UBS Financial Review

Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews


UBS Financial Services brokerage customer reviews, ratings, complaints, and investing fees. Financial advisors pros and cons. Is UBS brokerage good and safe?

Brokers List

Brokerage Firms List »

Broker Promotions

Investment Companies Promotions »


UBS Financial Services Customer Reviews

by GSD, 11/2/2018

Pros: Good Salesman

Cons: After we closed our account it was admitted to me that they know nothing about the investment markets or forecasting

I had my Series 7 and Series 6 licenses and I am pretty good at investing. We looked for someone that could conservatively invest our money for us so I would not have to watch it daily. In the middle of a great Bull Market they lost money. During a market correction they continued to lose money at a higher rate than my riskier investments. UBS manages to cost us $12,000 in less than 6 months. When I closed my account I asked for a refund of the fee they charged us 3 days earlier. I expected to get back about 97% of that fee. Surprised me when I only got back 76% of the fee with no explanation of the charges not refunded. Still waiting on a reply as to why I was not refunded the correct amount. These guys are great at losing your money but they collect their fees.. Look at all the previous reviews that say the same thing I am saying here. Stay clear of UBS!! Go to Vegas as you have better odds of making money there.

by Very Disappointed Customer, 8/15/2018

Pros:

Cons: Unbelievable

Rude. Lied. Broker made trades without my consent. Trade fees and stock losses in the amount of over 200k.
No communications. Not in business for the customer. SAD!

by Gerry Fruge, 8/3/2018

Pros:

Cons: in it for themselves at the expense of the client/customer.............cannot emphasize this enough........

I pulled my $1.2 million retirement account out of UBS due to sky rocking fees and an advisor who didn't not have my back. My quarterly fees rose 58% from Jan 2017 to July 2018......from $1837 to $2904 per Q (almost $1000 per month - rape)....these fees rose every quarter for the last 6 quarters...……My advisor in our exit discussion told me he Could've reduced my fees had we done a certain thing - my comment was - why am I now just hearing this and why didn't you? Also while my account is in the process of transferring to Schwab, I am getting hit with annual fees that I've never had to pay before...…...one more "screw job" before I leave...….


Stay away from UBS, especially the Houston office...…...Schwab's "self directed roll over IRA" - no annual fees and they are giving me 2 years of no commissions and will pay for any exit fees that UBS is slamming me with.....

by M.A. Fields, 8/1/2018

Pros: Attentive; timely; Courteous; knowledgeable; website is a plus once you get vetted

Cons: Usual anxieties associated with investment

I only visited this site out of curiosity, and I find the comments pretty generic for any company managing someone else's money. The website is very helpful, and I have never had a problem with the ability to contact my account rep or the advice/feedback for my questions. They managed a trust account for me for 11 years, and currently the account has been in my hands for the last 2 years. The only radar blip for me was converting from a trust (through the courts) and the executors receiving a substantial amount for paperwork that I submitted. UBS did not charge an untoward amount, and continues to provide me with above average service and returns. I do research before I speak with my rep, and I still think that UBS, as far as I am concerned, practices their due diligence for me as a client.

by Elizabeth Bain, 7/11/2018

Pros: your money will be safe because you can't get it back out

Cons: lies, lack of service, repeated failures

Through no choice of mine, my previous company used UBS to oversee their ESOP plan. So money I earned was taken out and stock bought and placed into this account. I've moved three times since then and each time it's been a nightmare to get my address updated.

This time I'm close to trying to pull my money out. So I called them. They said ok, gave me an address and said to send mail stating what I wanted and a case number for reference. So I did, waited a couple of weeks and checked my account. Still no change. So I called. The rep I spoke with asked for my address disappeared off the phone for 20 minutes came back and said he'd found the request bogged down in the back office, but he would change it immediately! So now they are calling me because my company has terminated them as their service rep. And I am now a direct customer of theirs. Last time they called me out of the blue was an excuse to try to sell me some financial services, which I declined when the rep couldn't even call me at the time we set up.

So I went to close my account today, but guess what? I can't because NOW a MONTH LATER they STILL have not updated my address. Calling customer relations tomorrow. Then my lawyer.

by Aurore Bui, 6/3/2018

Pros: ?

