merrill Edge represented I would have a 40% exposure to the market. Instead, I had a 55% exposure and they purchased some high risk small cap stocks.

When questioned why I lost 5.4% at closure (after losing 5% in 8 months), they said it was because the market went down 11%. When i told them the market actually went up .2% they said a good portion of my investment was in foreign stocks and low cap companies.

They also said that a lot of the final losses occurred months earlier but were not realized until I closed the account. This means they were artificially inflating the prior statements to hide losses.

They attempted to play games with the numbers not realizing I was an astro-physics minor and science major and mathematics comes naturally to me. They kept changing the story.

Scam! Stay away from this company.

by JohnJohn, 10/31/2018

Pros: Good account opening offer

Cons: They won't let you access your money

I wired in a large sum of money into my new account, expecting to be able to use it to buy stocks immediately. The money arrived in the account OK but they put a hold on it so I can't use it. The whole reason people use wires is for instant transfer, not for the money to sit on hold for some indeterminate amount of time!

by Moe Azimi, 10/8/2018

Pros: 100 Free trades per month, after 3 months of cumulative account value of 100K.

Cons: Worst broker ever. read details below

This is a very honest review.
I am using Merrill Edge for 1 year now as my primary broker for stocks primarily. The commission of this broker is at $6.95 per trade. The reason I am still with them is that I get 100 free trades per month thru their reward program( besides the free trades, everything else is a disaster).

They been around for years, I am sure more than most of other competitors. Their trading platform (marketpro) sucks big time.. Very based web-based. All active traders should stay away from this disaster 100 miles away. They have something called "Safepass", pretty much prior to entering a trade you have to get a code in your phone as SMS to verify the trade. You will definitely not going to get the entry you desire in a trade.
There is no "HotKeys" to place orders. Everything has to go thru a manual entry with a verification step which takes few seconds to place any type of order.

The dont have a good stock scanner tool. They brag about their research, yet they dont provide a Premarket or aftermarket gappers list.
Anyway, I am about to say good bye to 100 free trades due to all other problems that come with those free trades. The 1 start is due to its free trades. other than that its a "ZERO".

by Sri, 9/18/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Be careful. They cheat

When I opened Edge account, they promised me that If I invest $50,000/. I get $600 rewards.
After 6 months, now they are telling me that since I transferred money from BofA I am not eligible.

by Brad Strong, 8/7/2018

Pros: Preferred Rewards

Cons: Customer service, issues with options, issues with low priced securities, issues with website, issues with dividends reinvestment and more.

I moved my account from Sharebuilder as they were closing, by the way never had an issue with that broker to Merrill Edge. I joined because of the Bank of America Preferred Rewards which are nice. Read lots of reviews good and bad. I figured any major bank going to have some issues but it seems to be one after the other. They messed up my transfer that I had put in months before as I knew I was deploying and took weeks of calling everyday for hours right up to the day before I was deploying for military duty to get fixed. Luckily I got one representative who understood and worked the issue to the end which was nice after going through 5 different ones before who did nothing but repeat same thing over and over. That was the start of issues. Now I cant reinvest dividends from certain companies which raises my taxes when paid as cash which is unacceptable and each representative gives same excuse with no real answer or fix. There is no real way to submit a complaint or issue except to talk to a representative instead of sending a form or email or call to a complaint center which tells you they don't seem to care or hope it will get lost in the mess of representatives and hope you forget at that point. They have changed their low priced security policy which makes it even harder to buy the stocks you want. I will continue to try out the free trades which is the only positives of the preferred rewards program and hope things get better. If not I will transfer to a better broker and pay slightly higher fees for trades but get better use of my assets with less hassle. If you are thinking about joining I recommend going somewhere else I miss sharebuider and starting to question if I should have let it go to E-Trade. The only benefit is the preferred rewards program but I am starting to question if it is worth it.

by DucdeRicheleau, 8/2/2018

Pros: 100 Free Trades

Cons: Cannot trade with the IRA money I transferred to ME, over sensitive software which claims violations when there aren't any

I transferred a 6-figure sum into an IRA account with Merrill Edge four years ago. It has been grayed out ever since and not even earning interest. With the previous custodians it was earning money, now with Merrill Edge it earns nothing for me. I have tried contacting them and asking what the problem is, no resolution of the issue. I also did not get the cash incentive that they advertise. As far as I can see, you just don't get it. I have ignored the problem with my IRA until now, because I was trading with other money. Enough is enough however.

by Steve, 6/11/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Too many to list!!!

