WellsFargo Advisors Review

Customers Rating:    brokerage firms reviews


Wells Fargo Advisors customer reviews, complaints, ratings, broker and fundsource pros and cons. Is the financial investment firm good and safe?

Broker Promotions

Brokerage Companies Deals »


Wells Fargo Advisors Customer Reviews

by Ashley p, 12/3/2019

Pros: None

Cons: Horrible customer service!

Called on a mon. Nov 18th to request a withdrawl. It wasnt even put in the system till i spoke to someone else on that friday. So monday that girl did nothing. Finally mailed out nov 26th. Still no check they did not offer me direct deposit. Im paying for the mistakes of their untrained customer service reps. Should of had my money already. They didnt eventry to correct the situation.

by Terri, 9/24/2019

Pros: Nothing

Cons: Incompetent,uncaring, reprehensible , immoral and what should be considered as illegal

My mother while traveling in Canada suffered a massive stroke , was removed from life support and passed away on July 24, 2019. As you can imagine this has been a difficult time for my family. My father who is 80 years old not only lost his wife of 57 years, he has been very badly treated by Wells Fargo Advisors. He and mom had a joint account with survivorship. Upon informing them that mom had passed away they immediately closed/froze his account. He has not has access to his own money since August 6,2019. Wells Fargo , of course, requested a death certificate, The one father received from Canada along with a notarized letter was presented to the bank. This same death certificate was provided and accepted by two other banks, the funeral home,mom's two pension plans and her life insurance company. Wells Fargo Advisors would not accept this, and requested an Apostille, which I had to inform them after contacting the Canadian Embassy is something that Canada does not offer and therefore we could not provide. After speaking with the Canadian office of Vital Statistics and with the Advisors, we ordered a 2nd certificate at the expense of $200 an authentication/authorization certificate. This certificate has a attached wax seal, ribbon and certified letter.
I'am sure you can all see where this is leading, after receiving this certificate and scanning/faxing it in to the Advisors
five days later I receive a email telling us to disregard the request for the second certificate , and that they now wanted
us to provide a third certificate this one from the Canadian Consumer Foreign Affairs. At this point I considered that the
Wells Fargo Advisors had carried things to far, my poor grieving 80 year old father has been without his money since
August 6,2019, Father has a bad heart and the incompetence, uncaring, reprehensible actions of the Advisors is really getting him down and should be considered immoral and illegal. This kind of treatment is why Wells Fargo is often receiving negative reporting in the news. I would advise everyone to think long and hard before trusting the Wells Fargo Advisors with your money.

by Annette Wyatt, 8/12/2019

Pros: None

Cons: Everything

This fim holds my company retirement. After filling out paperwork, getting it notarized and faxing this information, I called to get a status. Said my ID didn't fax legible and I need to enlarge it. I did. Sent via another fax machine. Called again the next day. That didn't fax well enough either. I sent a copy via mail. 6 days later they claim not to have it. Morons, my drivers license has a feature to prevent duplication. Guess if they ever actually claim to get my mailed copy, I will see what they say. Or I'll get an attorney to sue them for denying me access to MY money. And it's not a federal law they receive my ID since I had to show it to have the documents notarized. For many reasons, I will never trust Wells Fargo. Do NOT become another victim of the runaround.

by Richard, 7/2/2019

Pros: I have no history with a broker here

Cons: I have no history with a broker here

Stay away from this company. They do not honor their word. I opened an account this company on the advise of Wells Fargo Bank. Not a branch of the bank. I never traded any funds and after 6 months wanted my money back. They wanted to charge a $95.00 fee to close the account. I spoke with several brokers there and finally was told that they would refund my total account. Funny, I received a check today with the $95.00 taken out. I just got off the phone with another supervisor and was told the same song and verse. l

by Phil, 6/17/2019

Pros: None

Cons: None

Termination Fee

In late May 2019, I closed my account at Wells Fargo Advisors and transferred all of my mutual funds to another large mutual fund company. Imagine my surprise when I received a bill for a termination fee of $125.00. It was so nice of them to give me a going away present like that. It just confirmed my suspicions that their ethics and greed problems that they have had in the last 5 or 6 years has not changed or gone away. This really confirmed that my decision to move my mutual fund account elsewhere was the right move. If they ever wanted to make sure I will never do business with them or any of their subsidiaries again, they found a way.
Any new investors considering Wells Fargo Advisors or any of their subsidiaries should read up on the various ethics problems and multi-million dollars fines the government have imposed on them because of these problems. New investors would do well to consider almost any other investment company.