Cons: Positionnement éthique, efficacité en tant que banque

J'arrive à un tel point de saturation avec les "services" délivés par UBS que je vais fermer l'entièreté de mes comptes dans les meilleurs délais. Je n'ai eu que des soucis avec l'UBS: jeunes "conseillers clients" qui vous prennent de haut et ne répondent pas à votre besoin (dernière en date, 3 semaines pour obtenir une carte de crédit qui n'est pas celle demandé), charges abusives à tous les coins de rue (et ce quelque soit l'opération que vous cherchez à réaliser), énormes délais de réalisation... J'irai gérer mon argent autre part

by Anonymous, 5/31/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Making no money

I've had this account for about 2 years.
I have been charged ridiculous annual fees, and not to mention,I'm making almost no money on what I do have in there. I will be closing my account.

by TES, 5/23/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Pathetic in every category

My wife has a Roth IRA consisting of Berkshire-B shares that automatically went to UBS when they acquired Paine-Weber. In 2012, they decided they hadn't charged appropriate management fees on her account since 2000 and they extracted the fees by cashing shares of BRK-B without permission. They cashed shares each year after that for management fees. Part of the problem is on her for not watching the fox in the henhouse, but the net effect is a decrease of 18 shares of BRK-B now worth almost $3600. And they did nothing to "manage" the fund. Warren Buffet does all that, in effect. UBS is pretty horrible; not sure how they stay in business.

by JA, 5/13/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

UBS is the worst bank I have ever experienced. I'm an international client and I wish I knew how bad they were before I committed to them. They sent me bank statements in the poorest areas of the world where I was working and had no personal mailbox. I told them many times that I just wanted online statements and told them why, I also committed to that when I opened my account. I had to send pictures as proof, I had to call them, send them many messages, it took them 6 months to stop... All my neighbors knew how much I had on my account since my mails were opened where I was, I was so lucky not to be robbed. They also harassed me during my vacations because they needed one document within 2 days that they forgot to ask me for 6 months... You cannot imagine how mean they were during the communications, threatening me to close my account and so on while I was on boat in the middle of nowhere and unable to access this document from where I was, how relaxing... Now, they charge me such a high monthly fee (600 CHF/year) and I don't even know why. I have asked why and they asked me to fill more paperwork again to know why... I never had the same representative, they keep rotating. I really wish I had any other bank from the start, nothing could have been worst than UBS... I can't wait to find the best way to leave, I am always stressed when I have to be in touch with them. Don't do the same mistake, STAY AWAY FROM THIS AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE!

by KW, 5/2/2018

Pros: If you are into losing money this is the Wealth Mismanagement for you.

Cons: High Fees Lose Money

I invested $90k in UBS and another $90k with a small firm. Both for 4 years. At the end of 4 years the small firm had $125k and UBS $85k. I paid 2.5% or $9000 to lose $5000 at UBS. I paid $4000 at smaller firm and gained $35000. UBS will churn your account buying and selling each day. Sometimes they will buy and sell at a loss the same day. The small investor is to be used. I had my money in an aggressive growth strategy. The strategy ended up that you will lose bigly when the market goes south but gain little when the market recovers. At the end of 2017 I gained 20% at the small firm, 21% with my self directed 401k, and 10% at UBS. 2017 was a big year and my other 2 accounts out performed UBS by 100%. Take control of your investments by staying away from UBS.

by anonymous, 4/22/2018

Pros:

Cons: lied to me my acount was safe amd secret

why anyone would deal with these thieves and liars after they turned in their clients and account holders is beyond any comprehension after they promised safety and secrecy. They took over the small banks and then turned over the names of the account holders. Many people put after tax monies into the Swiss banks. You think the American banks are any better. There are over $600 billion stored over here some from dictators from economically devastated countries. If you deal with these backstabbing entities you get what you deserve.

by Mary johansen, 3/31/2018

Pros:

Cons: Very difficult to get a person on the phone

Very slow to send you your money, they sold my ira’s but getting a check from them is very slow, trying to get a person on the phone is very hard and they are very arrogant and rude, AXA is very helpful and friendly and I can get customer service on phone they also get forms in the mail promptly. Avoid UBS they charge you more than they make.

by Sarah, 3/5/2018

Pros:

Cons: monitor agent carefully

No USB is not GOOD AND SAFE. NOT all agents are bad but monitor your agent CAREFULLY.. Question everything they say to you. i put a lot of trust in to the agent NEVER AGAIN.

by Sarah, 3/5/2018

Pros:

Cons: release of 529 funds

I want others to know that may have 529's for children or grandchildren.I wanted a release of some 529 funds to my grandson's college and the unfortunate events to release these funds . There several missed opportunities to deliver the funds. I received an email form the agent with a tone that I was not expecting. Now that I have read the other complaints I wonder about excessive fees that I was charged. i have since terminate my relationship with this company and would advise others to monitor your account CAREFULLY. This event occurred last summer. I needed to evaluate other companies in the hope that I never have this problem.

by Rich and Dana, 2/23/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Exorbitantly High fees-time to Close account

USB charges an exorbitantly High annual fee, closing account fee and transfer fee. We own the same mutual fund ,directly with the mutual fund. No fees. We have put in multiple requests for transfer. It’s been more than 2 months and still no transfer. Next step is the SEC.