Limited investment selection, limited to 100 options per trade, unnecessary manual review on orders, delayed option quotes

1. Option orders are limited to 100 contracts. You need to call into the trading desk for larger orders. By then, the market has moved away from you! Many times, you sit on hold for 30+ minutes to place an order!!!

2. They "REVIEW" your order before it hits the market which will delay your trade.

3. If you transfer your account out, they jerk you around and it takes weeks. They screwed up mine, and held $400k hostage for 3 weeks before releasing it to my new broker!!!

Stay away from it if you are an advanced trader.

by John, 3/19/2018

Pros:

Cons:

Custom Service at Merrill Edge is terrible. They play the game rather than solving the problem. There is a 4-days window prior to issuing 90-day lockout penalty which Custom Service didn't inform you before the deadline reaches. Also it takes so long to settle the funds. You have to wait for 3 days to reinvest after you sold your fund.

by Platinum Honor Customer, 3/13/2018

Pros: 100 Free ETF/Stock trades per month. Negotiable option trading fees. All BOA and brokerage accounts in one page

Cons: Limited investment selection, limited to 100 options per trade, unnecessary manual review on orders, delayed option quotes

1. Many investment options are blocked.
USO is blocked but UCO which is 2x risky is not. Many others you name it. They don't provide any blacklist to you.

2. You can only put 100 options in each online order even for a 20c long call

3. They "REVIEW" your order before it hits the market which will delay your trade.

4. When you want to close your option positions, they put a manual review on it which is ridiculous.

5. Your quote on your options trading on their website is 15min delayed quote which is absolutely not acceptable.

Stay away from it if you are an advanced trader.

by Rick s., 2/11/2018

Pros:

Cons:

I had to call Merrill Edge 6 times to have my tax papers sent to me last year. Twice so far this year. I’m well aware that I can access them on line but I want them sent to me, I figure that’s the least they can do. I really don’t think they have anyone working there that gives a crap or just don’t care. POS company

by George H., 2/6/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Will find ways to keep investment returns from customer

Merrill has prevented me from using funds in my IRA account to purchase stocks within Merrill Edge. I sold some stocks and tried to purchase more the next day. After purchasing just one stock, my account was locked because I had not waited 2 days between trades (something they don't tell you is against their rules). Further, they imposed a 90-day lockout penalty since I had "violated their rules" with the next day trade. They said if I would deposit $3800 more in my account, they would consider lifting the 90-day penalty. In effect, they are making money off my account for 90 days and I get nothing, tantamount to account hostage piracy.
Please be warned that Merrill Edge is not a safe place for your IRA or investments, since they will come up with some scheme to cheat you out of your returns.

by Douglas kronemeyer, 10/20/2017

Pros: None

Cons: They dont return calls and dont follow through on cutomer requests

I'm not sure if they are incompetent or if they just dont want to let go of your money. We are on our 6th account manager since December and have been lied to or given incorrect information several times.

by cpg, 10/19/2017

Pros: Pros: Nothing, really, yes fees are spelled out in large text!! No minimum to open, but that comes with some caveats...

Cons: Cons: ETF's are not free like Schwab has over 1,000+; and 5600 no transaction funds vs only 2700 with Merrill Edge

Old school circa 2002 web site, you can't see which mutual funds are no transaction fee until you open an account, you can fund it with zero dollars but the hassle to cancel/close out your account is not worth it. And if you call to inquire on tickers, the Call Center rep will go into their account and set up position to see whether a transaction fee or not, HOW RINKY DINK is that!

There cash offer promotions are not even market competitive to Schwab, Schwab offers a $100 bonus for new taxable accounts, for $1,000. I asked Merrill Edge if they would match this promotion, no reply to my e-mail or call back. I even called the branch and left a message with Merrill Edge FA no returned call. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL. Also, Every direct competitor has Chat day or night, not Merrill Edge, chat unavailable and I observed this for months. You can call and get some sales bluster or send an email and hope and pray for a reply, Likewise at the Bank branch the FA;s don't return calls, WHY? It's beneath their level of financial prowess.

On balance, Fidelity, Schwab and Vanguard, even Scottrade allow you to use their mutual fund screener tools not Merrill Edge until you become a customer and find out how few funds are no transaction fees true no loads.

by Unsatisfied Client, 10/3/2017

Pros: Free trades if you have a high enough balance

Cons: Advisors don't have a clue what they're doing

My experience with ML Edge has been very negative. They have cost me more than $2,000, because they botched an account transfer leading to a trade being rejected. When the account transfer did finally go through, the trade was placed at a far less favorable price. This all took place because the person who was handling my transfer was in training, and there was no follow-up with the transfer being input properly. If the person training the new advisor was doing his/her job correctly, they would have made sure the transfer was processed correctly. Instead the mistake was not realized until 2 weeks after I submitted the paperwork, which is when I followed-up to see what the status was.