by Sharon Stapp, 4/5/2019

Pros:

Cons: Liars and deceivers

My brother named me successor trustee in his legal trust. WF brokers initially told me they would transfer his account (well under 100K). I signed all their prerequisite paperwork and provided all the required paperwork on my side. Days later they WFA insists that they have a diffferent trust and no successor is named and that I need an attorney to resolve this. No one will speak with me now since they uttered the word- legal. It sounds like a song and dance wherein the money is gone and they do not want to admit they lost or used his account. Every attorney I've spoken with says this is wrong, possibly illegal and unlawful on WFA's part. DO NOT TRUST WELLS FARGO ASSOCIATES WITH EVEN A PENNY OF YOUR MONEY, YOU WILL NEVER SEE IT AGAIN/ IT'S TIME TO GET THE MEDIA INVOLVED.

by Debra Hatcher, 3/17/2019

Pros: None

Cons: Rude, lied, and uncaring

We have tried to receive help and lower payments. We will pay but are having a hard time with $880 a month. If we could lower and stretch it out, they would be making more money. It took a year of calling and my daughter was told as long as you are making your payments then you don't need help. Then one rep. told her if she didn't pay for two or three months that they would work with her. Really?? Now as a cosigner I am getting threatening calls. Not only has her credit tanked but mine went from excellent to fair. We sent in paperwork and they said she didn't make enough to remove the cosigners. The cosigners make too much to refinance and lower her payment. She was told "Your parents will have to pay.' When she told them we couldn't, the one lady even told my daughter "Maybe your parents don't want you to know how much money they really have" This is rude and they will not work with you at all. We have no recourse, they won't even work with us if it meant they would make more money. Since my family is in the school system we are putting the word out not to use Wells Fargo. My other daughter used Sallie Mae, they are eager to help, and suggest ways she can get through a few months with no payment. Wow a company that cares!! Not Wells Fargo!

by Jeff Carlson, 3/7/2019

Pros: Customer contact and help online visibility

Cons: High fees and below market returns

On balance run-of-the-mill performance not monitored or altered once set up. Really passively managed funds on autopilot when should be actively managed. Double the fees compared to market.

by team member, 11/17/2018

Pros:

Cons: Horrible Customer Service

I work for Wells Fargo and have been disciplined by HR due to my interaction with Wells Fargo Advisors. The customer service is horrible. You get a different person and different answer every time you call. Don't forget the amount of time you will wait on hold with no willingness to phone you back. HORRIBLE! It makes me want to quit my job working for Wells Fargo. They cannot say they work for the customer when their lazy, slacker customer facing people do such a poor job. Do not bring your investments to that broker.

by Neil Flynt, 11/4/2018

Pros: Access to broker

Cons: Fees and non management

Tried to transferr advisor trust account has been going on for 3 months nothing but lies and non service. Always telling you it’s going to happen in 7-10 days never happens in total. Still have a social security payment tied up for 60 days. I reckon they think the government will bounce a check. Suggest anyone having a problem contact finra. for help.

by Mike, 8/31/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Terrible service

I transferred a 401k to a Wells Fargo Advisor account. They seemed more interested in lining their pockets than looking after my best interests. My advisor wanted me to buy a $100k annuity and forgot to tell me about their annual maintenance fees when I opened the account. I did more research on annuities and realized that this was a bad investment choice for me. i transferred my account to another institution. My advisor called and told me to transfer all of my accounts because he did not want to deal with me anymore.

