Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews

TIAA brokerage customer reviews, complaints, ratings, service pros and cons. Is TIAA CREF Investments safe and good company to open an account?

Broker Promotions

Stock Broker Promotions »


TIAA Brokerage Customer Reviews

by A long time user, 4/4/2019

Pros: At lease they tried hard to help...........

Cons: But by the end, nothing was achieved.

The system setup is really bad, no one in the right mind could figure it out.

by Donna, 3/28/2019

Pros: They are polite. That’s all.

Cons: Incompetent.

I have never dealt with any company as incompetent as TIAA. For 6 months I have been trying to establish my account by GIVING them my money, based on the good experience my spouse has had with them. Now today we discovered that my husband’ monthly withdrawal was not been completed, so today will consist of phone calls, emails, excuses and apologies, and most probably nothing will be resolved. Vanguard, anyone?

by Tom, 1/23/2019

Pros: None that I can tell after ~3 years with them.

Cons: Took me 12 days to move money from my bank account into the brokerage account.

I have had several problems with them. Always polite on the phone, but never inform me if the problem has been corrected. Instead I need to check my account daily to determine if the problem has been corrected. I think I made a mistake by opening this account with TIAA. I should have gone with someone else. In fact, although I've seen many people complain about moving their money away from TIAA, I think that is the route I'm going to go even if it cost me ~$125 to close the IRA. I've complained to the people I talk to on the phone, but don't ever get any feedback as to whether someone is really listening.

by Liza B, 1/18/2019

Pros:

Cons: Terrible service

Like Kim (earlier review), I have been trying to move my funds away from TIAA brokerage. I have experienced everything Kim describes, but for going on seven weeks. I suggest you contact compliance. Since doing that earlier this week, I think (not convinced) movement will occur next week. Keep plugging. It is important to get your money away. Go to Ally (I am not associated in any way with Ally).

by Brent Eastty, 11/3/2018

Pros:

Cons: Brokers are either extremely poor money managers, con-artists, or both

I funded a 5-year "World Markets Portfolio" that was a product heavily promoted by EverBank. About a year into it, after receiving very little substantial account performance info, I realized it was a dubious investment that relied on unsuspecting depositors. The crafted an unclear termsheet instead of an offering memorandum filed with the SEC as is required by the Securities Act of 1933. Nevertheless, I hung in there for the 5 years, paying the annual estimated federal tax that the product reported. I assumed it would result in a minimal return of 1% or 2%. Nothing. There was no return.

A product that does nothing but provide an interest-free loan to TIAA is a bad investment. Shame on TIAA and the douchey brokers who called me up the morning it matured to pass the buck and close the account as quickly as possible without disclosing the actual return amount or offering an explanation of performance.

by Rich Kallan, 11/2/2018

Pros: They apologize everytime they lose you money.

Cons: They are not very good at what they do.

Dreadful money managers. Do NOT be pressured to move any of your TIAA-CREF money into their actively managed brokerage accounts. If you do, you will forever be sorry. The fund managers consistently underperform every stock index, while charging fees for their incompetence. Even in a bull market, they produce less-than-stellar results. They give a lot of explanations for why your account isn't doing well--none of which ever includes their bad buying and selling decisions. Some--not all--of their individual financial advisors can be quite helpful, but they're not the ones managing the brokerage funds. I have lost thousands compared to what nearly everyone else was earning who left their money in a CREF account..

by Paul, 10/25/2018

Pros:

Cons: Slow

Makes transfers out impossibly slow. Very old-fashioned, paper-laden. Not electronic for teacher funds. Not the TIAA we onbce knew, as others are saying.

by George Sander, 5/30/2018

Pros:

Cons: Lost my account

Account was transferred from EverTrade but was never told how to login to new TIAA account. Rep put me on hold for 20 min while he looked for my account. Had no idea where my cash balance was. Couldn't even tell me the URL to login to TIAA act.

by Kim, 5/24/2018

Pros:

Cons:

I was a professor at the University of Nevada, Reno the past 17 years. I recently moved to Denver, CO and have tried tried to rollover my Retirement Plan from TIAA-Cref to a local financial expert. I have continually worked with a local financial advisor the past 2 weeks to transfer my TIAA investments. TIAA has continuously put up roadblocks in transferring my funds!!! I and my financial advisor have talked to 5 different TIAA employees over the past 2 weeks to get this resolved. Experienced misinformation, unprofessionalism, strong-arming, and stall-tactics throughout this entire process. It is still not resolved. TIAA is slow-moving, gave wrong information about faxing the rollover forms, then requiring hardcopy be snail-mailed, then requiring phone confirmations several times by myself as the account holder. Continuous run-around!!!!! Truly unbelievable from an institution such as TIAA-CREF. They have made this roll-over process very difficult, convoluted, and frustrating!!!!



Firstrade

Add Your TIAA Brokerage Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.


Continue Reading

Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.

TIAA Brokerage reviewed by former and current clients. TIAA Brokerage customer reviews: 9. Rating: 2.