Ultimately, they don't take ownership for their service to their clients, because they work in a call center and are not required to maintain relationships.

Also, the website is very limited. It doesn't provide a lot of detailed information related to individual securities. I'm forever having to reference a 3rd party site to get more information. Not to mention you're very limited on the type of trades you're able to do through the website.

If you're considering an online broker, DON'T GO WITH ML Edge!!

by Brian, 8/31/2017

Pros: Free Trades if you have a large enough relationship balance.

Cons: Lack of personal attention and follow through.

There's no continuity with what each representative tells you. Because you're working with representatives in a call center, there is also a lack of follow through. It seems like the reps you speak with either have little flexibility to do anything, or they lack time/motivation since they work in a call center, so you have to continue up the chain of command to get anything done on your account.

by no way if you're a day trader, 8/24/2017

Pros: link with BoA

Cons: Slow, inefficient

the worst trade platform. impossible to navigate - trade, order status, etc. they are all over the places. and the highlight is "PASSCODE". Submitting order is not the end of trade process. You have to spend a couple more minute to get "PASSCODE" through your phone or email. Their trade platform (Market pro) is the worst. You still need to enter "PASSCODE". And settling money after trade will take several days. NEVER EVER DEAL WITH THIS imcompetent.

by Doreen, 8/21/2017

Pros: None

Cons:

My Mother passed away and she had an account from her Mother. That money has been there for many years. Now I get the run around just trying to close the account and have the money sent to her estate account so we can finish the probate with the courts. Sent from Merrill Lynch to Merrill edge, never explaining why. Two months later with no resolution in sight. A 2 hour phone call from the attorney and no results, just paid more money for nothing. Stay away from this company, as if the process of losing my Mother wasn't enough. I just want to move forward and it's been very painful for me. They are CROOKS! DON'T GIVE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY TO THIS BIG CORPORATION. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT YOU!

by Linda Nothaft Brousse, 7/14/2017

Pros: Absolutely none. Lie. Grossly incompetent

Cons: Never return calls or emails..

Took them 5 months to transfer money mother needed for medical care. Now she is deceased continued delay tactics for 10 months still can not get them to liquidate and transfer accounts out of this financial institution, Absolutely DO NOT do business with this company.

by Linda Nothaft Brousse, 7/14/2017

Pros: Absolutely none. Lie. Grossly incompetent

Cons: Never return calls or emails..

Took them 5 months to transfer money mother needed for medical care. Now she is deceased continued delay tactics for 10 months still can not get them to liquidate and transfer accounts out of this financial institution, Absolutely DO NOT do business with this company.

by Jim, 7/14/2017

Pros: None at all. You're better off keeping money under the mattress then invest with these crooks.

Cons: Dishonest, manipulative and unresponsive

I had a very bad experience at Merrill Edge and I would not recommend it to anyone. I opened one of their managed money accounts through a so called "Financial Solutions Advisor" in one of their Bank of America branches. It was doing very poorly so I tried to talk to the Financial Solutions Advisor to put it in a different product. I couldn't get her on the phone and she didn't return my calls. After several attempts I finally was able to get it changed. It did even worse. I then decided to move the money to a different company. I called her and asked her to convert my account to cash for the transfer. After two weeks she hadn't done it. I called again. I called again. She still hadn't done it. It took a month of calls to get her to do this. Terrible performance and incompetent personnel.

by John, 5/24/2017

Pros: BoA perks

Cons: Everything Else.

I was working with a financial adviser for 2.5 years at a local branch. However, he tells me he's going on baby leave for 3 months, and when he gets back, we'll complete making some changes to my investments and strategy.

4 months later, I call to find out when we will make changes, and I finally find out (after 3 weeks of trying) that my financial adviser is no longer with the company and that no one has taken my accounts over.

Meanwhile, I start to take a closer look at my investments since I don't have a financial adviser only to find out that he recommended several investment choices that were against my financial objectives. There were clearly better choices out there and he failed to even offer them to me. I admit, he was a good salesman.

I tried to talk to a different financial adviser, but every time I called in, he was busy, and I got shuttled off to the next adviser in the queue, who had no clue on my history or my objectives. I continued to get conflicting advice.