I called twice this summer to have my account transferred to another advisor but no one returned my calls. Poor service and poor investment advice. SOMEONE NEEDS TO BE FIRED FOR NOT RETURNING PHONE CALLS! Any fees they charged for closing my accounts was the best money I ever spent.

by John M., 8/2/2018

Pros: None

Cons: WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE, LIE, CHEAT & STEAL. RUN and NEVER LOOK BACK.

Will never ever have anything to do with anything named Wells Fargo/Wells Fargo Advisors. They smile to your face and stab you in the back. WFA is a rip off and make it impossible to get your money (now their money suckers) back once invested. ZERO customer service, ZERO morals. Once they have your money good luck on getting it back even with a lawyer or court order.

by Stephanie, 7/23/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Customer service is horrible. Advisors do not care

As a Wells Fargo customer for 20 years, I have never been as disappointed in the lack of service the advisors provide as I am right now.
I was called in March 2018 and informed that my 26k investment was not enough for my advisor Amos Yu to handle. His boss, Jim Gaither, attempted to calm me down after I made 3 complaints with no response but he never apologized for his employees words. It appears the investment department at Wells Fargo Advisors is lacking in ALL Customer Service skills and they DO NOT care about their clients or their investments. I am now moving my small 26k investment that they do not care about.

by Michelle, 7/20/2018

Pros: NONE

Cons: Customer Service and Assistance

Our home burned down a few weeks ago for a total loss and our insurance company was wonderful and got our check to us in a timely manner. We attempted to pay off our mortgage in person at a Wells Fargo bank location that deals with mortgages. We were told they could not handle such a transaction and we needed to send the check to corporate, where they would pay off the mortgage and get the overage amount back to us "sometime." No one could explain or even attempt to explain why the bank could not handle the check nor why a timeline for them getting the overage amount back to us could not be given. So, while we wait for the check to be 'cashed', we are still having to pay on a house that does not exist and they reap interest on money that does not belong to them. The representatives have been indifferent, somewhat incompetent , and lacking in any form of customer service. Thus making an already devastating situation more frustrating and difficult.

by joe trump, 5/2/2018

Pros: none

Cons: honesty

said termination fee was transfer fee. it was a termination fee. Lied about refund. said never said refund

by Steve, 4/26/2018

Pros: Given some time and may think of one.

Cons: Ignorant and without an morals.

Set up a trust 2 years prior to my father’s passing. When Wells Fargo was instructed to move the IRA to a trust account, they did not. When administering the estate, I confronted the financial advisor as to why the funds were were not placed in a trust 2 years ago when they were given a written instructions to do so. The financial advisor tried to tell me since my name was already on the account it was the same as trust so they did not Feel it necessary to make the change. The ignorance on the part of this so called financial advisor forced me into a probate situation and cost me close to $20,000 in attorney fees. Wells Fargo had also failed to transfer a savings account with over a $100K and a checking account with $40K into the trust. Wells Fargo attempted to hold up the release of the checking and savings without a court order at the time of this confrontation so I withdrew all all the money from these accounts since my name was on the account. The get the IRA released it took me 6 months of battling with Wells Fargo. There as alway one more form that needs to be signed and submitted for review. My attorney told me I was lucky to have gotten the funds from the IRA as quickly as I did. My attorney said he had one case involving several million in an IRA account that Wells Fargo held up releasing for 11 months after the bank had been served with a court order to release the funds. Wells Fargo is a very unscrupulous bank and their employees have no morals.

by KS, 3/10/2018

Pros: Christmas Card Every Year

Cons: Never a serious conversation about fees or returns.