by Melissa, 2/21/2018

Pros:

Cons: lost most of our retirement funds

Since the recession, when stock market going up, our acct lost millions. We would have been better off in a savings acct with low or no interest.

by anonymous, 2/13/2018

Pros: Top Notch Wealth Management Employee

Cons: none

Lisa Martin, private client services of Cincinnati, Ohio, Wealth Management is very knowledgeable and efficient within h er position as private client advisor of wealth management. Not only is she timely to reply to her clients, she also explains , advises, as well as completes transactions in a timely fashion!!

by Brian Christopher, 1/22/2018

Pros:

Cons: Disgraceful fees and fees and more fees

I closed my account in December and transferred funds to another establishment. I was charged a $150 annual fee, a $95 maintenance fee, another fee of $150 to close the account and, finally, another $95 to transfer the funds. My goodness, some of those UBS employees must be so physically fit as a result of all of that hard work from generating so many fees. What a disgraceful way to treat people!

by Brian, 1/19/2018

Pros: I think not

Cons: Shameful

It is amazing to me how the maintenance fees and annual fees and close-the-account fees and transfer fees are legal. But they are. Was that a laugh I heard when I expressed my disappointment to the reps? Yes, it was. I am glad I made their day. Shameful.

by Brenda S Turner, 1/16/2018

Pros:

Cons: Badgers the customer and overwhelms with paperwork. However fees are high but there is very poor service.

I received stock grants from my employer. The account was transferred to a different UBS account for management when I left the company. When I tried to liquidate the account I was blocked. Then efforts to take partial amounts out was met with hostage tactics and large fees unless I agreed to let them manage the money. I’m still waiting on my requested funds but every other day I get paper work either requesting my signature or confirmation of enrollment.

by Seth Burgin, 6/26/2017

Pros: NONE!

Cons: UBS TRADED $7000+ in commissions/fees and lost another $6000+ on a brokerage account for dead person's estate.

My aunt passed away, and the two morons that were representatives of the estate failed to liquidate the brokerage account to cash, and transfer it to the bank account. UBS's broker proceeded to trade like a chimp pulling levers to get a free banana, running up over $7000 in fees, and losing another $6000 on the account. This is deplorable, and probably criminal. The executors are under investigation for other federal crimes, and if we can prove complicity, I have no problem dragging UBS into a RICO trial in 10th District Federal Court too. Come on and sue me for libel you _______ers! I have the proof! If they dared do this to a living person, they might get their teeth knocked down their throats so they picked on a dead person. I may see what Banking & Securities Fraud says at the state level, while we put together Mail Fraud, Wire Fraud, Larceny, Tax Fraud, Inconsistent Treatment, and other charges against the representatives, and Simple Robbery charges against their lawyer. Oh yes, there were TWO recorders running during that conference! Taking one away by force constitutes robbery, and right in the middle of the fun is UBS trading up $7000 in fees on a dead person's account.

by David Boucher, 6/14/2017

Pros:

Cons: Lack of any reasonable customer service, No one to take responsiblity. Constant run around. The just want to keep your money!

I have been working with UBS since November of 2016 (7 months) to close my deceased parents trust account. I have documented conversations with Josh, Alex, Khang, Seth, Jessie, Tim, Nick, Tyler, Daniel, Kim, Trey and Ben over those 7 months, I have filled out and signed Declaration of Trust agreements, Trustee certification agreements. I have sent Death Certificates, Trust documentation, Resignation of Trustee documents and a letter of intent.
I get a continual run around, They tell me that my paperwork looks in order, it just needs manager approval....then there's something else I need. They NEVER call me, I always have to call them to find out what the hold up is.

I would NEVER invest one dime with this company. I am so frustrated that may parents chose to put their trust in this company.

by Gavin, 5/23/2017

Pros:

Cons:

So bloody useless- call them up like how many bloody times can you cause someone to die by phone calls. Called one of them up directly finally had it sought it out. That lad should just fix up the place

by Ms Thomas, 3/9/2017

Pros:

Cons: Failure to communicate

Very large account but my broker does not communicate with me. Instills no confidence in UBS handling my funds.

by Benjamin John, 2/23/2017

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Charges Annaul fee $150 for nothing and another $95 fee. When i tried to close the account charged me another $250 as close out fee.