I'm 3 months into my filed complaint, and I am yet to get any resolution. Merrill Edge continues to miss deadlines for promised call backs, answer basic questions about the status of my complaint, they continue to provide conflicting advice on what I should do with my account and what remedies may be available.

I am getting nothing but the run-around from Merrill Edge.

To think that I entrusted all of my investments with them, and paid them a lot of money, is horrifying.

Never use this company.

by Joan Zehrt, 3/10/2017

Pros: Pleasant

Cons: Dishonest Nonresponsive

Unwilling to allow one to withdraw their own funds. Will encourage movement of funds into Bank of America mutual funds which are performing poorly. Will quote rates on CDs and then not have those rates on the CDs. Will promise to correct the problem but do nothing. Will leave customer on hold for 30 minutes and then hang up.

by OCA, 2/11/2017

Pros:

Cons:

TERRIBLE, DONT MOVE MONEY INTO THIS BANK, THEY CAN STEAL YOUR MONEY EASY

by Phil, 11/23/2016

Pros: Link to Bank of American account, easy deposit

Cons: Worst trading platform, slow trade executions, money frozen!!!!!!!

I decided to give Merrill Edge a try because I am a loyal longtime Bank of America customer. At first, things looked OK and I wanted to stay with Merrill Lynch as my main broker because I can link it to my BOA account for easy money transfers. But I started experiencing many problems and soon realize this is the worst broker in history. First, my account balance would fluctuate up and down by $7,000 so I never know how much money I actually have in my account. When you try to do a quick swing trade, the site would either froze or they require a passcode so it's impossible to make a quick trade. Then the worst part, I did some bad trades and lost $11,000 in one week. My account fell below $25,000 (I'm classified as a daytrader) and they froze my whole account. I had $16,000 left in the account but was unable to trade or withdraw the money. They told me it's because of "federal regulations" but that's BS. I've used many other brokers and they will never freeze your account especially after 5 market days and your trades have already settled. Having your money in limbo and not knowing when you'll get it back is the final straw for me.

by RJ, 10/18/2016

Pros: Absolutely NONE

Cons: One word "Crooks" If you're considering investing with them, DON'T!

I've been trying to close out an account for three weeks. Still waiting for a check. I've heard more bullshit stories over the past 3 weeks than I've ever heard before. It's so obvious that they're just holding my money. No one will ever tell you the truth, they just put it off on someone else. My advice: INVEST SOMEWHERE ELSE!

by Gary, 9/22/2016

Pros: None

Cons: They lie ask 6 different people at Merrill you will get 6 different answers

They are a bunch of crooks parading as brokers. When they screw you you have no place to go. Try calling Bank of America they will tell you they have no control over the management at Merrill and there sorry but they cannot help. At Merrill the associates will tell you anything to get their hands on your money. The supervisors are just as bad why do you think they hold the record for negative reviews. If you give them the chance they will make sure you and your money are separated and your only remedy is to file complaints with the s.e.c. It's better just to stay away.

by Gary, 9/21/2016

Pros: Unknown

Cons: Impossible to do business with. Once your lied to the trust is gone.

Unless you like to be aggravated take your business elsewhere. They are so hard up for new customers they will say anything they have to to get your money. Been trading for 40 years with a half dozen different brokers but never experienced what's going on here. Brokers have a series 7 license and I thought that they would do the right thing even if only to protect their license. But at Merrill they don't care. They will say whatever it takes. I just filed a complaint with the s.e.c.. If you don't have an account with them stay away. If you have an account with them file a complaint with the s.e.c. If enough people complain rather than post on the internet they might stop screwing their customers.

by Felipe T., 6/20/2016

Pros: None

Cons: Horrible execution, delayed quotes and terrible customer service

The only reason I opened a Merryll Edge (ME) account was because I really like BoA banking. At one point I had over $80K in the self directed account and little by little based on the delayed quotes and executions to either buy or sell a stock, the account was drained of $45k in loss. During these incidents I would contact customer service and get the run around, get blamed for not contacting them a "minute before" in order to get help or get good orders cancelled by the system without a good explanation besides system malfunction. Their customer service is the worst in the industry and their motto is " Merryll Lynch is not completely satisfied until the customer is completely disastified". DO NOT USE THESE CROOK. Their trading platform is antiquated, slow and inaccurate. DO NOT LOSE MONEY WITH THIS BROKER.

by Mr. Fact, 5/4/2016

Pros: Best of best!