WFA Broker was very nice, but when asked about fees, dodged the question. Never gave an honest appraisal about returns versus fees. Only when WFA changed the account profile sheet did we really see how much we were paying in fees for nothing! Also, unlike at least 1 other firm, we did not get a weekly account summary online showing our performance versus goals, or a newsletter. When we finally saw our fee costs, we switched to another firm. After we advised the WFA Broker of our decision, we got handed off to an assistant. Even after 9 years with the same WFA Broker, we never got a "thank you". We even submitted a list of questions for review, only getting back a performance graph. WFA is the worst!!

by tf, 2/24/2018

Pros: .

Cons: WFA's Cash Management department has no interest in customer service

WF Advisors' cash management team demonstrated a SERIOUS DISREGARD FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE when I tried to transfer money from outside IRA's to a newly created IRA at WFA. Money transferred was still not in my account 20 business days later. Speaking with WFA I was told they hadn't received the check. I got documentation from the sending bank that it had been sent on time. WFA still insisted they hadn't received the check so I told them I'd have it canceled and resent. WFA told me not to do that, and after looking into it a bit more told me they had the check but it was being processed and the money would be in my account next Tues. The following Thurs, still no money. WFA then went back to saying they didn't have the check. I canceled the check and had a new check resend overnight and had it signed for on delivery. 4 hours after it was signed for I call to follow up. WFA continued to say they hadn't received the second check either. I got mad and showed them the tracking info and the signature at which point they said they had the check but it was made out to the wrong institution-Wells Fargo Bank instead to Wells Fargo Clearance Services. The light bulb then went on and I realized they had had the first issued check all along but it had just been sitting on someone's desk because it was made out to Wells Fargo Bank (btw it is WFA who sends the paperwork out to the sending bank with the required check info). No one at WFA had cared to call me or the sending bank to notify us that there was problem with the check.

CONCLUSION, the cash management department at WF Advisors demonstrated multiple times, by lack of follow up and lying (or not knowing what was going on in their own department), that customer service is not of concern to them. If you have a choice, why use a company that doesn't care about you when there are companies out there that do. I am closing my accounts with WFA and considering transferring all of my accounts out to Well Fargo.

by GF0x, 2/24/2018

Pros: NONE

Cons: These individuals are very crooked!

Do not follow up and when there is an issue one will deceive and the other will swear to it.

by Cara Hammond, 2/9/2018

Pros: NA

Cons: NA

My husband and I have been loyal customers to Wells Fargo for years. We run millions of dollars through their bank each year. We tolerate their problems with technology and turnover of staff with a patient attitude as we understand not everything in life can be perfect and instantaneous. We had a VP of Wells Fargo as a client in our business. I don't believe that she even realized that we were a customer of Wells Fargo. She threw a crazy fit at our front desk, barged her way through 2 locked doors by lying to my staff, came in to an executive meeting and proceeded to rip me a new one regarding a subject that she had no idea what she was talking was talking about. She made threats toward organization and personal threats towards me as the owner. I went through 4 different routes with Wells Fargo regarding the threats she made. They didn't care. I even had one of their employees tell me that she was sleeping with her boss and nothing would come of my situation. That lady has the wrath of the devil in her. She has a history of belligerent behavior in our community (published in the newspaper) and Wells Fargo continues to employee her. I would be careful if you are working with Wells Fargo branches in Central Florida as the Regional Director seems to be questionable in stature.

by Tom, 1/17/2018

Pros: There are none

Cons: Insensitive, unresponsive to request, inability to listen and provide what the customer needs.

Absolute scam. Only out for making commissions and charging as much as the can. No listening skills to provide what the customer needs. High expenses for little or no customer service. No access to cash when needed.

by Dee Dee, 1/13/2018

Pros: None

Cons: Poor customer service

Make it very difficult to transfer money out. Phone wait time is terrible and if you get multiple people they all tell you different things. Run fast!

by Soon to be former WF customer, 1/11/2018

Pros: none

Cons: poor back office response, unecessary delays ("up to 3 business days" is not to be counted upon), inconsistent claims and unkept commitments, poorly trained/unknowledgable advisors, and more.