Very bad experience with UBS online personal account service. Better off with another brokerage like Vanguard or Scott trade

by Truth Detector, 2/11/2017

Pros:

Cons:

Read about how UBS engages in "Revenue Sharing" with the mutual fund companies it puts your money in. It's a kick-back scheme, in my view, paid by their "clients" (victims)...you.

by MKJones, 11/8/2016

Pros:

Cons:

I have been trying since 9/26/2016 to get my money out of UBS and into an account at TSP. UBS cannot fill out the ONE HALF PAGE form and fax it to UBS. No offer of an electronic quick method was made in the beginning so I am left hanging, my money in limbo. Why no electronic method of transfer?

TSP cannot seem to force UBS to comply; UBS will not listen to me or abide by the simple regulations. NO ONE is making any interest on my money in this
ridiculous state of affairs. Why can't they take care of this? Six weeks? I know the US mail is slow--thank Congress--but this is ridiculous and unwarranted and costing me money! Enough of your excuses!!!! Just take care of my account!

From what I have experienced you shouldn't even be in business!

by former client, 3/4/2016

Pros: none

Cons: Only review account prior to a meeting, choose high fee investments, poor investment choices

Had an account with them and felt they only reviewed when we set up a visit. Wasn't till I was leaving that they started to want to talk. Had more contact in 2 weeks than the years they were 'investing' for me.
Put our money in high fee investments, and made some poor investment choices. Salt in the wound when you are paying to lose money. Crazy fees when started moving assets out.
Do yourself a favor and go about anywhere else. Not worth the fees (high fees for adviser and expensive to trade if not with an adviser, you lose either way).

by Cindy, 2/3/2015

Pros:

Cons: Fees high with no investment support

I have IRA with UBS, each year they increase the yearly maintenance fee, now $170 paid in December. When I inquired on rolling over to another brokerage account in January I was told there would be a $95 transfer fee and another annual fee of $170 would be charged. Stay away from UBS unless you want to be ripped off.

by anonymous, 1/28/2015

Pros:

Cons: Poor customer service

I checked in with my stock advisor to see what my stocks were worth a couple of days ago, and I was happy to know the value.So 2 days later I call him to liquidate everything, and he says not a problem, and says you'll be selling this many of each stock and that was it, and we hung up with each other and a minute later he calls back saying today was not a good day to sell, but he sold everything anyway.

He proceeded to let me know that it was 900 dollars less than the other day.

As a financial advisor I feel like he had a duty to inform me, but failed to say beforehand, "hey your value is 'this' are you sure you don't want to wait a day?" as if he wanted me to lose my money.UBS Financial Services is not recommended unless you don't mind any financial losses you may incur.

by Steve Errico, 10/13/2014

Pros:

Cons: High fees

I have been with UBS for several years and decided to move my accounts to TD Ameritrade. The greedy jerks pelted me with hundreds of dollars of fees which I understand is their MO. I suggest if you decided to use UBS that you never leaver or be prepared to be raped!

by anonymous, 7/18/2014

Pros:

Cons: $75 close-out fee

After over twenty years, I liquidated a small IRA.I was told the current value of the account and specifically asked if there were any fees or hidden costs associated with the withdrawal.

I was told there would be no additional fees or costs. The funds were direct-deposited into my checking account minus $75. I called and was told this was either an annual fee or a close-out fee and would not be refunded.

Besides paying an exorbitant annual fee relative to the value of the account, these last minute, arbitrary and unspecified charges are fraudulent and a bad business practice. UBS should not be able to bilk the consumer so readily and should be avoided.

by abpol, 5/7/2013

Pros:

Cons: Horrendous Fees

I have had a small account ($2,200ish) with UBS for 13 years. For the first 12 years the annual fee was around $75.

Last year it jumped to $170, taking all but $30 of the account's appreciation. I called and appealed the excessive fee. My appeal was denied. I was told I needed to have $70,000 in the account if I wanted a fee reduction.

Would I trust them with that amount of money after this? No way!

I said I wanted to withdraw the money and was told I would have to pay ANOTHER $170 to get the money out. Those people are thieves.



Firstrade

Add Your UBS Financial Services Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.






UBS Financial Services Brokerage Trading Fees

Costs for an equity buy or sell order are expensive by industry standards. An odd lot of 30 shares of ETF FXS (CurrencyShares Swedish Krona Trust) totaling $5,200 will cost the customer in the neighborhood of $75. Two round 100 lot shares of the Silver ETF SLV (iShares Silver Trust) will cost $110.

By contrast a mutual fund purchase will cost the client $5.25. These are not the only fees the client will pay however, as the only mutual funds that UBS allows are mutual funds that are loaded; i.e. the shareholder pays a sales charge to UBS for buying the shares. There is no cost for redeeming shares of a mutual fund.

Account holders with a balance of $250,000 and above will receive personalized service with a dedicated financial advisor and client service associate.


Continue Reading

Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.

UBS Financial Services reviewed by former and current clients. UBS Financial Services customer reviews: 33. Rating: 1.