Cons: None

First of all, I don't trust any negative review here. I used Merrilledge for so many years and never had a single problem. When I read about people saying negative here, I never had those problem. Their trade execution is fast and many times I got a better price. I buy sell buy sell for many times and not a single problem. Transfer money from BofA to Merrilledge is so convenient and super fast too.

To me, Merrilledge is very good.

by MAD, 2/5/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Don't Open An Account With Merrill Edge!!

When I began the process of deciding which online brokerage firm to open an account with, I was very optimistic that Merrill Edge was the optimal choice. Just a week later, I realize that I was dead wrong!

The process of opening a new account, setting up an ACH, funding the account, and verifying the funds has been extremely labor intensive, time consuming, and overall frustrating. Although the articles I've read both online and on the Merrill Edge website advertise the ease of opening/funding a new account, the reality is quite the opposite.

It took an extremely long time to set-up the ACH, and it wasn't until I called to complain did the application make it to the top of the pile for processing. I would hate to think what would have happened if I hadn't called to complain. And another surprise was encountered when I attempted to fund the account and discovered that yet another step was required, and another four (4) days of waiting time and inactivity. And after the account was funded, it took another three (3) days for the funds to be verified. But on their website, they say it only takes three days to fund an account. Completely not true, as I am going on my seventh (7th) day and the account is still not ready to trade.

Unfortunately, till this day, thirteen (13) days since initiating the new account, I am still unable to trade.It has become painfully obvious to me that Merrill Edge does not welcome new clients without a Bank of America account. If I would have know about that, I would have never begun this process, and would have taken my business elsewhere.

So save yourself some heartache and go elsewhere!!

by mark antes, 1/12/2016

Pros: not sure of any - thought it would be simpler linked to BoA accounts

Cons: consistently provided inaccurate information and performed transactions incorrectly

not much good to say here unfortunately - they tricked me into thinking this would be easier and more cost effective due to my existing BoA accounts. Big Mistake!

The initial Merrill Edge advisor at a BoA branch consistently provided me with inaccurate information to convince me to set up a SEP IRA.

Then, every single contribution in 2015 was categorized incorrectly, whether online or by phone.

Of course, they cannot and/or will not make any error corrections - they claim that they are not able to do so.

The people on the phone are less than useless as well.

by Richard, 1/7/2016

Pros: They answer the phone

Cons: Many, see below

Find another service; don't put your money with Merrill Edge. Every distribution (4) that I have tried to do has been mishandled. Whether an education savings account or a mandatory distribution from an IRA it has been bungled. Most have required the same form faxed 2-3 times because it can't be found despite a confirmation of delivery on my end. Despite requests for a call to acknowledge receipt, they never come. After long holds and much searching, I'll hear, "we found it". Most recently my mandatory IRA distribution was handled by the head of quality (ironically) who was helping cover in a busy time. I was assured of the distribution and now on 1/7; I see that it did not happen. My accounts with T Rowe Price and TIAA CREF run very smoothly. Stay away from this incompetent organization.

by Jaspir, 10/1/2015

Pros:

Cons: Arrogant and rude.

Have my accounts in B of A. Decided to invest with MEdge. Do yourself a favor and STAY AWAY!! I paid them to manage my account. I followed their advise. I am just now recovering my losses through frugality and closing the account so no more damage could be done. They were none too helpful and took forever to get the account closed. Will warn everyone I know to not use this Company.

by Chris of Sterling, 5/22/2015

Pros:

Cons:

I have a Merrill-Edge account due to being a BoA customer and the ease of transferring funds along with a $6.95 commission. I also have an OptionsHouse account which I use for options trading which I've had since they were Trade Monster. When I opened the Merrill account I applied for options and after a few days was approved but only at level 1 (level 4 with OptionsHouse) which limits me to only covered call sells. So that was disappointment #1.