Ugh! I cannot think of a more poorly operated brokerage firm - None of the issues ever occurred when Prudential held the reigns - set up a list of other firms, pout on a blindfold, and throw a dart n- wherever it lands, you will be better off.

by David, 10/1/2017

Pros: Nothing

Cons: poor integrity; self serving; unethical.

make it very difficult to transfer funds out of the account. Invest money in many different funds for their own profit. Take advantage of investors especially elderly.

by Sjsimpson, 8/15/2017

Pros: None

Cons:

I have never had a worse experience dealing with any bank. I reached the age of termination for my CA UTMA account and have gotten nothing but lies and bad information from the advisors. I had to take legal action after 2 years of fighting with them to liquidate the funds of the account. I wouldn't recomend Wells Fargo Advisors to my worst enemy.

by Angela Kivett, 6/17/2017

Pros: Brad is knowledgeable and courteous. Has been a tremendous help and is an asset to Wells Fargo

Cons: None

We spoke with several different firms and were very comfortable and confident with using Wells Fargo.

by Bill Braxton, 5/15/2017

Pros:

Cons:

Nobody seems to have ant proper knowledge or training!!!!!!!!!!!!!

by corneliafaw, 5/1/2017

Pros:

Cons: WHAT'S UP W/THESE ANNUAL FEES? $150 FOR 2017, $125 FOR 2016. IN SEPT. I'LL RECEIVE $126 IN DIVIDENDS BECAUSE OF THIS OUTRAGEOUS FEE. STOP IT!!!

by Dale Ellington, 4/25/2017

Pros:

Cons: Arguementative,undependable,untrustworthy

Over the coarse of the years I have had my retirement account with Wells Fargo I have had trouble getting my broker to do what I tell him to do. In the latest case I requested a sale of some of my stock and to put the cash in my regular bank account. It has been three weeks now since I asked him and several phone calls and I still can't get him to do what I asked him!

by G Jones, 2/17/2017

Pros: None

Cons: Stupid or crooked, hard to tell which

Put my retirement nest egg in their Fundsource program. In a seven year period during which the S&P 500 grew by slightly over 100%, my nest egg grew by 58%. The missing 42% was 11% to them in fees and 31% squandered by their ineptitude. Run don't walk your money away from these idiots.

by Anonymous, 11/27/2016

Pros: Investment Contact Person Was Pleasant and Courteous

Cons: Everything Else You/I Could Think Of

Do not put 1 cent of your money into their hands. Within 3 years they "managed" a million plus dollar corpus into about 25-30% of that. Every bit of negative notoriety WF has recently received in the national press is deserved IMO, and probably much more/worse. I hope to be completely separated from them in the near future.
I wish there was a Zero Star option here.

by Hemp Luis, 11/18/2016

Pros: Freebies

Cons: Questionable integrity

I'm invited and given freebies, all for a free market analysis of my current assets, only they don't follow up, I never heard back till I called them, then they send me transfer forms, sign the blank forms and they'll complete the rest! Really??? Am I a moron? Then they send me more forms, all filled out, and no contract! I'm really getting concerned, they said the contract comes later on, after they start management, but I refuse to transfer anything... They do want to push 50% fixed income but right now it's all going down, stocks are up and so are interest rates! I share many of other posting concerns, it's bad before the start, how owful can it get! Yes, so I'm stopping the process!

by richard, 10/10/2016

Pros: Slick

Cons: only look out for their own commissions

Lost a small fortune with these people due to self serving bad advice

by Keith Daniels, 10/7/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Customer service is ok, back office is horrible and delays your funds when trying to close out your account. You send it all paperwork and they still find ways to delay everythingetting. Current waiting time is 8 days for a process that should've took 3 days. It's terrible will be reaching out to the better business Bureau as well.

by John, 9/16/2016

Pros: Good computer system

Cons: Back Office service very bad

Very challenging to transfer funds out of Wells Fargo Advisors to another company. Back office ignores repeated requests. Need to know full name of person, phone number, superior phone number and name, etc. Be prepared for 20 questions when attempting to confirm your identity by phone.

by Kazi, 9/12/2016

Pros:

Cons:

Rubbish.Terrible customer service.This is worst service i ever seen. Lack of knowledge.

by Andy, 9/7/2016

Pros: Speaks english

Cons: Doesn't return emails, pushes bonds

I've been trying to redo my investments (i.e. Remove under performers). After 3 emails and two teleconferences ( plus an email today) I do not feel they are responsive.

by Jerry, 8/3/2016

Pros: free lollipops

Cons: AWFUL

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL >>>> did I mention AWFUL!!!

by Jed, 7/22/2016

Pros: I'm thinking...... I got one.....Good at slick advertising

Cons: Really difficult to close out account

Been trying for over 2 months to close out an inherited account. Despite promptly submitting every document that was requested, we continue to wait for "the back room" to process the paperwork. The stonewalling is incredible. Don't know how they stay in business.

by P Arinsbe, 7/1/2016

Pros:

Cons: Very poor customer service and marginal returns on investments, excessive fees

When I try to reach an account representative no one is available and I am told they will call back! No one ever calls back, very very poor customer service, avoid these people.

by Jason, 5/18/2016

Pros: Very fast to take money

Cons: Everything

I absolutely cannot believe the customer service I have experienced. I have had my IRA for ten years putting a little away for a first time home purchase. A month ago I requested a full distribution and now I have to call twice a week and find out what is going on from some clueless moron on the other end. I would never recommend investing here.

by Karen, 2/3/2016

Pros: None

Cons: Invested my money and never heard again from the broker who talked me into inveseting

I have moved my money out of Wells Fargo Advisors account. Had a $95 exit fee. Lost about $10K. Was not impressed with the investment advisor who set up my account. Called him several times to find out if there was something else he would recommend since I was losing so much money and he never called me back.

by Ron, 8/27/2015

Pros: None

Cons: Giving bad advise, lack of honesty, terrible customer service, deceptive practices

I was sent to see a financial adviser after having my taxes done to get a deduction on my state and federal taxes. I was told to put $6500 into a mutual fund which according to the person I talked to would pay a handsome return. All I wanted was to put the money aside for a year in a safe investment. In one week, this safe fund went down $700. They don't return phone calls for days and in one instance the adviser I was doing business with just gave may account to someone else who I had never talked to. When I tried to contact him, he was unavailable. I called his assistant who never got back to me. I will never do business with these people again. They live up to the Wall Street mindset of greed is good.




Add Your Wells Fargo Advisors Customer Review

 200 max, no html




Spam and HTML will be deleted.



Continue Reading


Wells Fargo Advisors Account

Minimum to open: Minimum initial investment starts from $100,000.

Managed Portfolio Solutions are available for minimum asset of $25,000 per account, which includes asset allocation decisions, security selection, and ongoing portfolio monitoring. Managed Portfolio Service is available through phone calls.

Wells Fargo Advisors fees vary based on relationship, services, and account types.

Clients have an access to a broad range of services such as account services that complement the investment planning process, advisory services, business services, variety of account types and investment products, education funding, retirement planning and more.


About Wells Fargo Advisors Wealth Management Service

Wells Fargo Advisors is one of the nation’s largest retail brokerage firms. Wells Fargo Advisors is a subsidiary of Wells Fargo & Company, one of America’s largest and strongest financial institutions, which has been in business since 1852.

Wells Fargo Advisors is one of the nation's premier financial services firms, serving and advising clients nationwide through more than 15,000 Financial Advisors.


Continue Reading

Disclaimer: Your review, broker rating, pros and complaints information must be honest. Please use respectful and professional language. Consumer reviews could be edited by the website staff to keep TopRatedFirms.com free of inappropriate or offensive language, false information, speculations, or to remove spam. We reserve the right to delete any brokerage customer reviews that don't meet above requirements.

Wells Fargo Advisors reviewed by former and current clients. Wells Fargo Advisors customer reviews: 43. Rating: 1.