The second problem I have with them is when I applied for Margin to be added. I received an email the evening I applied saying they'd received it and then nothing for three days. After market close on the third day I received an urgent margin call. There was no email saying approved or any additional information just a margin call. Since I didn't like the way it was handled (have margin with OH and always received prompt communication) I called and said I wanted margin removed which they said they could do however it wouldn't affect the current margin call (no problem I have the money but several of my equities are recent IPO's and not marginable so they're not included in the account). If I had to do it over again I wouldn't have opened the account with Merrill. Now I'm thinking of closing completely and transferring everything to my Ameritrade or TradeKing accounts.

by TreasureChest, 4/4/2015

Pros:

Cons:

First company I've done stock trading at. It was suggested by my BoA branch since I had an account there and could get free trades with the money I had. Worst mistake EVER. It took them forever to set up the account and at least another week to actually get my free trades per month, which I thought would be easy since they are the same company. It took a lot of back and forth to get the free trades and after that they denied me a margin account even though I was a pattern day trader and the best part is you can't actually talk to the people you deny your margin account. When you call them every once and a while you get someone that know what they are doing, but far to often you have a LONG wait to get some idiot that is totally clueless and has to put you on hold every few mins to get an answer. I sent my money over to TradeKing, because that is where I wanted to go before BoA conviced me to do Merrill Edge instead. My margin account is already set up over there and are just waiting for funds to clear.

by Guest, 3/5/2015

Pros: Fast, accurate and handy now

Cons:

Ignore most of the negatives after their TERRIFIC 2014 redesign.
Fast, accurate and handy now. Side-info you often need in view and within a click.
I was formerly a less-than-satisfied customer of many Bank of America services.
Have been recently surprised by helpful new changes and even new bankers who
treated me like I was a billionaire. (Instead of the measly millionaire they used to brush off.) Give this.

by Aaron, 11/23/2014

Pros:

Cons:

MerrillLynch/BankofAmerica closed my IRA account without any notice did not send me a check for the funds in the account for now over 30 days from the date of settlement of the sale of all shares held in the account as well as the cash balance. I have been given nothing but a runaround from Customer Service and the Distribution departments. Even tried calling BofA Executive CR and was told they would just pass it on.

When will the Fed finally realize that BofA needs to be shut down, all they do is steal form their depositors!!!!

by WW85712, 8/1/2014

Pros:

Cons: Web site reliability so very poor

For the third time in a month now, I can't access my holdings nor trade on Merrill Edge's web site. The site has been down for more than an hour now and every time I call Service, they keep telling me "they're working on it" and that "they had to reboot the servers and it should be up shortly." This is unbelievable. That they don't have proper redundancy is just unacceptable.

by Guest, 7/18/2014

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Bad organization, bad customer service

I've been trying to open an account for about a week and I have called in multiple times and one of the times a rep thought that my account was deleted. Then I called in again and he was able to access the application. Meanwhile with their stupidity, I have lost so much from potential investments I would have been in if my account had been made after the one to two business days it said it would take.

by Snootwaller, 7/1/2014

Pros: 30 free trades per month

Cons: little annoyances with their software

They have lots of little annoyances with their software, but nothing which is a deal-breaker. It's odd how long it takes for things to settle in your accounts, they display your stocks as taking losses when in fact you have gains w/ dividends, and other quirks. But on the bright side: 30 free trades per month! Can't beat that.

by trevick, 4/28/2014

Pros:

Cons:

I use Merrill Edge, and if you have more than $50K in your accounts (including BofA accounts, with their Platinum Privileges program), 30 equities and ETF trades a month are free, which is a great deal. Also, I can pretty much instantly transfer my funds over to and from my BofA checking account. I also have an E-Trade account and it takes several days (standard ACH transfer) to get funds over there, which is annoying.

by Abdul Hassan, 4/23/2014

Pros: Ignorant and horrible

Cons: Makes you feel like a criminal

Both Bank of America and subsidiary are horrible. Ignorant Reps and paying you next to nothing in interest , They are one simple word bad



Firstrade

Add Your MerrillEdge Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.






Continue Reading


Leading Brokerage Review Websites About Merrill Edge


"This online stock trading service has lower-than-average prices and an advanced trading platform with standard features, which means that it is a good choice, but there are better choices. However, it is also a well-established broker, which may make it more attractive than newer businesses."

TopTen Reviews
"Merrill Edge has some helpful online tools and may be a good option for those who bank with Bank of America and want to see their banking and investment accounts side by side. It is also a great option for those who meet the 30 free trades requirements. However, It isn’t the cheapest option and customers have complained about slow customer service and slow updates on available funds and trades."

Investor Junkie

"Merrill Edge provides investors with several key highlights: excellent customer service, up to 100 commission-free trades each month through its Preferred Awards program, robust research, and great ease of use for Bank of America clients. The primary drawbacks revolve around the broker’s basic mobile apps and lack of order entry capabilities: no trading on the fly, no conditional orders, max two legged options, and no direct market access."

Stock Brokers

Continue Reading

Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.

MerrillEdge reviewed by former and current clients. MerrillEdge customer reviews: 42. Rating: 2.